[ecoop-info] Call for Submissions: 2016 Best Practices in Education Award

Inge van Halst inge.van.halst at informatics-europe.org
Tue Mar 22 15:15:07 CET 2016

2016 Best Practices in Education Award

Presented by Informatics Europe
Sponsored by Microsoft Research

Call for Submissions now Open

Informatics Europe proudly announces its 2016 Best Practices in 
Education Award 
devoted to initiatives promoting informatics education in primary and 
secondary schools.

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes 
outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of 
informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can 
be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

The 2016 Award will reward a successful teaching effort in Europe that:

  * has made a measurable difference in informatics education in schools
  * is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community
  * has made a measurable impact in its original institution(s) and beyond

Examples of impact include course results, student projects, textbooks, 
professional development, and influence on the curriculum of other 

The 2016 Award is devoted to curriculum and professional development 
initiatives for promoting informatics in schools as a mandatory subject 
for all students. Initiatives at the (upper) secondary level are 
particularly encouraged. The Award will honor original contributions 
that emphasize successful initiatives for teaching of informatics 
fundamentals in schools. Experiences and reports showing how to use 
software or hardware tools in order to improve learning in other 
disciplines than informatics will not be considered.

The Award, funded through a generous grant from Microsoft, carries a 
prize of EUR 5,000.

The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, 
participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int), or Israel. Members of 
the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not 
eligible.The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It 
reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different 
proposals (individuals or teams).

Proposals should be submitted only at: 

The proposal should include:
  * Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  * Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual
    or a group;
  * Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  * Evidence of availability of the curricula materials to the teaching
    community (max 2 pages);
  * Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  * A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  * One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for
    example from school management or colleagues in the same or another


  * Abstract: May 1, 2016
  * Full proposal: June 1, 2016
  * Notification of winner(s):August 1, 2016

The Award will be presented at the 12th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/ecss-2016.html>, in Budapest, 
24-26 October 2016, where the winner or winners (one representative in 
the case of an institution) will be invited to give a talk on their 

Award Committee:

  * Michael E. Caspersen, Aarhus University (Chair)
  * Gerard Berry, Collège de France
  * Muffy Calder, University of Glasgow
  * Judith Gal-Ezer, The Open University of Israel
  * Mark Guzdial, Georgia Institute of Technology
  * Lauri Malmi, Aalto University
  * Carsten Schulte, Paderborn University
  * Letizia Tanca, Politecnico di Milano

Further inquiries:
education-award at informatics-europe.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list