[ecoop-info] PODC 2010 Second Call for Papers

Yuval Emek yuvale at eng.tau.ac.il
Sat Dec 19 14:56:57 CET 2009

PODC 2010 Second Call for Papers

The 29th ACM SIGACT-SIGOPS Symposium on Principles of Distributed
Computing (PODC 2010) will be held on July 25-28, 2010 in Zurich,


Important dates:

Regular papers:
Abstract registration: February 10, 2010
Submission: February 17, 2010
Notification: April 15, 2010
Camera-ready: May 17, 2010

Brief announcements:
Deadlines: April 27, 2010
Notification: May 15, 2010
Camera-ready: May 26, 2010


PODC solicits papers on all areas of distributed computing.
Papers from all viewpoints, including theory, practice, and
experimentation, are welcome.
The common goal is to improve understanding of the principles
underlying distributed computing.
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following

- distributed algorithms: design, analysis, and complexity
- communication networks: architectures, services, protocols, applications
- multiprocessor and multi-core architectures and algorithms
- shared and transactional memory, synchronization protocols, concurrent
- fault-tolerance, reliability, availability, self organization
- Internet applications, social networks, recommendation systems
- distributed operating systems, middleware platforms, databases
- game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
- peer-to-peer systems, overlay networks, distributed data management
- high-performance, cluster, cloud and grid computing
- wireless networks, mobile computing, autonomous agents, location- and
context-aware distributed systems
- security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
- sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks
- specification, semantics, verification, and testing of distributed systems

Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines
available on the conference web page (www.podc.org/podc2010). Note
that abstracts of regular papers must be submitted one week before the
full papers; note also that the deadlines are firm.

A submission for a regular presentation must report original
research. Papers submitted for regular presentations must contain
results that have not previously appeared, and have not been
concurrently submitted to a journal or conference with published
proceedings. Any partial overlap with any such published or
concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. Papers for
regular presentation include (1) a cover page, stating the title of
the paper, the authors' affiliation, an abstract, and indication of
whether the paper should be considered for the best student paper
award, and if so the name(s) of the student(s) recommended for the
award; (2) no more  than 12 single-column pages on letter-size paper
using at least 11-point font; (3) an extra page used for references
only. Additional details may be included in a clearly marked appendix,
which will be read at the discretion of the program committee.

A submission for a brief announcement must be no longer than 3
single-column pages on letter-size paper using at least 11-point
font. Such submissions may describe work in progress or work presented
elsewhere. A submission that is not selected for regular presentation
may be invited for a brief announcement.

Regular papers and brief announcements will be included in the
conference proceedings. Regular papers receive up to 10 letter-size
pages, brief announcements receive up to 2 letter-size pages.

Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award and the best
presentation award. Regular papers co-authored by full-time students
may also be eligible for the best student paper award---for a paper to
be considered, the nominated authors should be full time students at
the time of submission and they should be principally responsible for
the paper's contributions. The program committee may decline to make
these awards or may split them.


Program Chair

Rachid Guerraoui                EPFL, Switzerland

Program Committee

Marcos K. Aguilera              Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
Rida A. Bazzi                   Arizona State University, USA
Olivier Beaumont                INRIA Bordeaux - Sud-Ouest, France
Michael Bender                  Stony Brook U. and Tokutek, USA
Christian Cachin                IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland
Wei Chen                        Microsoft Research Asia, China
Bogdan Chlebus                  University of Colorado Denver, USA
Partha Dutta                    IBM Research, India
Panagiota Fatourou              ICS FORTH ,Greece
Hugues Fauconnier               LIAFA-Universite Paris-Diderot, France
Antonio Fernandez Anta          Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Roy Friedman                    Technion, Israel
Seth Gilbert                    EPFL, Switzerland
Danny Hendler                   Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Prasad Jayanti                  Dartmouth College Hanover ,USA
Dariusz Kowalski                University of Liverpool, UK
Maged Michael                   IBM Watson Research Center, USA
Thomas Moscibroda               Microsoft Research Redmond, USA
Marina Papatriantafilou         Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Franck Petit                    LIP6 University Paris 6, France
Sergio Rajsbaum                 UNAM, Mexico
Luis Rodrigues                  INESC-ID/ IST, Portugal
Eric Ruppert                    York University, Canada
Peter Triantafillou             University of Patras, Greece
Jan Vitek                       Purdue University, USA

Conference Committee Chairs

Yuval Emek (publicity)          Microsoft Israel R&D Center, Israel
Rui Fan (publicity)             Technion, Israel
Cyril Gavoille (treasurer)      Universite Bordeaux, France
Yvonne-Anne Pignolet (regist)   ETHZ, Switzerland
Andrea Richa (general)          Arizona State University, USA
Roger Wattenhofer (local arr)   ETHZ, Switzerland

Steering Committee

Lorenzo Alvisi                  University of Texas Austin, USA
Cyril Gavoille                  Universite Bordeaux, France
Rachid Guerraoui                EPFL, Switzerland
Boaz Pat-Shamir                 Tel Aviv University, Israel
Andrzej Pelc (chair)            Universite du Quebec, Canada
Andrea Richa                    Arizona State University, USA
Jennifer Welch                  Texas A&M University, USA

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list