[ecoop-info] CMCS 2012: Final Call for Short Contributions

ams at cwi.nl ams at cwi.nl
Wed Feb 22 14:44:01 CET 2012

          CMCS 2012 call for short contributions

The 11th International Workshop on Coalgebraic Methods in Computer Science
               31 March - 1 April 2012, Tallinn, Estonia
                       co-located with ETAPS 2012

Aims and scope

In more than a decade of research, it has been established that a wide
variety of state-based dynamical systems, like transition systems,
automata (including weighted and probabilistic variants), Markov
chains, and game-based systems, can be treated uniformly as
coalgebras. Coalgebra has developed into a field of its own interest
presenting a deep mathematical foundation, a growing field of
applications, and interactions with various other fields such as
reactive and interactive system theory, object-oriented and concurrent
programming, formal system specification, modal and description
logics, artificial intelligence, dynamical systems, control systems,
category theory, algebra, analysis, etc. The aim of the CMCS workshop
series is to bring together researchers with a common interest in the
theory of coalgebras, their logics, and their applications.

The topics of the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  * the theory of coalgebras (including set theoretic and categorical
  * coalgebras as computational and semantic models (for programming
    languages, dynamical systems, etc.);
  * coalgebras in (functional, object-oriented, concurrent) programming;
  * coalgebras and data types;
  * (coinductive) definition and proof principles for coalgebras (with
    bisimulations or invariants);
  * coalgebras and algebras;
  * coalgebraic specification and verification;
  * coalgebras and (modal) logic;
  * coalgebra and control theory (notably of discrete event and hybrid


Registration is handled via the ETAPS website; please visit 


Keynote Speaker

Samson Abramsky, Oxford University, UK

Invited Speakers

Marcello Bonsangue,  Leiden University, The Netherlands
Pawel Sobocinski, University of Southampton, UK

Submission of Short Contributions

Submission is electronic via the easychair system at


following the submission guidelines below. Submission of regular
papers is closed. The submission deadline for short contributions is
February 20, 2012 (but see below under 'Important Dates'). Short
contributions will be bundled in a technical report. They should be
no more than two pages in LNCS format and may describe work in
progress, summarise work submitted to a conference or workshop
elsewhere, or in some other way appeal to the CMCS audience.

Important dates 

* 23 February 2012: submission deadline for short contributions 
* 25 February 2012: author notification for short contributions
* 26 February 2012: ETAPS normal registration deadline
* 31 March - 1 April 2012: the workshop 

We continue to accept short contributions (with notfication one week
after submisssion) until Februrary 27 based on avaliability of slots.
However, please note that the ETAPS normal registration deadline is
February 26.

Invited Papers
Samson Abramsky and Jonathan Zvesper.
  From Lawvere to Brandenburger-Keisler: interactive forms of diagonalization and self-reference

Pawel Sobocinski.
  Relational Presheaves as Labelled Transition Systems

Marcello Bonsangue, Jan Rutten and Joost Winter.
  Defining context-free power series coalgebraically

Accepted Regular Papers

Alexander Kurz, Daniela Petrisan, Paula Severi and Fer-Jan de Vries. 
  An Alpha-Corecursion Principle for the Infinitary Lambda Calculus
Bart Jacobs, Alexandra Silva and Ana Sokolova. 
  Trace Semantics via Determinization
Celia Picard and Ralph Matthes. 
  Permutations in Coinductive Graph Representation
Dusko Pavlovic. 
  Coalgebraic Man in the Middle
Eleftherios Matsikoudis and Edward Lee. 
  From Transitions to Executions
Giorgio Bacci and Marino Miculan.
  Structural operational semantics for continuous state probabilistic processes
Jiri Adamek, Stefan Milius and Lawrence Moss.
  On Finitary Functors and Their Presentations
Johannes Marti and Yde Venema.
  Lax Extensions of Coalgebra Functors
Toby Wilkinson.
  Internal Models for Coalgebraic Modal Logics
Vincenzo Ciancia and Yde Venema.
  Stream automata are coalgebras

Programme Committee

Luis Barbosa, University of Minho, Braga, Portugal
Filippo Bonchi, LIP ENS-Lyon, France
Josee Desharnais, Université Laval, Canada
Mai Gehrke, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
H. Peter Gumm, University of Marburg, Germany
Ichiro Hasuo, University of Tokyo, Japan
Patricia Johann, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Ekaterina Komendantskaya, University of Dundee, Scotland, UK
Dexter Kozen, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
Dorel Lucanu,  Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Iasi, Romania
Stefan Milius, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany
Larry Moss, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA
Prakash Panangaden, McGill University, Montreal, Canada
Dirk Pattinson, Imperial College London, UK (co-chair)
Dusko Pavlovic, Royal Holloway, London, UK
Daniela Petrisan, University of Leicester, UK
Grigore Rosu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Jan Rutten, CWI and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Luigi Santocanale, University of Provence, Marseille, France
Lutz Schröder, DFKI GmbH, Bremen, Germany (co-chair)
Alexandra Silva, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Ana Sokolova, University of Salzburg, Austria
Sam Staton, University of Cambridge, UK
Yde Venema, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Steering Committee

Jiri Adamek, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany
Corina Cirstea, University of Southampton, UK
H. Peter Gumm (chair), University of Marburg, Germany
Bart Jacobs, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Alexander Kurz, University of Leicester, UK
Marina Lenisa, University of Udine, Italy
Ugo Montanari, University of Pisa, Italy
Larry Moss, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA
Dirk Pattinson, Imperial College London, UK
John Power, University of Bath, UK
Horst Reichel, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
Jan Rutten, CWI and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Lutz Schröder, DFKI GmbH and University of Bremen, Germany

Publicity Chair

Alexandra Silva, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list