[ecoop-info] Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing 2011: call for nomination

David Ilcinkas david.ilcinkas at labri.fr
Thu Jan 13 13:27:45 CET 2011

     --- Call for nominations - Deadline February 15th, 2011 ---

         Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing

                           Awarded by the
Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication Complexity

The Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing is established to
recognize individuals whose research contributions on the
relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized
computing have expanded the collective investigative horizon by
formulating new problems, or identifying new research areas, that were
at the time of their introduction unorthodox and outside the
mainstream. The prize recognizes originality, innovation, and
creativity -- the qualities that reflect the spirit of the SIROCCO

The prize is presented at the annual meeting of the SIROCCO
conference, but may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible
for the prize.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the
nominee(s) for the first time in a publication at least five years
before the nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared
in a conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the
original paper, or a paper directly related to the innovative
contribution, must have appeared in SIROCCO proceedings.

The list of all SIROCCO papers and authors is available at


Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference, the
PC chairs of the three SIROCCO conferences immediately preceding the
nomination deadline, plus one additional member of the Steering
Committee, selected by the Steering Committee Chair for the current year.

In 2011, the Award Committee consists of:

- Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS and University Paris Diderot)
- Shay Kutten (Technion)
- Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University)
- Alexander A. Shvartsman (University of Connecticut)
- Paul Spirakis (CTI and University of Patras)


A call for nomination is disseminated every year in the main mailing
lists of the Distributed Computing community, at least four months
prior to the date of that year's SIROCCO meeting.

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community.
Each nomination must identify the person(s) being nominated, and
justify the nomination by a short text including:

(a) a brief description of the innovative contribution in Distributed
Computing to be recognized by the award, and an explanation of its
originality and significance,

(b) the paper(s) of the nominee(s) that establish their eligibility as
described in the Eligibility section above items (1) and (2).

Nominations for 2010 should be sent to the Steering Committee chair of
SIROCCO at Pierre.Fraigniaud at liafa.jussieu.fr before February 15th, 2011.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list