[ecoop-info] Call for papers for ACM PODC 2010

Rui Fan rfan at cs.toronto.edu
Mon Oct 19 18:09:56 CEST 2009

PODC 2010 Preliminary Call for Papers

The 29th ACM SIGACT-SIGOPS Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing 
(PODC 2010) will be held on July 25-28, 2010 in Zurich, Switzerland.


Important dates

Regular papers
Abstract registration:	February 10, 2010
Submission: 		February 17, 2010
Notification: 		April 15, 2010
Camera-ready: 		May 17, 2010

Brief announcements
Submission: 		April 27, 2010
Notification: 		May 15, 2010
Camera-ready: 		May 26, 2010


PODC solicits papers in all areas of distributed computing. Papers from all 
viewpoints, including theory, practice, and experimentation, are welcome.  The 
common goal is to improve understanding of the principles underlying 
distributed computing.  Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the 
following subjects:

- distributed algorithms: design, analysis, and complexity
- communication networks: architectures, services, protocols, applications
- multiprocessor and multi-core architectures and algorithms
- shared and transactional memory, synchronization protocols, concurrent 
- fault-tolerance, reliability, availability, self organization
- Internet applications, social networks, recommendation systems
- distributed operating systems, middleware platforms, databases
- game-theoretic approaches to distributed computing
- peer-to-peer systems, overlay networks, distributed data management
- high-performance, cluster, cloud and grid computing
- wireless networks, mobile computing, autonomous agents, location- and 
context-aware distributed systems
- security in distributed computing, cryptographic protocols
- sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks
- specification, semantics, verification, and testing of distributed systems

Papers are to be submitted electronically, following the guidelines available 
on the conference web page (www.podc.org/podc2010). Note that abstracts of 
regular papers must be submitted one week before the full papers. Note also 
that the deadlines are firm.

A submission for a regular presentation must report original research. Papers 
submitted for regular presentations must contain results that have not 
previously appeared, and have not been concurrently submitted to a journal or 
conference with published proceedings. Any partial overlap with any such 
published or concurrently submitted paper must be clearly indicated. Papers for 
regular presentation include (1) a cover page, stating the title of the paper, 
the authors' affiliations, an abstract, and indication of whether the paper 
should be considered for the best student paper award, and if so the name(s) of 
the student(s) recommended for the award; (2) no more than 12 single-column 
pages on letter-size paper using at least 11-point font; (3) an extra page used 
for references only.  Additional details may be included in a clearly marked 
appendix, which will be read at the discretion of the program committee.

A submission for a brief announcement must be no longer than 3 single-column 
pages on letter-size paper using at least 11-point font. Such submissions may 
describe work in progress or work presented elsewhere. A submission that is not 
selected for regular presentation may be invited for a brief announcement.

Regular papers and brief announcements will be included in the conference 
proceedings. Regular papers receive up to 10 letter-size pages, brief 
announcements receive up to 2 letter-size pages.

Awards. Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award and the best 
presentation award. Regular papers co-authored by full-time students may also 
be eligible for the best student paper award---for a paper to be considered, 
the nominated authors should be full time students at the time of submission 
and they should be principally responsible for the paper's contributions. The 
program committee may decline to make these awards or may split them.


Program Chair

Rachid Guerraoui 		EPFL, Switzerland

Program Committee

Marcos K. Aguilera 		Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
Rida A. Bazzi 			Arizona State University, USA
Olivier Beaumont 		INRIA Bordeaux - Sud-Ouest, France
Michael Bender			Stony Brook U. and Tokutek, USA
Christian Cachin		IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland
Wei Chen  			Microsoft Research Asia, China
Bogdan Chlebus			University of Colorado Denver, USA
Partha Dutta			IBM Research, India
Panagiota Fatourou		ICS FORTH, Greece
Hugues Fauconnier		Universite Paris Diderot, France
Antonio Fernandez Anta		Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain
Roy Friedman			Technion, Israel
Seth Gilbert			EPFL, Switzerland
Danny Hendler			Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Prasad Jayanti			Dartmouth College Hanover, USA
Dariusz Kowalski		University of Liverpool, UK
Maged Michael			IBM Watson Research Center, USA
Thomas Moscibroda		Microsoft Research Redmond, USA
Marina Papatriantafilou		Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden
Franck Petit			Universite Paris 6, France
Sergio Rajsbaum			UNAM, Mexico
Luis Rodrigues			INESC-ID, Portugal
Eric Ruppert			York University, Canada
Peter Triantafillou		University of Patras, Greece
Jan Vitek			Purdue University, USA

Conference Committee Chairs

Yuval Emek (publicity)		Microsoft Israel R&D Center, Israel
Rui Fan (publicity)		Technion, Israel
Cyril Gavoille (treasurer)	Universite Bordeaux, France
Yvonne-Anne Pignolet (regist)	ETHZ, Switzerland
Andrea Richa (general) 		Arizona State University, USA
Roger Wattenhofer (local arr) 	ETHZ, Switzerland

Steering Committee

Lorenzo Alvisi			University of Texas Austin, USA
Cyril Gavoille			Universite Bordeaux, France
Rachid Guerraoui 		EPFL, Switzerland
Boaz Pat-Shamir			Tel Aviv University, Israel
Andrzej Pelc (chair)		Universite du Quebec, Canada
Andrea Richa			Arizona State University, USA
Jennifer Welch			Texas A&M University, USA

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list