[ecoop-info] CALL FOR PAPERS -- The 9th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR 2015)

Luca Pulina lpulina at uniss.it
Thu Jan 15 18:28:01 CET 2015

[apologies for any cross-posting]

The 9th International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR 2015)
Berlin, Germany, August 4-6, 2015

The International Conference on Web Reasoning and Rule Systems (RR) is a 
major forum for discussion and dissemination of new results concerning 
Web Reasoning and Rule Systems.

RR 2015 is colocated with the following events:
- 11th Reasoning Web Summer School (RW 2015)
   Berlin, Germany, July 31 - August 4, 2015.

- The 25th International Conference on Automated Deduction (CADE 2015).
   Berlin, Germany, August 1 - August 7, 2015.

- The 9th International Web Rule Symposium (RuleML 2015).
   Berlin, Germany, August 3-5, 2015

RR 2015 also hosts a doctoral consortium, which will provide PhD 
students with an opportunity to present and discuss their research 
directions, to be involved in discussions on the state-of-the-art 
research, and to establish fruitful collaborations. In particular, the 
doctoral consortium will include a mentoring lunch and a poster session, 
organized jointly with the 9th International Web Rule Symposium (RuleML 
2015). Further details on the RR doctoral consortium will be 
communicated by means of a separate Call for Papers, as well as on the 
RR 2015 website.


The scale and the heterogenous nature of web data poses many challenges, 
and turns basic tasks such as query answering and data transformations 
into complex reasoning problems. Rule-based systems have found many 
applications in this area. The RR conference welcomes original research 
from all areas of Web Reasoning and Rule Systems. Topics of particular 
interest are:

- Rule-based languages for intelligent information access and for the 
semantic web
- Ontology-based data access
- Data management, and data interoperability for web data
- Distributed agent-based systems for the web
- Scalability and expressive power of logics for the semantic web
- Reasoning with incomplete, inconsistenct and uncertain data
- Non-monotonic, commonsense, and closed-world reasoning for web data
- Constraint programming, inductive logic programming for web data
- Streaming data and complex event processing
- Rule-based approaches to machine learning, knowledge extraction and 
information retrieval
- Rule-based approaches to natural language processing
- System descriptions, applications and experiences

There are two submission formats:

- Full papers (up to 15 pages in LNCS style)
- Technical Communications (up to 6 pages in LNCS style)

Submitted full papers should present original and significant research 
results. They must not substantially overlap with papers that have been 
published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a 
conference/workshop with formal proceedings. Double submission to a 
workshop with informal proceedings is allowed, like for instance the DL 
2014 workshop. Technical communications are intended for promising but 
possibly preliminary work, position papers, system descriptions, and 
applications descriptions (which may be accompanied by a demo).

The conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the Lecture 
Notes in Computer Science series (LNCS), and all submissions must be 
prepared in Springer's LaTeX style llncs 

Submissions are made via EasyChair: 


- Title and Abstract submission:  March 3, 2015
- Full papers submission:             March 10, 2015
- Notification of acceptance:       April 15, 2015
- Camera-ready submission:       May 15, 2015

For each of these deadlines, a cut-off point of 23:59 AOE (anywhere on 
earth) applies.


Awards for Best Paper and Best Student Paper will be presented to the 
corresponding author(s) at the conference. The best student paper will 
be selected among the ones mainly only by students (i.e., authors a PhD 
as of the paper submission deadline). To qualify for the Best Student 
Paper award, the authors must indicate their eligibility upon submission 
at easychair. The program committee reserves the right to not give out a 
Best Student Paper award, or to split the award among multiple submissions.


- Michael Genesereth (Stanford University)
- Benny Kimelfeld (Technion & LogicBlox)
- Lora Aroyo (Free University of Amsterdam)


General Chair:
  - Wolfgang Faber (University of Huddersfield)

Doctoral Consortium Chair:
- Marco Montali (Free Universiy of Bozen-Bolzano)

Local Organization Chair:
- Adrian Paschke (Free University of Berlin)

Sponsorship Chair:
- Marco Maratea (University of Genova)

Publicity Chair:
- Luca Pulina (University of Sassari)

Web Chair:
- Ralph Schaefermeier (Free University of Berlin)

Program Committee:
- Balder ten Cate (LogicBlox, USA) - co-chair
- Alessandra Mileo (DERI, Ireland) - co-chair
- Darko Anicic (Siemens AG, Germany)
- Marcelo Arenas (Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, Chile)
- Marcello Balduccini (Drexel University, USA)
- Leopoldo Bertossi (Carleton University, Canada)
- Meghyn Bienvenu (Universite Paris Sud, France)
- Fernando Bobillo (University of Zaragoza, Spain)
- Daniel Deutsch (Tel Aviv, Israel)
- Agostino Dovier (Università degli Studi di Udine, Italy)
- Thomas Eiter (TU Vienna, Austria)
- Sergio Flesca (University of Calabria, Italy)
- Paul Fodor (Stony Brook University, USA)
- Andres Freitas (INSIGHT NUI Galway, Ireland)
- Andre Hernich (Liverpool, UK)
- Stijn Heymans (SRI, USA)
- Aidan Hogan (National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland)
- Benny Kimelfeld (Technion, Israel & LogicBlox, Inc)
- Roman Kontchakov (Birkbeck College, UK)
- Markus Krötzsch (University of Oxford, UK)
- Georg Lausen (Universitaet Freiburg, Germany)
- Joohyung Lee (Arizona State University, USA)
- Domenico Lembo (Sapienza Universita di Roma, Italy)
- Carsten Lutz (Universität Bremen, Germany)
- Thomas Meyer (CSIR Meraka Institute, South Africa)
- Boris Motik (Oxford University, UK)
- Marco Montali (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)
- Marie-Laure Mugnier (LIRMM/INRIA, Montpellier, France)
- Matthias Nickels (NUI Galway, Ireland)
- Magdalena Ortiz (TU Vienna, Austria)
- Giorgio Orsi (University of Oxford, UK)
- Jeff Z. Pan (University of Aberdeen)
- Adrian Paschke (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
- Axel Polleres (WU-Vienna, Austria)
- Lucian Popa (IBM Almaden, USA)
- Francesco Ricca (University of Calabria, Italy)
- Riccardo Rosati (Sapienza Universita di Roma, Italy)
- Sebastian Rudolph (TU Dresden, Germany)
- Luciano Serafini (FBK Trento, Italy)
- Evgeny Sherkhonov (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
- Steffen Staab (University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany)
- Umberto Straccia (ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy)

Luca Pulina, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science

POLCOMING - Department of Political Science, Communication, Engineering 
and Information Technologies
University of Sassari
e-mail lpulina at uniss.it

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list