[ecoop-info] [CFP] Domain-Specific Aspect Languages Worskhop at AOSD10

Johan Fabry jfabry at dcc.uchile.cl
Thu Nov 19 18:36:48 CET 2009

Fifth Workshop on Domain-Specific Aspect Languages
            Part of AOSD10, Rennes and Saint Malo, France
            March 16, 2010



Submissions due: December 28th, 2009
Author Notification: January 15th, 2010
Final version due: February 15th, 2010
AOSD Early registration deadline: February 22nd, 2010
Workshop: March 16, 2010

The tendency to raise the abstraction level in programming languages
towards a particular domain is also a major driving force in the
research domain of aspect-oriented programming languages. As a matter
of fact, pioneering work in this field was conducted by devising small
domain-specific aspect languages (DSALs) such as COOL for concurrency
management and RIDL for serialization, RG, AML, and others. After a
dominating focus on general-purpose languages, research in the AOSD
community is again taking this path in search of innovative
approaches, insights and a deeper understanding of fundamentals behind
AOP. Based on the successful DSAL'06, '07, '08 and '09 workshops, and  
special issue of IET Software journal on Domain-Specific Aspect
Languages, this workshop series continues to support a growing trend
in AOSD research.

The workshop aims to bring the research communities of domain-specific
language engineering and domain-specific aspect design together. In
the previous successful editions held at GPCE06/OOPSLA06 and AOSD07 we
approached domain-specific aspect languages both from a design and a
language implementation point of view. At AOSD08 and 09 we also invited
contributions of work on adding domain-specific extensions (DSXs) to
general-purpose aspect languages (GPALs). We continue this trend for
this edition as the focus on language embedding raises specific issues
for language designers, such as proper symbiosis between, and
composition of, DSXs.


We seek contributions related to domain-specific aspect languages,
more particularly (but not limited to):

- design of DSALs and DSXs
- successful DSALs, DSXs and their applications
- issues in both design and implementation of DSALs and DSXs
- methodologies and tools suitable for creating DSALs and DSXs
- semantics and composition of DSALs and DSXs
- disciplined approaches for invasive metaprogramming
- error reporting in DSALs and debugging of DSALs
- approaches for composable language embeddings
- mechanisms for interaction detection and handling in DSALs
- theoretical foundations for DSALs
- analysis about the specificity spectrum in aspect languages
- key challenges for future work in the area

A good analysis of conflicting forces is at least as useful for
potential participants of this workshop as descriptions of original
new approaches or experience reports.


The workshop accepts three types of submissions: work-in-progress
papers, position papers, and technical papers.

Papers should be formatted in SIGPLAN proceedings style
(sigplanconf.cls). Page limit depends on the type of submission: 3
pages for work-in-progress and position papers, 5 pages for technical

The DSAL10 review process is managed by the EasyChair conference
system, the submission page is

Accepted papers will be made available on the website prior to the
workshop so that participants can read them.

**Format of the workshop**

The format of the workshop will echo the format used in the previous  

A number of plenary sessions will first be held, according to grouping
of accepted papers, consisting of (1) brief presentations of selected
papers, (2) a discussion with the presenting authors including
participation from the audience.

Second, interactive group work will be performed to identify relevant
issues in the domain and possible ways to address them.

**Program Committee**

- Barett Bryant (University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA)
- Thomas Cleenewerck (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
- Johan Fabry (University Chile, Chile)
- Julia Lawall (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
- Anne-Francoise Le Meur (University of Lille, France)
- Marjan Mernik (University of Maribor, Slovenia)
- Jacques Noye (Ecole des Mines de Nantes, France)
- Lukas Renggli (University of Bern, Switzerland)
- Jean-Yves Tigli (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France) (To be  
- Eelco Visser (Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands)
- Steffen Zschaler (Lancaster University, UK)


- Tom Dinkelaker (Darmstadt University, Germany)
- Johan Fabry (University of Chile, Chile)  [primary contact]
- Anne-Francoise Le Meur (University of Lille, France)
- Jacques Noye (Ecole des Mines de Nantes, France)
- Eric Tanter (University of Chile, Chile)

Johan Fabry
jfabry at dcc.uchile.cl - http://dcc.uchile.cl/~jfabry
PLEIAD Lab - Computer Science Department (DCC) - University of Chile

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list