[ecoop-info] FOSD 2012: Call for Papers

Thomas Thüm thomas.thuem at ovgu.de
Thu Jun 7 17:33:58 CEST 2012

Fourth International Workshop on

Feature-Oriented Software Development (FOSD)

September 24-25, 2012, Dresden, Germany
in conjunction with GPCE 2012



Feature orientation is an emerging paradigm of software development. It 
supports the automatic generation of large-scale software systems from a 
set of units of functionality called features. The key idea of 
feature-oriented software development (FOSD) is to emphasize the 
similarities of a family of software systems for a given application 
domain (e.g., database systems, banking software, text processing 
systems) with the goal of reusing software artifacts among the family 
members. Features distinguish different members of the family. A feature 
is a unit of functionality that satisfies a requirement, represents a 
design decision, and provides a potential configuration option. A 
challenge in FOSD is that a feature does not map cleanly to an isolated 
module of code. Rather it may affect ("cut across") many 
components/artifacts of a software system. Furthermore, the 
decomposition of a software system into its features gives rise to a 
combinatorial explosion of possible feature combinations and 
interactions. Research on FOSD has shown that the concept of features 
pervades all phases of the software life cycle and requires a proper 
treatment in terms of analysis, design, and programming techniques, 
methods, languages, and tools, as well as formalisms and theory.


The primary goal of the 4th International Workshop on Feature-Oriented 
Software Development (FOSD) is to foster and strengthen the 
collaboration between the researchers who work in the field of FOSD or 
in the related fields of software product lines, service-oriented 
architecture, model-driven engineering and feature interactions. The 
focus of FOSD’12 will be on discussions, rather than on presenting 
technical content only.


This year we will have two keynotes at the FOSD workshop:
Mira Mezini, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
Salvador Trujillo, IKERLAN Research Centre, Spain

Workshop Format

The workshop is scheduled for two full days and will be a highly 
interactive event. The workshop begins with a keynote. Then, the 
accepted papers are presented in sessions. We allocate for each accepted 
paper 20 min for presentation and 20 min for discussion. To stimulate 
discussions, we assign to each paper a “devil’s advocate”, who is 
supposed to read the paper before the workshop, to prepare a set of 
controversial questions (typically, one to three questions), and to step 
into the discussion when appropriate. Additionally, we will allocate 
slots for discussion sessions to address issues raised during the paper 
presentations or other pressing issues.


We invite submissions 4 to 8 pages long in ACM proceedings format. The 
papers will be reviewed by at least three members of the program 
committee. The authors will be notified about acceptance before the 
early registration deadline. Accepted papers will be posted on the 
website and published in the ACM Digital Library. In particular, we are 
looking for contributions in the following topics:
• Programming language and tool support for FOSD
• Mapping between problem and solution space
• Formal methods and theory for FOSD
• Variability-aware analysis (e.g., type checking, testing, data flow 
analysis, and verification)
• Feature composition and refactoring
• Detection of feature interactions
• Versioning, evolution, and maintenance
• Generative programming and automatic programming
• Components, services, aspects, and models

Important Dates

Submission: July 2nd, 2012
Notification: August 8th, 2012
Workshop: September 24th-25th, 2012

Program Chairs

Ina Schaefer (Technische Universität Braunschweig, DE)
Thomas Thüm (University of Magdeburg, DE)

Program Committee

Sven Apel (University of Passau, DE)
Joanne Atlee (University of Waterloo, CA)
Maider Azanza (University of the Basque Country, ES)
Don Batory (University of Texas at Austin, US)
Paulo Borba (University of Pernambuco, BR)
Jan Bosch (Intuit, US)
Goetz Botterweck (Lero, IE)
Manfred Broy (Technische Universität Munich, DE)
Dave Clarke (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, BE)
Martin Erwig (Oregon State University, CA)
Kathi Fisler (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, US)
Alessandro Garcia (PUC-Rio, BR)
Jeff Gray (University of Alabama, US)
Florian Heidenreich (Technische Universität Dresden, DE)
Patrick Heymans (University of Namur, BE)
Christian Kästner (University of Marburg, DE)
Thomas Leich (Metop, DE)
Christian Lengauer (University of Passau, DE)
Malte Lochau (Technische Universität Braunschweig, DE)
Christian Prehofer (Fraunhofer ESK, DE)
Rick Rabiser (Johannes Kepler University, AT)
Stephan Reiff-Marganiec (University of Leicester, UK)
Bernhard Rumpe (RWTH Aachen, DE)
Stefan Sobernig (Vienna Uni of Economics & Business, AT)
Maurice Ter Beek (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, IT)
Ken Turner (University of Stirling, UK)

Steering Committee

Sven Apel (University of Passau, DE)
Don Batory (University of Texas at Austin, US)
Krzysztof Czarnecki (University of Waterloo, CA)
Christian Kästner (University of Marburg, DE)
Christian Lengauer (University of Passau, DE)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list