[ecoop-info] CFP - First International Symposium on Architecting Critical Systems (ISARCS 2010)

Holger Giese holger.giese at hpi.uni-potsdam.de
Wed Oct 7 13:21:50 CEST 2009

                           CALL FOR PAPERS

                   First International Symposium on
              Architecting Critical Systems (ISARCS 2010)

                Prague, Czech Republic, June 23-25 2010

                     Federated with CompArch 2010

              >> Submission deadline:  10 February 2010 <<

Architecting critical systems has gained major importance in commercial,
governmental and industrial sectors. Emerging software applications
encompass criticalities that are  associated with either the whole
system or some of its components. Therefore, effective methods,
techniques, and tools for constructing, testing, analyzing, and
evaluating the architectures for critical systems are of major
importance. Furthermore, these methods, techniques and tools must
address issues of dependability and security, while  focusing not only
on the development, but also on the deployment and evolution of the

This new symposium aims to be an exclusive forum for exchanging views on
the theory and practice for architecting critical systems. Such systems
are characterized by the perceived severity of consequences that faults
or attacks may cause, and architecting them requires appropriate means
to assure that they will fulfil their specified services in a dependable
and secure manner.

The different attributes of dependability and security cannot be
considered in isolation as architecting critical systems essentially
means to find the right trade-off among these attributes and the various
other requirements imposed on the system. This symposium therefore
brings together four communities addressing the architecting of critical
systems from their perspectives, and each one having their own
respective dissemination forums, namely dependability, safety, security
and testing/analysis for architecting systems. To this end the symposium
unites the following three events: Workshop on Architecting Dependable
Systems (WADS), Workshop on the Role of Software Architecture for
Testing and Analysis (ROSATEA), and Workshop on Views On Designing
Complex Architectures (VODCA).

The aim of ISARCS is to bring together expertise from different
communities in order to provide a comprehensive view on how to design,
develop, deploy and evolve critical systems from the architectural
perspective. We are interested in submissions from both industry and
academia, including, but not limited to, the following main areas:

   * Rigorous development: architectural description languages;
     architectural styles; architectural patterns; architectural support
     for evolution; integrators (wrappers) for dependability; model
     driven development; component based development; aspects oriented
     development; assurance based development;

   * Testing and analysis based on architecture: testing; simulation;
     inspection techniques; type checking; run-time checks;
     model-checking; theorem proving; fault injection

   * Fault tolerance based on the architecture: tolerating architectural
     mismatches; redundancy and diversity; error confinement; monitoring;
     exception handling; self-healing

   * Safety-critical systems & architecture: hazard and risk analysis;
     safety case generation, evaluation for safety properties; formal

   * Secure systems & architecture: secure ADLs; secure architectural
     styles; secure connectors; verification of security properties;
     access control policies; intrusion detection;

   * Combined approaches: integrated processes; combination of methods;
     interplay of techniques; integration of analysis techniques; the
     integration of tools;

   * Relevant domains with critical systems: critical infrastructures;
     embedded systems; mobile and ubiquitous systems; automotive systems;
     avionic systems; e-commerce; e-business; e-government;

   * Industrial needs: reports about industrial case studies, challenges,
     problems and solutions

Accepted contributions will be published in a volume of the Springer
Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Papers should not exceed 16
pages, must be written in English, and prepared according to Springer's
LNCS style (guidelines: http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html).

Papers must not have been previously published or currently submitted
elsewhere for publication. If accepted, the paper must be personally
presented at the ISARCS 2010 by one author.


Submission deadline:       10 February 2010
Author notification:       17 March 2010
Publication ready copy:    14 April 2010


Holger Giese (holger.giese at hpi.uni-potsdam.de)
Hasso Plattner Institute at the University of Potsdam


Frantisek Plasil (plasil at nenya.ms.mff.cuni.cz)
Charles University, Prague
Czech Republic


Rogério de Lemos (University of Coimbra, Portugal)
Cristina Gacek (Newcastle University, UK)
Fabio Gadducci (University of Pisa, Italy)
Lars Grunske (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia)
Henry Muccini (University of L'Aquila, Italy)
Maurice ter Beek (ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy)


Alessandro Aldini (University of Urbino, Italy)
Aslan Askarov (Cornell University, USA)
Brian Berenbach (Siemens Corporate Research, USA)
Stefano Bistarelli (Universita' di Perugia, Italy)
Michel R.V. Chaudron (Leiden University, The Netherlands)
Betty H. C.Cheng (Michigan State University, USA)
Nathan Clarke (University of Plymouth, UK)
Ricardo Corin (Universidad Nacional de Cordoba (FAMAF), France)
Cas Cremers (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Ivica Crnkovic (Mälardalen University, Sweden)
Bojan Cukic (West Virginia University, USA)
Eric Dashofy (The Aerospace Corporation, USA)
Erik de Vink (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands)
Heiko Dörr (Carmeq GmbH, Germany)
Alexander Egyed (Johannes Kepler University, Austria)
Sébastien Gérard (CEA LIST, France)
Wolfgang Grieskamp (Microsoft Corporation, USA)
Ethan Hadar (CA Inc., Israel)
Paola Inverardi (University of  L'Aquila, Italy)
Valérie Issarny (INRIA, UR de Rocquencourt, France)
Tim Kelly (University of York, UK)
Marc-Olivier Killijian (LAAS-CNRS Toulouse, France)
Philip Koopman  (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Patricia Lago (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Javier Lopez (University of Malaga, Spain)
Nenad Medvidovic (University of Southern California, USA)
Flavio Oquendo (European University of Brittany - UBS/VALORIA, France)
Mauro Pezzè (University of Lugano, Switzerland)
Ralf H. Reussner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology / FZI, Germany)
Roshanak Roshandel (Seattle University, USA)
Ana-Elena Rugina (Astrium Satellites, France)
Bradley Schmerl (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Bran Selic (Malina Software, Canada)
Judith Stafford (Tufts University, USA)
Michael von der Beeck (BMW Group, Germany)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list