[ecoop-info] FOAL'14: Foundations of Aspect-Oriented Languages - Call for papers

Eric Bodden bodden at st.informatik.tu-darmstadt.de
Wed Dec 18 10:27:09 CET 2013

FOAL: Foundations of Aspect-Oriented Languages

Paper Submission Deadline: Jan 26th, 2014

A one day workshop affiliated with MODULARITY'14 at the University of Lugano (USI), Switzerland on April 22, 2014.

FOAL is a forum for research in foundations of aspect-oriented and other advanced separation of concern mechanisms. Areas of interest include but are not limited to:

* Semantics of advanced separation of concern mechanisms,
* Specification and verification for languages with such mechanisms
* Type systems,
* Static analysis,
* Theory of testing,
* Theory of composition,
* Theory of translation (compilation) and rewriting,
* Comparison of different advanced modularization and separation of concern mechanisms.

The workshop aims to foster work in foundations, including formal studies, promote the exchange of ideas, and encourage workers in the semantics and formal methods communities to consider advanced separation of concern mechanisms. All theoretical and foundational studies of this topic are welcome. Even though the workshop title contains the term "aspect-oriented", the workshop is not limited to aspect-oriented programming languages, but welcomes topics on other advanced separation of concern mechanisms such as feature-oriented or context-oriented programming.

The goals of FOAL are to:
* Make progress on the foundations of aspect-oriented and other advanced separation of concern mechanisms.
* Exchange ideas about semantics and formal methods for aspect-oriented and other languages with advanced separation of concerns.
* Foster interest within the programming language theory and types communities in languages with advanced separation of concerns.
* Foster interest within the formal methods community in aspect-oriented programming and other advanced separation of concern mechanisms, and the problems of reasoning about them.

The planned workshop format is primarily presentation of papers and group discussion. Talks will come in two categories: regular (25 minutes plus 5 minutes of discussion) and short (7 minutes plus 3 minutes of discussion). The short talks will allow for presentations of topics for which results are not yet available, perhaps for researchers who are seeking feedback on ideas or seek collaborations.
We also plan to ensure sufficient time for discussion of each presentation by limiting the overall number of talks.

Invitation to the workshop will be based on papers selected by the program committee; those wishing to attend but not having a paper to submit should contact the organizers directly to see if there is sufficient space in the workshop.

FOAL solicits regular and short papers on all areas of formal foundations of advanced separation of concern mechanisms. Submissions will be read by the program committee and designated reviewers. Papers will be selected for regular and short presentation at the workshop based on their length, scientific merit, innovation, readability, and relevance. Papers previously published or already being reviewed by another conference are not eligible. Some papers may not be selected for presentation, and some may be selected for presentation in shorter talks than their paper length would otherwise command. We will limit the length of paper presentations and the number of papers presented to make sure that there is enough time for discussion.

Additional information is available online:

* Paper Submission Deadline	23:00 GMT, 26 January 2014
* Notification of Acceptance	 16 February 2014
* Final Versions of Papers Due	 24 February 2014
* Workshop	 22 April 2014
* Call last modified Tuesday, November 19, 2013.

We are pleased to have assembled another exceptional program committee for FOAL this year:
Eric Bodden (Program Committee Chair) — Head of Secure Software Engineering at Fraunhofer SIT / TU Darmstadt
Sven Apel — University of Passau
Paulo Borba — Federal University of Pernambuco
Somayeh Malakuti — University of Twente
Cynthia Disenfeld — Technion
Robert Dyer — Iowa State University
Marieke Huisman — University of Twente
Gary T. Leavens — University of Central Florida
Hidehiko Masuhara — Tokyo Institute of Technology
Hridesh Rajan — Iowa State University
Guido Salvaneschi — TU Darmstadt
Éric Tanter — University of Chile
Nicolas Tabareau — INRIA

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list