[ecoop-info] Call for Nominations - 1st Minerva Informatics Equality Award

Inge van Halst inge.van.halst at informatics-europe.org
Thu Mar 10 14:51:08 CET 2016

1st Minerva Informatics Equality Award
2016 Edition
"Developing the Careers of Female Faculty"

Presented by Informatics Europe
Sponsored by Google

Call for Nominations now open.


Informatics Europe proudly announces the first Minerva Informatics 
Equality Award 
(http://www.informatics-europe.org/services/minerva-award.html) devoted 
to initiatives which seek to encourage and support the careers of women 
in Informatics research and education.
The first of this annual award will be made in October 2016 and will be 
sponsored by Google.

The Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognizes best practices in 
Departments or Faculties of European universities or research labs that 
have been demonstrated to have a positive impact for women.
On a three-year cycle the award will focus each year on a different 
stage of the career pipeline:

  * Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention
    and promotion;
  * Supporting the transition for PhD and postdoctoral researchers
    into faculty positions;
  * Encouraging female students to enroll in Computer
    Science/Informatics programmes and retaining them.

The 2016 Award is devoted to gender equality initiatives and policies to 
develop the careers of female faculty.

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a 
measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such 
initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the 
community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other 
institutions. Nominations will need to demonstrate the impact that has 
been achieved. For 2016 examples of impact could include an improved 
success rate in recruiting, retaining and promoting female staff, 
increased satisfaction scores from objective surveys of staff 
experience, achievement of “beacon” status (i.e. being used as an 
exemplar within national or regional initiatives).

This Google-sponsored Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000.

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for 
further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, nominated 
institutions must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated 
with members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award panel are 
not eligible. The Award panel will review and evaluate each proposal. It 
reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different 
proposals. Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be included as 
exemplars of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.

Proposals should be submitted only at: 

The proposal should include:

  * Contact information for the Head of the nominated Department or
    Faculty and the nominator (who can be the same)
  * A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be
    made public
  * Description of the initiative (max 2 pages)
  * Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages)
  * An optional reference list (which may include URLs of
    supporting material)
  * Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of
    support may come, for example, from female staff members who have
    benefited from the scheme


  * Public summary: May 1, 2016
  * Full nominations: June 1, 2016
  * Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2016

The Award will be presented at the 12th European Computer Science Summit 
(ECSS), in Budapest, October 24-26, 2016, where a representative of the 
winning institution will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Panel:

  * Micheline Beaulieu, Emeritus Professor of Information Science,
    University of Sheffield, UK (Chair)
  * Erika Abraham, Professor of Hybrid Systems, RWTH Aachen
    University, Germany
  * Luca Aceto, Professor of Computer Science, Reykjavik
    University, Iceland
  * Christine Choppy, Professor of Logic, Calculi and Reasoning,
    University of Paris Nord, France
  * John Clark, Professor of Critical Systems, University of York, UK
  * Dunja Mladenic, Professor of Artificial Intelligence, Jozef
    Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  * Pierangela Samarati, Professor of Information Technologies,
    University of Milan, Italy

Further inquiries: minerva-award at informatics-europe.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list