[ecoop-info] ONWARD! Call for Participation and Early Registration

Joao Araujo ja at di.fct.unl.pt
Fri Sep 11 16:28:39 CEST 2009

**************** Call For Participation *****************

Onward! 09 The conference for new ideas, new paradigms,
and reflections on everything to do with programming and software.

Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN in cooperation with SIGSOFT

Co-located with OOPSLA 2009
Orlando, Florida  October 25–29 2009



Onward! is a place for highly original ideas about how technological
advances and new applications are going to shape computational fabrics
of the future. Onward! is more radical, more visionary, and more open
than other conferences to not so well proven but well argued ideas. We
welcome different ways of thinking about, approaching, and reporting
on programming languages and software engineering research. Onward!
takes a broad and inclusive view of computation and received
contributions from all fields represented at OOPSLA and other software

For information about registration go to

For travel, accommodation and conference schedule go to

Below we show the highlights of the Onward! Programme

THOMAS W. MALONE. He is the Patrick J. McGovern Professor of
Management at the MIT Sloan School of Management and the founding
director of the MIT Center for Collective Intelligence. He was also
the founding director of the MIT Center for Coordination Science and
one of the two founding co-directors of the MIT Initiative on
"Inventing the Organizations of the 21st Century".

Below you have the list of all accepted research papers

“Design Pattern Density Defined”
Dirk Riehle, SAP Research, SAP Labs LLC

“Writing Code for Other People”
Thomas Mullen

“Regrowing a Language: Refactoring Tools Allow Programming Languages to Evolve”
Jeffrey Overbey, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ralph Johnson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

“p – a Pattern Language”
Roman Knöll, TUD – TechnischeUniversität Darmstadt
Mira Mezini, TUD – TechnischeUniversität Darmstadt

“Coherent Reaction”
Jonathan Edwards, MIT

“Assignment Considered Harmful”
Scott M. Pike, Texas A&M University
Wayne D. Heym, The Ohio State University
Bruce Adcock, The Ohio State University
Derek Bronish, The Ohio State University
Jason Kirschenbaum, The Ohio State University
Bruce W. Weide, The Ohio State University

“Silhouette: Visual Language with Meaningful Shapes”
Clayton Myers, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Elisa Baniassad, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

“Concurrency by Default : Using permissions to express dataflow in
stateful programs”
Sven Stork, Carnegie Mellon University / Institute for Software Research
Paulo Marques, University of Coimbra / Dep. Eng. Informatica
Jonathan Aldrich, Carnegie Mellon University / Institute for Software Research

“Modelling Software Processes - a Focus on Objectives”
Diana Kirk, Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
Stephen MacDonell, Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
Ewan Tempero, The University of Auckland

“Language Factories”
Tony Clark, Thames Valley University
Laurence Tratt, Bournemouth University

“Provenance: A Future History”
James Cheney, University of Edinburgh
Stephen Chong, Harvard University
Nate Foster, University of Pennsylvania
Margo Seltzer, Harvard University
StijnVansummeren, Hasselt University/Transnational Univertsity of Limburg

“Towards Automation of Iteration Planning”
Jonas Helming, TechnischeUniversitätMünchen,
Maximilian Koegel, TechnischeUniversitätMünchen,
ZardoshtHodaie, TechnischeUniversitätMünchen,

“A Market-Based Approach to Software Evolution”
David F. Bacon, Harvard University/IBM Research
Yiling Chen, Harvard University
David Parkes, Harvard University
MalvikaRao, Harvard University

“When Users Become Collaborators: Towards a Continuous and
Context-Aware User Input”
WalidMaalej, TUM
Hans-JoergHappel, FZI ForschungszentrumInformatik
Asarnusch Rashid, FZI ForschungszentrumInformatik

“Harmony-Oriented Programming and Software Evolution”
Sebastian Fleissner, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Elisa Baniassad, Chinese University of Hong Kong

“Agile Specifications”
Derek Rayside, MIT CSAIL
AleksandarMilicevic, MIT CSAIL
KuatYessenov, MIT CSAIL
Greg Dennis, MIT CSAIL
Daniel Jackson, MIT CSAIL

“Reimagining Literate Programming”
James D. Palmer, Northern Arizona University
Eddie Hillenbrand, Northern Arizona University

“Typestate-Oriented Programming”
Jonathan Aldrich, Carnegie Mellon University
Joshua Sunshine, Carnegie Mellon University
DarpanSaini, Carnegie Mellon University
Zachary Sparks, Carnegie Mellon University

“Gaining inSight into Programs that Analyze Programs – By Visualizing
the Analyzed Program”
Agastya Nanda, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology University
Mangala Gowri Nanda, IBM India Research Lab

“Monterey Phoenix, or How to Make Software Architecture Executable”
Mikhail Auguston, Naval Postgraduate School

*** ESSAYS ***
“Software Evolution and the Moving Picture Metaphor”
Mark Mahoney

“Agile, Anthropology, and Alexander's Architecture: An Essay in Three Voices”
Jenny Quillien, Pam Rostal, David West

“An Exploration of Program as Language”
Elisa Baniassad, Clayton Myers

“On Understanding Data Abstraction, Revisited”
William R. Cook

“Reflections and Retrospectives in Software Development Environments”
Orit Hazzan, Yael Dubinsky

“Fragile Ideas Workshop”
Elisa Baniassad, Richard Gabriel

“Evaluation and Usability of Programming Languages and Tools”
Craig Anslow, Shane Markstrum, Emerson Murphy-Hill

“Culture of Programming Languages Workshop”
Sebastian Fleissner, Elisa Baniassad

“How Programmers can Think about Feldenkrais”
Robert Boyd

“Software Research and Climate Change”
Steve Easterbrook

Bernd Bruegge, TechnischeUniversitaetMuenchen, Germany

Yvonne Coady, University of Victoria, Canada (chair)
Roger Dannenberg, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Dilma Da Silva, IBM TJ Watson Research Center, USA
Maja Dhondt, IMEC, Belgium
Bjorn Freeman-Benson, Eclipse Foundation, USA
Harald Gall, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Bruce Horn, Powerset, USA
Gail Kaiser, Columbia University, USA
Caitlin Kelleher, Washington University St. Louis, USA
Michele Lanza, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Rick McGeer, HP Labs, USA
Linda Northrop, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Nuno Jardim Nunes, University of Madeira, Portugal
Dirk Riehle, SAP Research, Germany
Christa Schwanninger, Siemens, Germany

Siobhán Clarke, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Conal Elliott, Independent, USA
Richard P. Gabriel, IBM Research, USA (assistant chair)
Ralph Johnson, University of Illinois, USA
Simon Peyton-Jones, Microsoft Research, Great-Britain (chair)
Daniel Steinberg, Dim Sum Thinking, USA

Martin Purvis, University of Otago, New Zealand (chair)
Roberto Bisiani, University of Milano - Bicocca, Italy
Oliver Creighton, Siemens, Germany
Ralph Guggenheim, Allegator Planet, USA
Andrew Long, University of Otago, New Zealand

*** Workshop Committee ***
Bruce Horn, Powerset, USA (chair)

Elisa Baniassad, Chinese University of Hongkong (chair)
Robert Biddle, Carleton University, Canada
Geoff Cohen, Coherence Engine, USA
Richard P. Gabriel, IBM Research, USA
Cristina Videira Lopes, University of California, USA
James Noble, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Dirk Riehle, SAP Research, Germany

Joao Araujo, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Walid Maalej, Technische Universitaet Muenchen, Germany

TorstenLayda, Six Group, Switzerland

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list