[ecoop-info] EAPLS PhD Award 2010: Call for Nominations

Arend Rensink rensink at cs.utwente.nl
Tue Nov 9 15:05:36 CET 2010

EAPLS PhD Award 2010: Call for Nominations
URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems
has established a Best Dissertation Award in the international
research area of programming languages and systems. The award
will go to the PhD student who in the previous period has made
the most original and influential contribution to the area. The
purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to
help the career of the student in question, and to promote the
research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD
* at an academic institution in Europe
* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
* in the period from 1 January 2009 – 1 November 2010


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor.
Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the thesis to
http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=eaplsphd2010. The
nomination must be accompanied by (a zip file containing)
* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be
   considered for the award;
* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner
   of the thesis at its defense.
The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence,
relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international
committee of experts from across Europe. The procedure to be
followed is analogous to the review phase of a conference. The
justification by the supervisor and the external report will play
an important role in the evaluation.

Members of the expert committee are barred from nominating their
own PhD students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have
received the EAPLS PhD award 2010. The supervisor will receive a
copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be
handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance
the ETAPS conference.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be
published. The decision of the expert committee is final and
binding, and will not be subject to discussion.

Important dates

31 December 2010: Deadline for nominations
1 March 2011:     Announcement of the award winner

Expert committee

The Expert committee consists of the following members:
* Roland Backhouse, University of Nottingham, U.K.
* Rastislav Bodik, University of California at Berkeley, U.S.A.
* Eerke Boiten, University of Kent, U.K.
* Mark van den Brand, Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands
* Maurice Bruynooghe, University of Leuven, Belgium
* Paolo Ciancarini, University of Bologna, Italy
* Olivier Danvy, University of Aarhus, Denmark
* Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory, U.S.A.
* David de Frutos Escrig, Universídad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
* Pierpaolo Degano, University of Pisa, Italy
* JosuKa Díaz Labrador, Universidad de Deusto, Spain
* Marko van Eekelen, Radboud University Nijmegen
* Maurizio Gabbrielli, University of Bologna, Italy
* Giorgio Ghelli, University of Pisa, Italy
* Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa
* Kevin Hammond, University of St Andrews, U.K.
* Manuel Hermenegildo, Universidad Polytécnica de Madrid, Spain
* Paul Klint, CWI and University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
* Jens Knoop, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
* Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University , Edinburgh, U.K.
* Tiziana Margaria, University of Potsdam, Germany
* Alan Mycroft, Cambridge University, U.K.
* Catuscia Palamidessi, Ecole Polytechinique, Paris, France
* Arnd Poetsch-Heffter, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
* Arend Rensink, Universiteit Twente, The Netherlands
* Bernhard Steffen, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany
* Peter Thiemann, University of Freiburg, Germany
* Peter Van Roy, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list