[ecoop-info] Call for PRIZE NOMINATION: Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing

Yvonne-Anne Pignolet yvonneanne.pignolet at gmail.com
Fri Jan 27 07:36:12 CET 2012

--- Call for PRIZE nominations - Deadline February 28, 2012 ---

(Please note that the deadline for papers for the conference is
different; the prize will be given at the conference this year, in

Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication

The Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing was established
to recognize individuals whose research contributions expanded the
collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO's area of interest. That is,
they formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that were
at the time of their introduction unorthodox and outside the mainstream,
but later attracted the interest of SIROCCO's community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect the spirit of
the SIROCCO conference.

The prize is presented at the annual meeting of the SIROCCO conference,
but may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for
the prize.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s)
for the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a
conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the
original paper, or a paper directly related to the innovative
contribution, must have appeared in SIROCCO proceedings.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g.
Google Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference,
the PC chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences
immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional
member of the Advisory Board, selected by the Steering Committee for the
current year.

In 2012, the Award Committee consists of:
Shay Kutten (Technion)- chair
Evangelos Kranakis (Carleton)
Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University)
Alexander A. Shvartsman (University of Connecticut)
Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu University)

A call for nomination is disseminated every year in the main mailing
lists of the Distributed Computing community, at least four months prior
to the date of that year's SIROCCO meeting.

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community. Each
nomination must identify the person(s) being nominated, and justify the
nomination by a short text including:

(a) a brief description of the innovative contribution in Distributed
Computing to be recognized by the award, and an explanation of its
originality and significance,

(b) the paper(s) of the nominee(s) that establish their eligibility as
described in the Eligibility section above items (1) and (2).

Nominations for 2012 should be sent to the Steering Committee chair of
SIROCCO: kutten at ie.technion.ac.il by February 28, 2012. Please write
SIROCCO Prize Nomination in the subject line.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list