[ecoop-info] ICSE 2015 - call for contributions to the Software Engineering in Society (SEIS) track

Domenico BIANCULLI domenico.bianculli at uni.lu
Tue Sep 23 19:13:05 CEST 2014

ICSE 2015


The 37th International Conference on Software Engineering

May 16-24, 2015 - Firenze, Italy

Call for Contributions to
Software Engineering in Society

* Goals *

ICSE 2015 features for the first time the new Track on Software
Engineering in Society (SEIS).

SEIS will provide a forum for discussing the role and impact of
software engineering in a sustainable society that is incrementally
intertwined with ecological changes, social challenges, economic
imperatives and technical demands and opportunities.

* SEIS welcomes *

- innovative, inspiring, thought-provoking research supported by
  well-motivated scientific intuition; new research directions;
  synergies with other disciplines

- solid research results; empirical studies; research experimentation
  bridging the gap between models and reality of a sustainable society

* Scope *

SEIS 2015 seeks papers challenging the role and impact of the software
engineering discipline for a sustainable society, along various

- environmental sustainability: energy, climate change;
- social sustainability: for both organizations, individuals and
  citizens, communities;
- economic sustainability: business and economic aspects of software
- societal sustainability: software engineering ethics, digital
  divide, software engineering implications of, and contribution to,
  various aspects of our society, recognition and exploitation of
  diversity to benefit software engineering practices;
- technical sustainability: software that can evolve, adapt to
  changing requirements,  adapt to ever-changing society.

SEIS authors are encouraged to contribute both mature, and novel but
soundly-motivated research. SEIS especially welcomes multi- and
interdisciplinary research showcasing how software engineering can
contribute, and complement, the various sustainability dimensions of
our society.

* Evaluation *

The main criterion for acceptance is the degree to which a paper
matches the aforementioned track goals and scope, and provides
innovation to software engineering, emphasizing the 'Sustainability'
dimension of the track. The SEIS program committee will perform the
assessment according to the following criteria: originality, relevance
and soundness of the proposal, appropriate consideration of relevant
literature, and quality of presentation.

Each submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the
program committee.

* Presentation at the conference *

The SEIS sessions will feature a mix of short papers and long papers.

* How to Submit *

All papers must conform at the time of submission to the ICSE 2015
formatting and submission instructions. Short papers must not exceed
four pages, including all text, references, appendices, and
figures. Long papers must not exceed 10 pages, including all text,
references, appendices, and figures. Papers must be submitted
electronically at the SEIS CyberChair submission site
<http://cyberchairpro.borbala.net/icseseispapers/submit/>, by the
submission deadline of October 24, 2014 (anywhere on earth).

* Important dates *

Submission deadline: October 24, 2014
Notification to authors: January 21, 2015
Camera ready deadline: February 13, 2015

* SEIS Committee *

Daniela Damian (Co-Chair)	University of Victoria	Canada
Patricia Lago (Co-Chair)	VU University Amsterdam	Netherlands

Marco Aiello			University of Groningen	Netherlands
Rami Bahsoon			University of Birmingham	UK
Travis Breaux			Carnegie Mellon University	US
Bernd Bruegge			Technische Universität München	Germany
Steve Easterbrook		University of Toronto	Canada
Hakan Ergodomus			Carnegie Mellon University	US
Steve Fickas			University of Oregon	US
Anthony Finkelstein		University College London	UK
Scott D. Fleming		University of Memphis	US
Jim Herbsleb			Carnegie Mellon University	US
Lorenz M. Hilty			University of Zurich and TSL, Empa	Switzerland
Rick Kazman			University of Hawaii	US
Philippe Kruchten		University of British Columbia	Canada
Filippo Lanubile		University of Bari	Italy
Grace Lewis			SEI-CMU	US
Walid Maalej			University of Hamburg	Germany
Maurizio Morisio		Politecnico di Torino	Italy
Henry Muccini			University of L'Aquila	Italy
Jurgen Muench			University of Helsinki	Finland
Hausi Muller			University of Victoria	Canada
Norberto Patrignani		Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore Italy
Birgit Penzenstadler		University of California, Irvine     US
Giuseppe Procaccianti		VU University Amsterdam	Netherlands
Awais Rashid			Lancaster University	UK
Maryam Razavian			VU University Amsterdam	Netherlands
Debra Richardson		University of California, Irvine	US
Janice Singer			National Research Council	Canada

* Formatting and submission instructions *

Please review the submission and formatting instructions carefully. Submissions that do not comply with the instructions and size limits will be rejected without review.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list