[ecoop-info] CMCS 2010: Call for Short Submissions & Call for Participation

A.M.Silva at cwi.nl A.M.Silva at cwi.nl
Tue Feb 16 18:03:48 CET 2010

	                       CMCS 2010
             Call for Short Submissions & Call for Participation

The 10th International Workshop on Coalgebraic Methods in Computer Science
               26-28 March 2010, Paphos, Cyprus
                 (co-located with ETAPS 2010)

Aims and scope

The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers with a common
interest in the theory of coalgebras and its applications.  Over the
last two decades, coalgebra has developed into a field of its own,
presenting a mathematical foundation for various kinds of dynamical
systems, infinite data structures, and logics.  Coalgebra has an ever
growing range of applications in and interactions with other fields such
as reactive and interactive system theory, object oriented and
concurrent programming, formal system specification, modal logic,
dynamical systems, control systems, category theory, algebra, analysis,

The topics of the workshop include, but are not limited to:

 * the theory of coalgebras (including set theoretic and categorical
 * coalgebras as computational and semantical models (for programming
   languages, dynamical systems, etc.);
 * coalgebras in (functional, object-oriented, concurrent) programming;
 * coalgebras and data types;
 * (coinductive) definition and proof principles for coalgebras (with
   bisimulations or invariants);
 * coalgebras and algebras;
 * coalgebraic specification and verification;
 * coalgebras and (modal) logic;
 * coalgebra and control theory (notably of discrete event and hybrid

An anniversary: the 10th CMCS

CMCS took place for the first time when ETAPS started, in 1998.  Since
then, it has always been collocated with ETAPS, becoming bi-annual since
the start of CALCO (Conference on Algebra and Coalgebra) in 2005.

In 2010, we will celebrate the 10th edition of CMCS, by inviting a
number of specialists in the field to present overviews of both obtained
results and future challenges.

Invited Speakers

At this tenth meeting the following invited speakers will present
overviews of important subareas.

 * Venanzio Capretta: Coalgebra in functional programming and type theory
 * Bartek Klin: Operational semantics coalgebraically
 * Dirk Pattinson: Logic and coalgebra
 * Ana Sokolova: Probabilistic systems coalgebraically

Short contributions

Apart from the presentation of regular papers (see list below) and
invited contributions, some time has been reserved for *short
contributions* .

These will not be published in the proceedings but will be bundled in a
CWI technical report.

They should be no more than two pages and may describe work in progress,
summarise work submitted to a conference or workshop elsewhere, or in
some other way appeal to the CMCS audience. The instructions for
submitting short contributions can be found at:

Important dates
 * 27 February 2010: strict submission deadline short contributions 
 * 28 February 2010: deadline normal registration
 * 6 March 2010: notification short contributions
 * 26-28 March 2010: the workshop

List of accepted regular papers
* Jan Komenda . Coinduction in concurrent timed systems
* Jiri Adamek, Stefan Milius and Jiri Velebil . Recursive Program
  Schemes and Context-Free Monads
* Bartek Klin . Structural operational semantics and modal logic,
* Hauhs Michael and Baltasar Tranc n y Widemann . Applications of
  Algebra and Coalgebra in Scientific Modelling: Illustrated with the
  Logistic Map
* Kazuyuki Asada and Ichiro Hasuo . Categorifying Computations into
  Components via Arrows as Profunctors
* Corina Cirstea . Generic Infinite Traces and Path-Based Coalgebraic
  Temporal Logics
* Vincenzo Ciancia, Alexander Kurz and Ugo Montanari . Families of
  symmetries for the semantics of programming languages
* Jiho Kim . Higher-order algebras and coalgebras from parameterized
* Bart Jacobs . From Coalgebraic to Monoidal Traces
* Adriana Balan and Alexander Kurz . On coalgebras over algebras

Programme Committee
Jiri Adamek (Braunschweig)
Alexandru Baltag (Oxford)
Luis Barbosa (Braga)
Marcello Bonsangue (Leiden)
Corina Cirstea (Southampton)
Robin Cockett (Calgary)
Andrea Corradini (Pisa)
Neil Ghani (Glasgow)
Peter Gumm (Marburg)
Furio Honsell (Udine)
Bart Jacobs (Nijmegen, co-chair)
Bartek Klin (Cambridge)
Clemens Kupke (London)
Alexander Kurz (Leicester)
Marina Lenisa (Udine)
Stefan Milius (Braunschweig)
Ugo Montanari (Pisa)
Larry Moss (Bloomington)
Milad Niqui (Amsterdam)
Dirk Pattinson (London)
Dusko Pavlovic (Oxford)
John Power (Edinburgh)
Horst Reichel (Dresden)
Grigore Rosu (Urbana)
Jan Rutten (Amsterdam, co-chair)
Davide Sangiorgi (Bologna)
Lutz Schr der (Bremen)
Alexandra Silva (Amsterdam)
Hendrik Tews (Nijmegen)
Tarmo Uustalu (Tallinn)
Yde Venema (Amsterdam)
Hiroshi Watanabe (Osaka)
James Worrell (Oxford)

Organising Committee

Bart Jacobs,
Milad Niqui (co-chair, CWI),
Jan Rutten,
Alexandra Silva (co-chair, CWI).

cmcs10 at cwi.nl


More information about the ecoop-info mailing list