[ecoop-info] CfP SIROCCO 2011: Deadline extended to March 16

David Ilcinkas david.ilcinkas at labri.fr
Mon Mar 7 15:36:05 CET 2011

IMPORTANT: *The submission deadline has been extended* to
                 March 16, 2011 (23:59 Honolulu time)

                 *** Apologies for multiple copies ***

                     Preliminary call for papers

                            SIROCCO 2011

                  18th International Colloquium on
         Structural Information and Communication Complexity

                            June 26-29
                          Gdansk, Poland


Important dates

Submission deadline:         March 16, 2011
Author notification:         April 15, 2011
Camera-ready submission:     April 30, 2011


SIROCCO is devoted to the study of communication and knowledge in
multi-processor systems from both the qualitative and quantitative
viewpoints. Special emphasis is given to innovative approaches and
fundamental understanding, in addition to efforts to optimize current


SIROCCO has a tradition of interesting and productive scientific
meetings in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, attracting leading
researchers in a variety of fields in which communication and
knowledge play a significant role. This year, SIROCCO is held in
Gdansk, a 1000-year old city on the Baltic coast in northern Poland,
with medieval tenements overlooking the Motlawa River.


Original papers are solicited from all areas of study of local
structural knowledge and global communication and computational
complexities. Among the typical areas are distributed computing,
communication networks, game theory, parallel computing, social
networks, mobile computing (including autonomous robots), peer
to peer systems, communication complexity, fault tolerant graph
theories, and randomized/probabilistic issues in networks. Keeping
with the tradition of SIROCCO, new areas are always welcome.


The Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing is awarded annually
in the SIROCCO conference to recognize individuals whose research
contributions had a major impact on the understanding of the
relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized
computing. Only authors of papers that were published in SIROCCO are
eligible to receive the award. More details are available in the
SIROCCO 2011 web site.

Invited speakers

   * Colin Cooper (King's College London, UK)
   * The recipient of the Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing


Full papers (12 pages + appendix) are to be submitted electronically,
following the guidelines available on the conference web page. The
deadline for submitting a paper is *March 10*. Notification of
acceptance will be sent out by April 15, and the camera-ready papers
are due on April 30.
Submission website:


The proceedings of SIROCCO 2011 will be published by Springer-Verlag
as a part of the LNCS series. Selected papers will be invited to a
special issue of the journal /Theoretical Computer Science/.

Conference organization

Program Committee Chair
   Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu U., Japan)

Program Committee
   Amotz Bar-Noy (City U. NY, USA)
   Jeremie Chalopin (CNRS & Aix-Marseille U., France)
   Wei Chen (Microsoft Research Asia, China)
   Leszek Gasieniec (U. Liverpool, England)
   Sun-Yuan Hsieh (National Cheng Kung U., Taiwan)
   Taisuke Izumi (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)
   Ralf Klasing (CNRS & U. Bordeaux, France)
   Adrian Kosowski (Gdansk U. Tech., Poland / INRIA Bordeaux, France)
   Zvi Lotker (Ben-Gurion U., Israel)
   Bernard Mans (Macquarie U., Australia)
   Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela (U. Roma, Italy)
   Mikhail Nesterenko (Kent State U., USA)
   Jung-Heum Park (Catholic U., Korea)
   Andrzej Pelc (U. Quebec, Canada)
   Joseph Peters (Simon Fraser U., Canada)
   Andrzej Proskurowski (U. Oregon, USA)
   Sergio Rajsbaum (UNAM, Mexico)
   Christian Scheideler (U. Paderborn, Germany)
   Ichiro Suzuki (U. Wisconsin, USA)

Steering Committee Chair
   Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS & U. Paris Diderot, France)

Steering Committee
   Tinaz Ekim (Bogazici U., Turkey)
   Pascal Felber (U. Neuchatel, Switzerland)
   Paola Flocchini (U. Ottawa, Canada)
   Lefteris Kirousis (U. Patras, Greece)
   Rastislav Kralovic (Comenius U., Slovakia)
   Evangelos Kranakis (Carleton U., Canada)
   Danny Krizanc (Wesleyan U., USA)
   Shay Kutten (Technion, Israel)
   Bernard Mans (Macquarie U., Australia)
   Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv U., Israel)
   David Peleg (Weizmann Institute, Israel)
   Nicola Santoro (Carleton U., Canada)
   Alex Shvartsman (U. Connecticut, USA)
   Pavlos Spirakis (CTI & U. Patras, Greece)
   Janez Zerovnik (U. Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Local Arrangement Chair
   Adrian Kosowski (Gdansk U. Tech., Poland / INRIA Bordeaux, France)

Publicity Chair
   David Ilcinkas (CNRS & U. Bordeaux, France)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list