[ecoop-info] Call for Nominations: The 2016 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation

European Association of Computer Science Logic eacsl at kahle.ch
Sat Jan 23 14:36:16 CET 2016

The 2016 Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and 

Call for Nominations


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding 
Contributions to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the 
ACM Special Interest Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the 
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the 
European Association for Computer Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt 
Gödel Society (KGS). The award is for an outstanding contribution 
represented by a paper or by a small group of papers published within 
the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact and depth of 
the contribution to have been established. The award can be given to an 
individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated on the 
research. For the rules governing this award, see 

Eligibility and Nominations

The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published 
within the past 25 years. Thus, for the 2016 award, the cut-off date is 
January 1, 1991. When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a 
journal, the date of the journal publication will determine the cut-off 
date. In addition, the contribution must not yet have received 
recognition via a major award, such as the Turing Award, the Kanellakis 
Award, or the Gödel Prize. (The nominee(s) may have received such awards 
for other contributions.) While the contribution can consist of 
conference or journal papers, journal papers will be given a preference.

Nominations for the 2016 award are now being solicited. The nominating 
letter must summarize the contribution and make the case that it is 
fundamental and outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple 
co-signers. Self-nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a 
proposed citation (up to 25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) 
description of the contribution; and a detailed statement (not exceeding 
four pages) to justify the nomination. Nominations may also be 
accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of worthiness.

Nominations are due by March 1, 2016, and should be submitted to 
vardi at cs.rice.edu.

Presentation of the Award

The 2016 award will be presented at LICS, the flagship conference of 
SIGLOG. The award will be accompanied by an invited lecture by the award 
winner, or by one of the award winners. The awardee(s) will receive a 
certificate and a cash prize of USD 2,000. If there are multiple 
awardees, this amount will be shared.

Award Committee

The 2016 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following four 
members: Catuscia Palamidessi, Gordon Plotkin, Wolfgang Thomas, and 
Moshe Vardi (chair).

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list