[ecoop-info] IPSN2013 - International Conference on Information Processing in Sensor Networks

Martina Maggio maggio.martina at gmail.com
Tue Aug 21 10:01:36 CEST 2012

Important Dates
Abstract deadline: October 8, 2012, 23:59 GMT -12
Full papers due: October 15, 2012, 23:59 GMT -12
Author notification: January 25, 2013
Camera-ready papers: February 22, 2013

URL: http://ipsn.acm.org/2013/

The International Conference on Information Processing in Sensor
Networks (IPSN) is a leading, single-track, annual forum on research
in wireless embedded sensing systems. IPSN brings together researchers
from academia, industry, and government to present and discuss recent
advances in both theoretical and experimental research. Its scope
includes signal and image processing, information and coding theory,
databases and information management, distributed algorithms, networks
and protocols, wireless communications, collaborative objects and the
Internet of Things, machine learning, mobile and social sensing, and
embedded systems design. Of special interest are contributions at the
confluence of a multiple of these areas.
The conference features two interleaved tracks, the Information
Processing (IP) track, and the Sensor Platforms, Tools and Design
Methods (SPOTS) track. Authors should carefully review the intended
foci of these two tracks to decide which track is better suited for
their work, and they are encouraged to contact the program chairs with
questions or clarifications. As an example of these different
emphases, results focused on the analysis and processing aspects of
data collected from deployments should be submitted to the IP track,
while studies on the hardware and software platforms and tools used
for deployment should be submitted to the SPOTS track.

The Information Processing (IP) track focuses on algorithms, theory,
and systems for information processing using networks of embedded,
human-operated, or social sensors. Topics covered in the IP track
include, but are not limited to:
- Innovative applications and deployment experiences
- Mobile, participatory, and social sensing
- Coding, compression and information theory
- Data processing, storage and management
- Detection, classification, and tracking
- Distributed algorithms and reasoning
- Distributed and collaborative signal processing
- Fundamental bounds and formulations
- Location, time, and other network services
- Sensor tasking, control, and actuation
- Network protocols
- Programming models and languages

The Sensor Platforms, Tools, and Design Methods (SPOTS) track focuses
on new hardware and software architectures, modeling, evaluation,
deployment experiences, design methods, implementations, and tools for
networked embedded sensor systems. Submissions are expected to refer
to specific hardware, software, and implementations. Topics covered in
the SPOTS track include, but are not limited to:
- Novel sensor network components, device platforms and architectures
- Embedded software for sensor networks
- Design tools and methodologies for sensor networks
- System modeling, simulation, measurements, and analysis
- Case studies that describe experiences, highlight challenges, and
study/compare the performance of platforms and tools
- Network health monitoring and management
- Operating systems and runtime environments
- Simulation
- Innovative sensing platforms including crowd sourcing
- User interfaces for sensing applications and systems

Organizing Committee
General Chair: Tarek Abdelzaher, UIUC
TPC Co-Chair (IP Track): Kay Romer, University of Lubeck
TPC Co-Chair (SPOTS Track): Raj Rajkumar, CMU
Demo Chair: Luca Mottola, Politecnico di Milano (Italy) and Swedish
Institute of Computer Science
Poster Chair: Tian He, University of Minnesota
Workshop/Tutorial Chair: Aman Kansal, Microsoft Research
Publications Chair: Raghu Ganti, IBM Research
Finance/Sponsorship Chair: Akos Ledeczi, Vanderbilt University
Web Chair: Hengchang Liu, UIUC
Publicity Co-Chairs: Ying Zhang, Palo Alto Research Center; Li Cui,
ICT CAS; Martina Maggio, Lund University
PhD Forum Co-Chairs: Polly Huang, NTU

Steering Committee
Feng Zhao, Microsoft Research Asia (Chair)
Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Deborah Estrin, University of California - Los Angeles
Leo Guibas, Stanford University
William Kaiser, University of California - Los Angeles
P.R. Kumar, Texas A&M University
Jose Moura, Carnegie Mellon University
Jack Stankovic, University of Virginia
Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt University

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list