[ecoop-info] Call-for-Nominations: SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award 2012

Kai Sachs sachs at dvs.informatik.tu-darmstadt.de
Sun Jul 29 12:59:37 CEST 2012

SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award 2012
Call for Nominations 
Submission deadline: September 30, 2012

The SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award (formally called SPEC Benchmarking Research PhD Award) aims to recognize outstanding doctoral dissertations within the scope of the SPEC Research Group in terms of scientific originality, scientific significance, practical relevance, impact, and quality of the presentation.

The scope of the SPEC Research Group includes computer benchmarking, performance evaluation, and experimental system analysis in general, considering both classical performance metrics such as response time, throughput, scalability and efficiency, as well as other non-functional system properties included under the term dependability, e.g., availability, reliability, and security. Contributions of interest span the design of metrics for system evaluation as well as the development of methodologies, techniques and tools for measurement, load testing, profiling, workload characterization, dependability and efficiency evaluation of computing systems.

The winner will receive $1000, which will be awarded at the ACM/SPEC ICPE 2013 International Conference.

A nomination should include:
- A nomination letter (including the name of the student, the title of the dissertation, the institution where the dissertation was defended, and the date of the defense).
- A 1-page report that outlines the outstanding contribution of the dissertation.
- The dissertation itself including a 1-page extended abstract of the dissertation. (If the dissertation is written in language other than English, it may be accompanied by publications, in English, describing the same research as the dissertation.)

The SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award is open to dissertations that have been defended between October 1, 2011, and September 30, 2012. If there are several outstanding submissions, the committee may split the award between them.

The submission deadline is September 30, 2012.

Nominations are welcome at any time before the final submission deadline. Nominations, or questions about the application process, should be sent by e-mail to: Nominations at spec dot org. Self-nominations are not accepted.


Selection committee:
    Chair: Wilhelm Hasselbring, University of Kiel, Germany
    David A. Bader, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
    Walter Bays, Oracle Corporation, USA
    Walter Binder, University of Lugano, Switzerland
    Rema Hariharan, AMD, USA
    Samuel Kounev, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
    Diwakar Krishnamurthy, University of Calgary, Canada
    Klaus Lange, HP, USA
    John Murphy, University College Dublin, Ireland
    Marco Vieira, University of Coimbra, Portugal

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list