[ecoop-info] ICTAC'12: 2nd Call For Papers

Jun PANG pangjun at gmail.com
Tue Feb 14 09:31:32 CET 2012

ICTAC 2012
9th International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing
URL: http://www.iiitb.ac.in/ictac
24 - 27 September 2012, Bangalore, India

The Colloquium will be held at the International Institute of
Information Technology (IIIT), which is located in Electronics City of
Bangalore. It is two hours by car or taxi from Bangalore International
Airport. Bangalore is internationally known as the Silicon Valley of
India, with many hi-tech companies and research labs. Holding the
conference in the Electronics City of Bangalore gives the conference
participants valuable opportunity to discuss and network with the
software practitioners and researchers in India's Information
Technology (IT) hub. This will be further facilitated via an Industry
Day, a special feature of ICTAC 2012.

Regular and Short Paper submission deadline: 16 April 2012

ICTAC 2012 is the 9th International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects
of Computing, the latest in a series founded by the International
Institute for Software Technology of the United Nations University
(UNU-IIST). ICTAC 2012 will bring together practitioners and
researchers from academia, industry and government to present research
and to exchange ideas and experience addressing challenges in both
theoretical aspects of computing and in the exploitation of theory
through methods and tools for system development. The other main
purpose is to promote cooperation in research and education between
participants and their institutions, from developing and industrial
countries, as in the mandate of the United Nations University.

The topics of the conference include, but are not limited to:
  * automata theory and formal languages;
  * principles and semantics of programming languages;
  * logics and their applications;
  * software architectures and their description languages;
  * relationship between software requirements, models and code;
  * software specification, refinement, verification and testing;
  * model checking and theorem proving;
  * formal techniques in software testing;
  * models of object and component systems;
  * coordination and feature interaction;
  * integration of theories, formal methods and tools for
    engineering computing systems;
  * service-oriented architectures: models and development methods;
  * models of concurrency, security, and mobility;
  * theory of parallel, distributed, grid and cloud computing;
  * real-time, embedded, hybrid and cyber-physical systems;
  * type and category theory in computer science;
  * models for learning and education;
  * case studies, theories, tools and experiments of verified systems;
  * domain-specific modeling and technology: examples, frameworks
    and experience.

ICTAC 2012 will feature an Industry Day, a special feature being
introduced to the ICTAC colloquium for the first time. One of the days
of the conference is planned to be marked as Industry Day. The
industry day will feature technical talks from the industry
participants. These talks will be drawn from the papers submitted and
accepted to the conference; however any such paper must have at least
one co-author from the Industry and must be clearly marked for
`Industry Day' during submission. In addition, we plan to have tool
demonstrations and posters by the companies in the exhibition
floor. Participants from academia will thus also get a chance to
mingle with the industry participants in an informal atmosphere,
thereby getting a flavor of the ongoing activities in Bangalore's IT

Industry Day Co-chairs:
  * Sriram Rajamani (Microsoft Research)
  * Satish Chandra (IBM Research)

  * Gernot Heiser, UNSW (for Industry Day)
  * Luke Ong, Oxford
  * Ganesan Ramalingam, Microsoft Research

The proceedings of ICTAC 2012 will be published by Springer in the
series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) and will be available
at the colloquium. A special issue of a journal with extended version
of selected papers from ICTAC 2012 is under negotiation.  Submissions
to the colloquium must not have been published or be concurrently
considered for publication elsewhere.  All submissions will be judged
on the basis of originality, contribution to the field, technical and
presentation quality, and relevance to the conference.  Submissions
can be either Regular Papers or Short Papers.  Short papers can
present recent or ongoing work or discuss new ideas which are at an
early stage of development and have not been thoroughly evaluated yet.
Papers should be written in English. Regular Papers should not exceed
15 pages and Short Papers should be between 4 and 8 pages in LNCS
format (see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html for

Papers shall be submitted at
All queries should be sent to: ictac2012 at iist.unu.edu

Paper submission deadline:           16 April 2012
Paper Accept/Reject Notification:      8 June 2012
Final paper submission: 	       29 June 2012

  * Ana Cavalcanti, University of York, UK
  * Supratik Chakraborty, IIT Mumbai, India
  * Satish Chandra, IBM Watson, USA
  * Yifeng Chen, Peking University, China
  * Meenakshi D'Souza, IIIT Bangalore, India
  * Thao Dang, Verimag, France
  * Frank S. deBoer, CWI, Netherlands
  * Xinyu Feng, USTC, China
  * John Fitzgerald, University of Newcastle, UK
  * Susanne Graf, Verimag, France
  * Lindsay Groves, Victoria University, New Zealand
  * Zhenjiang Hu, NII, Japan
  * Lei  Ju, Shandong University, China
  * Moonzoo Kim, KAIST, Korea
  * Daniel Kroening, Oxford University, UK
  * Kim G. Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
  * Martin Leucker, TU Munich, Germany
  * Zhiming Liu, UNU-IIST, Macau SAR, China
  * Kamal Lodaya, Inst. of Mathematical Sciences, India
  * Annabelle McIver  Macquarie University, Australia
  * Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Inst., India
  * Kedar Namjoshi, Bell Labs, USA
  * Jun Pang, Univ. of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  * Sanjiva Prasad, IIT Delhi, India
  * Geguang Pu, ECNU, China
  * Zongyan Qiu, Peking University, China
  * Anders P. Ravn, Aalborg University, Denmark
  * Abhik Roychoudhury, National University of Singapore, Singapore (Chair)
  * Diptikalyan Saha, IBM Research, India
  * Augusto Sampaio, UFPE, Brazil
  * Bikram Sengupta, IBM Research, India
  * R.K. Shyamasundar, TIFR, India
  * Sofiene Tahar, Concordia University, Canada
  * Kapil Vaswani, Microsoft Research, India
  * Wang Yi, Uppsala University, Sweden
  * Naijun Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  * Jianjun Zhao, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

  * Meenakshi D'Souza, IIIT-B (General Chair)
  * Jun Pang, Univ. of Luxembourg (Publicity Chair)
  * Deepak D'Souza, Indian Institute of Science
  * Sumesh Divakaran, IIIT-B

  * John Fitzgerald, UK
  * Martin Leucker, Germany
  * Zhiming Liu, Macau SAR China (Chair)
  * Tobias Nipkow, Germany
  * Augusto Sampaio, Brazil
  * Natarajan Shankar, USA
  * Jim Woodcock, UK

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list