[ecoop-info] CFP: SBMF 2015 - 18th Brazilian Symposium on Formal Methods (SBMF)

Announcements of FME events events at fmeurope.org
Mon Jun 8 02:21:21 CEST 2015


18th Brazilian Symposium on Formal Methods (SBMF)


Promoted by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC)

September 21st to September 26th, 2015
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil


Abstract Submission Deadline: June 27th, 2015
Paper Submission Deadline: July 3rd, 2015
Paper Acceptance Notification: August 17th, 2015
Paper Camera-ready Version: August 31st, 2015


SBMF 2015 is the eighteenth of a series of events devoted to the
dissemination and use of formal methods for the construction of high-quality
computational systems. It is now a well-established event, with an

The symposium will be part of a larger event, the 6th Brazilian Conference
on Software: Theory and Practice (CBSoft 2015 - http://cbsoft.org/),
including as
well as SBMF three other symposia:

* XXIX Brazilian Symposium on Software Engineering (SBES)
* XIX Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages (SBLP)
* IX Brazilian Symposium on Components, Software Architecture and Software
Reuse (SBCARS)

CBSoft and SBMF 2015 will take place in Belo Horizonte, the capital of the
Minas Gerais, that is located in the southeast region and is the sixth most
populous city in Brazil. From the beauty of its green areas to the careful
city-planning; from the wide array of cultural activities to the nature
of the Serra do Curral surrounding it, Belo Horizonte has several reasons
being constantly appointed as one of the Latin American metropolises that
provides the best qualify of life.

The aim of SBMF is to provide a venue for the presentation and discussion of
high-quality work in formal methods. The topics include, but are not
limited to,
the following:

* techniques and methodologies, such as method integration; software and
hardware co-design; model-driven engineering; formal aspects of popular
methodologies; formal design; development methodologies with formal
software evolution based on formal methods;

* specification and modeling languages, such as well-founded specification
design languages; formal aspects of popular languages; logics and semantics
programming and specification languages; code generation; formal methods and
models for objects, aspects, component-based, real-time, hybrid, critical,
service-oriented systems;

* theoretical foundations, such as domain theory; type systems and category
theory; computational complexity of methods and models; computational
term rewriting; models of concurrency, security and mobility;

* verification and validation, such as abstraction, modularization and
refinement techniques; program and test synthesis; correctness by
model checking; theorem proving; static analysis; formal techniques for
testing; software certification; formal techniques for software inspection;

* education, such as teaching of, for and with formal methods;

* applications, such as experience reports on the use of formal methods;
industrial case studies; tool support.


Papers with a strong emphasis on Formal Methods, whether practical or
theoretical, are invited for submission. They should present unpublished and
original work that has a clear contribution to the state of the art on the
theory and practice of formal methods. They should not be simultaneously
submitted elsewhere.

Papers will be judged by at least three reviewers on the basis of
relevance, technical soundness and presentation quality and should contain
theoretical or practical results. Industry papers should emphasize practical
application of formal methods or report on open challenges.

Contributions should be written in English and be prepared using Springer's
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) format. Papers may not exceed 16
pages. Accepted papers will be published, after the conference, in a volume

Every accepted paper MUST have at least one author registered in the
by the time the camera-ready copy is submitted; the registered author is
expected to attend the symposium and present the paper.

Papers can be submitted via the following link:

As in previous editions, after the conference, authors of selected papers
will be
invited to submit an extended version of their work to be considered for
in a special issue of Science of Computer Programming, by Elsevier.


Sumit Gulwani, Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA, USA
Adenilso Simão, ICMC/USP, São Carlos, SP, Brazil


Márcio Cornélio (UFPE, Brazil)
Bill Roscoe (University of Oxford, UK)


Aline Andrade (UFBA, Brazil)
Wilkerson Andrade (UFCG, Brazil)
Luis Barbosa (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Christiano Braga (UFF, Brazil)
Michael Butler (University of Southampton, UK)
Ana Cavalcanti (University of York, UK)
Simone Cavalheiro (UFPel, Brazil)
Márcio Cornélio (UFPE, Brazil), co-chair
Andrea Corradini (Universita’ di Pisa, Italy)
Jim Davies (University of Oxford, UK)
David Deharbe (UFRN, Brazil)
Ewen Denney (RIACS/NASA, USA)
Clare Dixon (University of Liverpool, UK)
Adalberto Farias (UFCG, Brazil)
Rohit Gheyi (UFCG, Brazil)
Rolf Hennicker (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen, Germany)
Juliano Iyoda (UFPE, Brazil)
Peter Larsen (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Bruno Lopes (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
Anamaria Moreira (UFRJ, Brazil)
Patricia Machado (UFCG, Brazil)
Narciso Martí-Oliet (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain)
Tiago Massoni (UFCG, Brasil)
Ana Melo (USP, Brazil)
Alvaro Moreira (UFRGS, Brazil)
Alexandre Mota (UFPE, Brazil)
Leonardo Moura (Microsoft Research, USA)
Arnaldo Moura (Unicamp, Brazil)
Peter Müller (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
David Naumann (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)
Marcel Oliveira (UFRN, Brazil)
Jose Oliveira (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Leila Ribeiro (UFRGS, Brazil)
Bill Roscoe (University of Oxford, UK), co-chair
Augusto Sampaio (UFPE, Brazil)
Leila Silva (UFS, Brazil)
Adenilso Simão (USP, Brazil)
Sofiene Tahar (Concordia University, Canada)
Leopoldo Teixeira (UFPE, Brazil)
Heike Wehrheim (University of Paderborn, Germany)
Jim Woodcock (University of York, UK)


Rohit Gheyi (UFCG, Brazil)
David Naumann (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)
Juliano Iyoda (UFPE, Brazil)
Leonardo de Moura (Microsoft Research, USA)
Christiano Braga (UFF, Brazil)
Narciso Martí-Oliet (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain)
Márcio Cornélio (UFPE, Brazil)
Bill Roscoe (University of Oxford, UK)
-------------- next part --------------
events mailing list
events at fmeurope.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list