[ecoop-info] 6th International Workshop on Self-organizing Systems (Extended deadline)

Maria Kihl Maria.Kihl at eit.lth.se
Tue Oct 25 07:48:06 CEST 2011

* Call for Papers
* IWSOS 2012
* 6th International Workshop on Self-organizing Systems
* Technical co-sponsors: IFIP, Euro-NF
* http://iwsos2012.ewi.tudelft.nl/
* Delft, The Netherlands
* March 15-16, 2012
* Paper Submission Deadline: November 13, 2011 (Extended)
* Submission open: http://edas.info/N11145

** Scope

The main theme of the workshop is to discover the network science behind self-organizing systems, to facilitate and advance the understanding, learning, modeling, and analysis of self-organizational processes in nature (e.g., metabolic, DNA, brain networks) and to apply the knowledge of self-organization to man-made networks and systems.

The workshop scope includes, but is not limited to, the following topical areas in self-organizing systems:

- Modeling & analysis
- Applications & service providers & management
- Risks and security

Building on the success of its predecessors, this workshop aims at bringing together leading international researchers to create a visionary forum for discussing the future of self-organization in networked systems.

** Keynote speakers:

Prof. Shlomo Havlin, Department of Physics, Bar-Ilan University, Israel


Prof. Karl Aberer, Distributed Information Systems Laboratory, Institute for Core Computing Science, School for Computer and Communication Science, EPFL, Switzerland

** Key Topics

- Design and analysis of self-organizing and self-managing systems
- Inspiring models of self-organization in nature and society
- Structure, characteristics and dynamics of self-organizing networks
- Evolutionary principles of the (future, emerging) Internet
- Techniques and tools for modeling self-organizing systems
- Robustness and adaptation in self-organizing systems
- Self-organization in complex networks like peer-to-peer, sensor, ad-hoc, vehicular and social networks
- User and operator-related aspects of man-made self-organizing systems
- Self-organizing multi-service networks and multi-network services
- Control of self-organizing systems
- Methods for configuration and management of large, complex networks
- Decentralized power management in the smart grid
- Self-protection, self-configuration, diagnosis, and healing
- Self-organizing group and pattern formation
- Self-organizing mechanisms for task allocation, coordination and resource allocation
- Self-organizing information dissemination and content search
- Security and safety in self-organizing networked systems
- Risks and limits of self-organization
- The human in the loop of self-organizing networks

** Important Dates

Submission deadline: November 13, 2011 (Extended)
Notification: December 14, 2011
Camera-ready papers due: January 04, 2012
Conference: March 15-16 2012

** Papers

IWSOS 2012 invites submission of full or short manuscripts that present original research results or research ideas, and that have not been previously published or are currently under review by another conference or journal. Any previous or simultaneous publication of related material should be explicitly noted in the submission. All papers must be submitted in PDF format via edas at http://edas.info/N11145. Submissions will be peer reviewed by at least three members of the international program committee and judged on originality, significance, interest, clarity, relevance, and correctness.

The Springer “LNCS Proceedings” style should be used for submission.
Templates for LaTeX and Word are available athttp://tiny.cc/qiohy.

Full papers should describe original research results. Submissions should be full-length papers up to 12 pages using the LNCS style (including figures, references, and a short abstract).

Short Papers should be position papers, challenging papers, and papers presenting first results. The papers must be up to 6 pages length (LNCS style, including all figures and references), and must include a short abstract.

** Proceedings

The proceedings will be published by Springer-Verlag in their Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. At least one of the authors of each accepted paper must attend IWSOS 2012 to present the paper.

** Committees

* General Chairs

- Piet Van Mieghem, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
- David Hutchison, Lancaster University, United Kingdom

* Program Chairs

- Fernando Kuipers, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
- Poul Heegaard, NTNU-Trondheim, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

* Publicity Chairs

- Maria Kihl, Lund University, Sweden
- Karin Anna Hummel, University of Vienna, Austria (on leave) and Marie Curie Fellow at ETH Zurich, Switzerland

* Local Organization

- Christian Doerr, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
- Huijuan Wang, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
- Wendy Murtinu-van Schagen, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

* Steering Committee

- Hermann de Meer, University of Passau, Germany
- David Hutchison, Lancaster University, UK
- Bernhard Plattner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
- James Sterbenz, University of Kansas, USA
- Randy Katz, UC Berkeley, USA
- Georg Carle, TU Munich, Germany (IFIP TC6 Representative)
- Karin Anna Hummel, University of Vienna, Austria (on leave) and Marie Curie Fellow at ETH Zurich, Switzerland

* Technical Program Committee

- Ozalp Babaoglu, University of Bologna
- Yuriy Brun, University of Washington
- Christian Doerr, Delft University of Technology
- Raissa D’Souza, University of Calfornia, Davis
- Falko Dressler, University of Innsbruck
- Stefan Dulman, Delft University of Technology
- Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology
- Wilfried Elmenreich, University of Klagenfurt
- Alois Ferscha, University of Linz
- Kurt Geihs, University of Kassel
- Carlos Gershenson, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
- Salima Hassas, University of Lyon
- Boudewijn Haverkort, University of Twente
- Bjarne Helvik, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
- Tom Holvoet, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
- Guy Leduc, University of Liège
- Hein Meling, University of Stavanger
- Juval Portugali, Tel Aviv University
- Christian Prehofer, Fraunhofer ESK
- Andreas Riener, Johannes Kepler Universität Linz
- Hiroki Sayama, Binghamton University
- Marcus Schöller, NEC Europe Ltd.
- Caterina Scoglio, Kansas State University
- Paul Smith, Lancaster University
- Ioannis Stavrakakis, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
- Bosiljka Tadic, Jozef Stefan Institute
- Marc Timme, Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization
- Vito Trianni, National Research Council – CNR
- Maarten van Steen, VU University Amsterdam
- Huijuan Wang, Delft University of Technology
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://web.satd.uma.es/pipermail/ecoop-info/attachments/20111025/83486c49/attachment-0001.html 

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list