[ecoop-info] Call for PRIZE NOMINATION and 2nd CfP SIROCCO 2012

Yvonne-Anne Pignolet yvonneanne.pignolet at gmail.com
Sun Jan 29 20:11:41 CET 2012

--- Call for PRIZE nominations - Deadline February 28, 2012 ---

(Please note that the deadline for papers for the conference is
different; the prize will be given at the conference this year, in

Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing

Awarded by the Colloquium on Structural Information and Communication

The Prize for Innovation In Distributed Computing was established
to recognize individuals whose research contributions expanded the
collective investigative horizon in SIROCCO's area of interest. That is,
they formulated new problems, or identified new research areas, that were
at the time of their introduction unorthodox and outside the mainstream,
but later attracted the interest of SIROCCO's community.

This community is interested in the relationships between information and
efficiency in decentralized computing. The prize recognizes originality,
innovation, and creativity -- the qualities that reflect the spirit of
the SIROCCO conference.

The prize is presented at the annual meeting of the SIROCCO conference,
but may not necessarily be awarded every year.


The following conditions must be met by the nominees to be eligible for
the prize.

(1) The original innovative contribution was introduced by the nominee(s)
for the first time in a publication at least five years before the
nomination deadline, and the publication must have appeared in a
conference proceedings or a scientific journal.

(2) At least one paper (co)authored by the nominee(s), either the
original paper, or a paper directly related to the innovative
contribution, must have appeared in SIROCCO proceedings.

Past SIROCCO papers and authors can be found at indexing sites, e.g.
Google Scholar or

Selection process

The prize winners are selected by the Award Committee composed of the
current Steering Committee (SC) Chair of the SIROCCO conference,
the PC chairs, including co-chairs, of the three SIROCCO conferences
immediately preceding the nominations deadline, plus one additional
member of the Advisory Board, selected by the Steering Committee for the
current year.

In 2012, the Award Committee consists of:
Shay Kutten (Technion)- chair
Evangelos Kranakis (Carleton)
Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University)
Alexander A. Shvartsman (University of Connecticut)
Masafumi Yamashita (Kyushu University)

A call for nomination is disseminated every year in the main mailing
lists of the Distributed Computing community, at least four months prior
to the date of that year's SIROCCO meeting.

Nominations can be made by any member of the scientific community. Each
nomination must identify the person(s) being nominated, and justify the
nomination by a short text including:

(a) a brief description of the innovative contribution in Distributed
Computing to be recognized by the award, and an explanation of its
originality and significance,

(b) the paper(s) of the nominee(s) that establish their eligibility as
described in the Eligibility section above items (1) and (2).

Nominations for 2012 should be sent to the Steering Committee chair of
SIROCCO: kutten at ie.technion.ac.il by February 28, 2012. Please write
SIROCCO Prize Nomination in the subject line.



19th International Colloquium on Structural Information and
Communication Complexity
June 30 - July 2, Reykjavík, Iceland


Important dates
Submission deadline: Monday, 27 February, 2012 (23:59 EDT)
Author notification: 31 March, 2012
Camera-ready submission: 21 April, 2012
Conference dates: 30 June - 2 July, 2012

SIROCCO is devoted to the study of communication and knowledge
in multi-processor systems from both the qualitative and quantitative
viewpoints. Special emphasis is given to innovative approaches and
fundamental understanding, in addition to efforts to optimize current

SIROCCO has a tradition of interesting and productive
scientific meetings in a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere, attracting
leading researchers in a variety of fields in which communication and
knowledge play a significant role. This year, SIROCCO is held in
Reykjavík, Iceland.

Original papers are solicited from all areas of study of local
structural knowledge and global communication and computational
complexities. Among the typical areas are distributed computing,
communication networks, game theory, parallel computing, social
networks, mobile computing (including autonomous robots), peer to peer
systems, communication complexity, fault tolerant graph theories, and
randomized/probabilistic issues in networks. Keeping up with the
tradition of SIROCCO, new areas are always welcome.

The Prize for Innovation in Distributed Computing is awarded annually
in the SIROCCO conference to recognize individuals whose research
contributions had a major impact on the understanding of the
relationships between information and efficiency in decentralized
computing. Only authors of papers that were published in SIROCCO are
eligible to receive the award. More details are available in the
SIROCCO 2012 web site.

Invited talks
To be announced.

Full papers are to be submitted electronically using the EasyChair server.
The link is https://www.easychair.org/account/signin.cgi?conf=sirocco2012
Submission guidelines are available in the conference web page.

Authors are invited to submit their work in one of the three
acceptable formats: novel research contributions, position papers, and
surveys. Original research papers must contain results that have not
previously appeared and have not been concurrently submitted to a
journal or conference with published proceedings. In all cases, any
partial overlap with any published or concurrently submitted paper
must be clearly indicated.

Submissions are limited to 12 single-column pages on letter/A4-size
paper (using at least 11 point font, 1 inch margins, standard line
spacing). This includes figures, but excludes references and an
optional appendix (to be read at the program committee's discretion).

As in previous years, the proceedings of SIROCCO 2012 will be published by
Springer-Verlag as a volume of the LNCS series. Information for LNCS
Authors can found here.

Selected papers are planned to be invited to a special issue of the
journal Theoretical Computer Science.

Program Committee:
Dimitris Achlioptas, UCSC
James Aspnes, Yale U.
Nikhil Bansal, TU Eindhoven
Thomas Erlebach, Leicester U.
Guy Even, Tel-Aviv U. (co-chair)
Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik U. (co-chair)
Fabian Kuhn, USI
Stefano Leonardi, Sapienza U.
Toshimitsu Masuzawa, Osaka U.
Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, U. Paderborn
Sriram V. Pemmaraju, U Iowa
Harald Raecke, TU Munich
Ignasi Sau, LIRMM
Thomas Sauerwald, MPI Informatik
Christian Schindelhauer, U. Freiburg
Hadas Shachnai, Technion
Christian Sohler, TU Dortmund
Subhash Suri, UCSB
Philippas Tsigas, Chalmers University of Technology
Shmuel Zaks, Technion

Steering Committee:
Ralf Klasing,CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France
Shay Kutten, Technion, Israel (Chair)
Boaz Patt-Shamir, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
Alex Shvartsman, MIT and Univ. of Connecticut, USA
Masafumi Yamashita, Kyushu University, Japan

Local Arrangement Chair
Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik U., Iceland

Publicity Chair
Yvonne Anne Pignolet,  ABB Corporate Research

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list