[ecoop-info] SAFECOMP17 Call for Papers

Announcements of FME events events at fmeurope.org
Mon Dec 12 08:27:26 CET 2016

The 36th International Conference on Computer Safety, Reliability and Security
12 - 15 September 2017
Trento, Italy
Workshop proposal submission: 6 February 2017
Full paper submission: 28 February 2017
Notification of acceptance: May 8 2017
Camera-ready Submission:  12 June 2017
Conference: 13-15 September 2017

SAFECOMP Workshops:
 12 September 2017
IMBSA (International Symposium on Model-Based Safety Assessment):
 11-13 September 2017
SEFM (Intern. Conference on Software Engineering and Formal Methods):
 5-8 September 2017

SAFECOMP was established in 1979 by the European Workshop on
Industrial Computer Systems, Technical Committee 7 on Reliability,
Safety and Security (EWICS TC7). Since then, it has contributed to the
progress of the state-of-the-art in dependable application of
computers in safety-related and safety-critical systems.
SAFECOMP is an annual event covering the state-of-the-art, experience
and new trends in the areas of safety, security and reliability of
critical computer applications.
SAFECOMP provides ample opportunity to exchange insights and
experience on emerging methods, approaches and practical solutions. It
is a single track conference without parallel sessions, allowing easy

The conference covers all aspects related to the development,
assessment, operation and maintenance of safety-related and
safety-critical computer systems. Topics include, but are not
limited to:
* Fault-tolerant and resilient hardware and software architectures
* Fault detection and recovery mechanisms
* Distributed and real-time monitoring and control
* Security and privacy protection mechanisms for safety applications
* Safety/security risk assessment
* Model-based analysis, design, and assessment
* Formal methods for verification, validation, and fault tolerance
* Probabilistic verification and validation
* In-the-loop and model-based testing
* Validation and verification methodologies and tools
* Methods for qualification, assurance and certification
* Compositional verification and certification
* Architecture-driven assurance of safety and security
* Dependability analysis using simulation and experimental measurement
* Cyber-physical threats and vulnerability analysis
* Safety guidelines, standards and certification
* Safety and security interactions and tradeoffs
* Safety and security cases
* Multi-concern dependability assurance and standardization

Domains of application include (but are not limited to):
* Railways, automotive, space, avionics, nuclear and process industries
* Autonomous systems, advanced robotics, construction engines and
off-road vehicles
* Telecommunication and networks
* Safety-related applications of smart systems and IoT (Internet of Things, Smart Anything Everywhere)
* Critical infrastructures, smart grids, SCADA
* Medical devices and healthcare
* Defense, emergency & rescue
* Logistics, industrial automation, off-shore technology
* Education & training

Design, verification, and assurance of space systems.

The tradition of SAFECOMP is to act as a platform for bringing
academic research and industrial needs together. Therefore, industrial
contributions and real-world experience reports are explicitly
We solicit two types of papers:
1) regular papers (up to 14 pages),
2) practical experience reports and tool reports (up to 8 pages)
Papers exceeding the page limit will be excluded from the review
All papers will be reviewed by at least three program committee
members. Papers must not have been previously published or
concurrently submitted elsewhere.


All accepted papers will be published by Springer in the LNCS series
(Lecture Notes on Computer Science). Submitted papers must conform to
Springer LNCS author guidelines (www.springer.com/lncs). In addition,
extended versions of the best papers will be considered for
publication in a special issue of a safety-related international

It is planned to have one day for workshops. Workshop proposals are
welcome. The proposals must be sent by email to the SAFECOMP17
Workshop Chair (erwin.schoitsch at ait.ac.at). They should include
planned scope and contents, Program Committee, and duration (one full
or half day). SAFECOMP Workshop Proceedings are planned if a properly
reviewing process is implemented.
A dedicated space will be available for a Technical Exhibition in the
area where coffee breaks and lunches take place. Organizations wishing
to present their products or projects are invited to request further
information from the conference secretariat.


Francesca Saglietti (Univ. of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE)

General and Program Co-Chairs
Erwin Schoitsch (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, AT)
Stefano Tonetta (FBK, IT)

Publication Chair
Friedemann Bitsch (Thales, DE)

Local Organizing Committee
Annalisa Armani (FBK, IT)
Silvia Malesardi (FBK, IT)

Workshop Chair
Erwin Schoitsch (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, AT)

International Program Committee
Thomas Arts (Quviq, SE)
Peter Bishop (Adelard, UK)
Friedemann Bitsch (Thales, DE)
Jean-Paul Blanquart (Airbus Defence and Space, FR)
Sandro Bologna (AIIC, IT)
Andrea Bondavalli (University of Florence, IT)
Jens Braband (Siemens, DE)
António	Casimiro (University of Lisbon, PT)
Peter Daniel (EWICS TC7, UK)
Ewen Denney (SGT/NASA Ames, US)
Felicita Di Giandomenico (ISTI-CNR, IT)
Wolfgang Ehrenberger (HS Fulda, DE)
John Favaro (Intecs, IT)
Alberto	Ferrari (UTRC, IT)
Francesco Flammini (Ansaldo STS, IT)
Barbara	Gallina (Mälardalen University, SE)
Ilir Gashi (City University London, UK)
Janusz Gorski (Gdansk University of Technology, PL)
Jérémie	Guiochet (LAAS-CNRS, FR)
Wolfgang Halang (Fernuniversität in Hagen, DE)
Maritta	Heisel (University of Duisburg-Essen, DE)
Chris Johnson (University of Glasgow, UK)
Bernhard Kaiser (Berner&Mattner, DE)
Karama Kanoun (LAAS-CNRS, FR)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH Aachen University, DE)
Tim Kelly (University of York, UK)
John Knight (University of Virginia, US)
Floor Koornneef (TU Delft, NL)
Timo Latvala (Space Systems Finland, FI)
Silvia Mazzini (Intecs, IT)
John McDermid (University of York, UK)
Frank Ortmeier (Otto-von-Guericke-Universitaet Magdeburg, DE)
Philippe Palanque (University of Toulouse, FR)
Michael	Paulitsch (Thales Austria, AT)
Holger Pfeifer (fortiss, DE)
Thomas Pfeiffenberger (Salzburg Research, AT)
Peter Popov (City University London, UK)
Laurent	Rioux (Thales R&T, FR)
Alexander Romanovsky (Newcastle University, UK)
Matteo Rossi (Politecnico di Milano, IT)
Kristin Yvonne Rozier (Iowa State University, US)
John Rushby (SRI International, US)
Francesca Saglietti (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, DE)
Christoph Schmitz (Zühlke Engineering, CH)
Erwin Schoitsch (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, AT)
Christel Seguin (ONERA, FR)
Amund Skavhaug (NTNU, NO)
Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, US)
Wilfried Steiner (TTTech, AT)
Mark-Alexander Sujan (University of Warwick, UK)
Stefano	Tonetta (FBK, IT)
Martin Törngren (KTH, SE)
Mario Trapp (Fraunhofer, DE)
Elena Troubitsyna (Aabo Akademi, FI)
Tullio Vardanega (University of Padua, IT)
Marcel Verhoef (European Space Agency, NL)
Helene Waeselynck (LAAS-CNRS, FR)

events mailing list
events at fmeurope.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list