[ecoop-info] 2015 Best Practices in Education Award - Call for Submissions

Cristina Pereira cristina.pereira at informatics-europe.org
Thu Mar 19 14:27:27 CET 2015

Informatics Europe proudly announces its 2015 Best Practices in 
Education Award 
to initiatives promoting informatics education in primary and secondary 

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes 
outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of 
informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can 
be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

As in 2014, the Award will reward a successful teaching effort in Europe 

  * *has made a measurable difference in informatics education in schools*
  * *is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community*
  * *has made a measurable impact in its original institution and beyond it*

The 2015 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives for promoting 
informatics in schools as a mandatory subject for all students. The 
Award will honor original contributions who emphasize successful 
initiatives for teaching of informatics fundamentals in schools. 
Experiences and reports showing how to use software or hardware tools in 
order to improve learning in other disciplines than informatics will not 
be considered.

Examples of impact include course results, student projects, textbooks, 
influence on the curriculum of other schools.

The 2015 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives promoting 
informatics education in primary and secondary schools and funded 
through a generous grant from Microsoft.

*The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000.00*

The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, 
participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int <http://www.coe.int>), 
or Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award 
Committee are not eligible.

The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves 
the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals 
(individuals or teams).

*Proposals should be submitted only at:*



*The proposal should include:*

  * Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  * Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual
    or a group;
  * Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  * Evidence of availability of the curricula materials to the teaching
    community (max 2 pages);
  * Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  * A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  * One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for
    example from school management or colleagues in the same or another


  * Abstract: May 1, 2015
  * Full proposal: June 1, 2015
  * Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2015

The Award will be presented at the 11th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/ecss-2015.html>, in Vienna, 
12-14 October 2015, where the winner or winners (one representative in 
the case of an institution) will be invited to give a talk on their 

Award Committee:*

  * Steve Furber, The University of Manchester (Chair)
  * Muffy Calder, University of Glasgow
  * Michael Caspersen, University of Aarhus
  * Christine Choppy, University of Paris 13
  * Michael Fourman, University of Edinburgh
  * Maciej Sysło, University of Wrocław & UMK, Toruń
  * Letizia Tanca, Politecnico di Milano

*Further inquiries:*
curriculum-award at informatics-europe.org 
<mailto:curriculum-award at informatics-europe.org>


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://web.satd.uma.es/pipermail/ecoop-info/attachments/20150319/18b656f5/attachment.html>

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list