[ecoop-info] CFP: 1st International Workshop on Control Theory for Software Engineering (CTSE)

Ilias Gerostathopoulos iliasg at d3s.mff.cuni.cz
Thu Apr 30 11:25:39 CEST 2015

1st International Workshop on Control Theory for Software Engineering (CTSE)
co-located with ESEC-FSE 2015

Bergamo, Italy - Monday August 31, 2015

Self-adaptive software systems are establishing themselves as systems 
that continuously assure software requirements in spite of dynamic, 
unpredictable, and uncertain execution environments. Nonetheless, most 
of the current approaches lack the formal grounding needed to guarantee 
the effectiveness, robustness, and dependability of the adaptation 
mechanisms. Control Theory has developed a broad set of mathematical 
techniques for adapting physical plants. Although the parallel between 
the two adaptation problems is self-evident, a Control Theory for 
Software Engineering places unprecedented challenges for both 
disciplines. Software engineers are required to abstract system 
behaviors into mathematical models suitable for control and to devise 
broadly applicable development processes taking "controllability" as a 
first class concern. Control Theory, used to deal mostly with 
unchangeable physical laws and limited measurable quantities, has to 
readjust to a new playground where the "physics" of virtual environments 
is often a design choice, calling for a paradigm shift from classic 
control. This workshop aims to provide a forum for researchers active in 
the two disciplines, fostering the definition of software adaptation 
methodologies with control theoretical formal guarantees.

Call for Papers
We invite high–quality submissions describing original and unpublished 
results on the use of control theoretical concepts for the design of 
software systems. We welcome theoretical, experimental, industrial, 
empirical, case study, position, and challenge papers, as well as 
multi-disciplinary work bringing results from other disciplines for the 
solution of problems related to software control and uncertainty 
management.  We encourage the authors to facilitate reproducibility of 
their results by making available or describing relevant data sets and 
tools. Papers must not have been previously published or be currently 
submitted elsewhere. If accepted, the paper must be personally presented 
at the workshop by one of the authors. The accepted papers will be 
included in the proceedings of ESEC-FSE 2015 
(http://esec-fse15.dei.polimi.it) edited by ACM SIGSOFT.

Topics of interest
The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Challenges in applying Control Theory for Software Engineering
- Experience on the application of control for software systems
- Event-based control for software systems
- Equation-based control for software systems
- Control methodologies and techniques for software
- Design patterns and architectures for control
- Verification and Validation of controlled systems
- Mathematical modeling of software for control
- Modeling of time and uncertainty for software
- Model identification and continuous learning
- Controller synthesis for stochastic behavioral models
- Control strategies for dependable approximate computing
- Distributed and collaborative software control
- Control theoretical solutions for resource provisioning and energy 
- Development processes for controllable software
- Control theoretical solutions for software intensive cyber-physical 

Important dates
Abstract submission     May 29, 2015
Papers submission       June 5, 2015
Authors notification    June 29, 2015
Camera-ready submission July 15, 2015

Submission Guidelines
We solicit two types of submissions: full research papers (up to 8 pages 
including references) describing novel ongoing work to solve relevant 
problems, and short position papers (up to 4 pages including references) 
focusing on open challenges and opportunities.
All submissions must be prepared in ACM conference format and comply 
with the format requirements of ESEC-FSE 15 
Papers are to be submitted via EasyChair at 

Organization Committee
Program Co-Chairs:
Antonio Filieri, University of Stuttgart, DE
Martina Maggio, Lund University, SE

Publicity Chair
Ilias Gerostathopoulos, Charles University, CZ

Program Committee
Javier Camara, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Nicolas D'Ippolito, University of Buenos Aires, AR
David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Carlo Ghezzi, Politecnico di Milano, IT
Henry Hoffmann, University of Chicago, US
Samuel Kounev, University of Wurzburg, DE
Filip Krikava, University of Lille/INRIA, FR
Marta Kwiatkowska, Oxford University, UK
Alberto Leva, Politecnico di Milano, IT
Marin Litoiu, York University, CA
Sasa Misailovic, Massachussets Institute of Technology, US
Alessandro Vittorio Papadopoulos, Lund University, SE
David Parker, University of Birmingham, UK
Anders Robertsson, Lund University, SE
Eric Rutten, INRIA Grenoble, FR
Sebastian Uchitel, University of Buenos Aires, AR
Thomas Vogel, Hasso-Plattner-Institut, DE
Danny Weyns, Linnaeus University, SE

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list