[ecoop-info] Deadline extension: PPPJ 2012: 10th International Conference on the Principles and Practice of Programming in Java

Ondrej Lhotak olhotak at uwaterloo.ca
Wed Apr 4 17:44:14 CEST 2012



PPPJ 2012: 10th International Conference on the Principles and Practice
of Programming in Java

12-15 September 2012, Grahamstown, South Africa


10 April 2012: Abstract Submission *** UPDATED
17 April 2012: Paper Submission *** UPDATED
11 June 2012: Author Notification
6 July 2012: Camera Ready Submissions

=== SCOPE ===

Java programming is multi-faceted, covering a rich diversity of
systems, tools, frameworks and techniques. PPPJ provides a forum for
researchers, practitioners and educators to present and discuss novel
results on all aspects of Java programming including the language and
its virtual machine, methods, tools, frameworks, libraries, case
studies, and experience reports. We invite papers on all these
aspects. Topics include but are not limited to:

* The Java Language and Systems
* Software Engineering with Java
* Mobile and Embedded Devices, e.g., Java Micro Edition, Android
* Other Static, Dynamic, and Functional Languages for the JVM
* VM Design and Optimization
* Aspect-oriented Programming in Java
* Modular Programming with Java
* Model-driven Development in Java
* Real-Time Systems in Java
* Component- and Service-oriented Architectures
* Java Frameworks and Tools
* Java and Formal Methods
* Security and Information Flow
* Testing, Analysis, and Metrics
* Java Concurrency
* Parallelization of Java Programs
* Applications in Science, Engineering, and Business
* Java Practice and Experience Reports
* Teaching Java

++ Workshops ++

Before the main conference, two complimentary workshops will be offered
on Modularity in Java, and Higher Order Evolution of Java Using Lambda
Expressions.  See the conference website for more details.


All papers must represent original and unpublished work that is not
currently under review. Papers will be evaluated according to their
significance, originality, technical content, style, clarity, and
relevance to the conference.

At least one author of each accepted paper is required to attend the
conference and present the paper.

Two types of paper submissions will be accepted:
* research/industry/experience papers, as well as
* tool demonstration papers.

Research/industry/experience papers must not exceed 10 pages, while
tool demonstration papers must not exceed 4 pages. The title of tool
demonstration papers should start with "Tool Demonstration:" in order
to identify the paper type. Please number the pages. The conference
proceedings will be published as part of the ACM International
Proceedings Series and will be disseminated through the ACM Digital
Library. We also plan to invite the authors of the best papers to
provide an extended version for a special issue of Elsevier Science of
Computer Programming.  The required format for the submission is the
ACM SIGPLAN Proceedings Style, using 9-point font size. A link to the
author information containing the Latex and Word templates can be
found on the conference webpage. Please apply the ACM Computing
Classification categories and terms (links to these are also on the
conference webpage).

Website for submissions:



- Elvira Albert, University of Madrid (Spain)
- Chris Bailey, IBM (England)
- Hubert Baumeister, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
- Alexandre Bergel, University of Chile (Chile)
- Walter Binder, University of Lugano (Switzerland)
- Judith Bishop, Microsoft Research (USA)
- Steve Blackburn, Australian National University (Australia)
- Giacomo Cabri, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia (Italy)
- Robert Cartwright, Rice University (USA)
- Bruce Childers, University of Pittsburgh (USA)
- Deepak Dhungana, 	Siemens AG (Austria)
- Artur Miguel Dias, New University Lisbon (Portugal)
- David Dice, Oracle Labs (USA)
- Erik Ernst, University of Aarhus (Denmark)
- Michael Franz, University of California, Irvine (USA)
- Yossi Gil, The Technion (Israel)
- David Gregg, Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
- David Grove, IBM Research (USA)
- Tibor Gyimothy, University of Szeged (Hungary)
- Sebastian Hack, Saarland University (Germany)
- Michael Haupt, Hasso Plattner Institute Potsdam (Germany)
- Matthias Hauswirth, University of Lugano (Switzerland)
- Petr Hnětynka, Charles University Prague (Czech Republic)
- Nigel Horspool, University of Victoria (Canada)
- Kai Koskimies, Tampere University of Technology (Finland)
- Herbert Kuchen, University of Münster (Germany)
- Doug Lea, State University of New York at Oswego (USA)
- Ondřej Lhoták, University of Waterloo (Canada)
- Lian Li, Oracle Labs (Australia)
- Francesco Logozzo, Microsoft Research (USA)
- Pierre-Etienne Moreau, École des Mines de Nancy (France)
- Hanspeter Mössenböck, Johannes Kepler University Linz (Austria)
- Anders Møller, University of Aarhus (Denmark)
- Frantisek Plasil, Charles University (Czech Republic)
- Thomas Preuss, University of Applied Sciences Brandenburg (Germany)
- Christian W. Probst, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
- Arno Puder, San Francisco State University (USA)
- German Puebla, Technical University of Madrid (Spain)
- Abhik Roychoudhury, National University of Singapore (Singapore)
- Markus Schordan, UAS Technikum Wien (Austria)
- Xipeng Shen, The College of William and Mary (USA)
- Doug Simon, Oracle Labs (Switzerland)
- Jeremy Singer, University of Glasgow (Scotland)
- Ryan Stansifer, Florida Tech (USA)
- Ben Stephenson, University of Calgary (Canada)
- Hannah Thinyane, Rhodes University (South Africa)
- Mamello Thinyane, University of Fort Hare (South Africa)
- George Wells, Rhodes University (South Africa)
- Christian Wimmer, UC Irvine (USA)


General Chair
- George C. Wells, Rhodes University (South Africa)
Program Chair
- Hannah Thinyane, Rhodes University (South Africa)
Publicity Chair
- Ondřej Lhoták, University of Waterloo (Canada)
Web chair
- Hannah Thinyane, Rhodes University (South Africa)
Steering Committee
- Markus Aleksy, ABB Corporate Research, Germany
- Vasco Amaral, Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Portugal)
- Conrad Cunningham, University of Mississippi (USA)
- Ralf Gitzel, ABB Corporate Research (Germany)
- Christian W. Probst, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list