[ecoop-info] Call for Nominations - 2017 Minerva Informatics Equality Award

Inge van Halst inge.van.halst at informatics-europe.org
Tue Feb 28 12:00:09 CET 2017

*Minerva Informatics Equality Award 

*2017 Edition*

*"Supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers 
into faculty positions"*

*Presented by Informatics Europe*

*Sponsored by Google*

*Call for Nominations Now Open 


Informatics Europe proudly announces the second Minerva Informatics 
Equality Award devoted to initiatives which seek to encourage and 
support the careers of women in Informatics research and education. The 
second of this annual award will be presented in October 2017 and is 
sponsored by Google.

The Informatics Europe Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognizes 
best practices in Departments or Faculties of European universities or 
research labs that have been demonstrated to have a positive impact for 
women. On a three-year cycle the award will focus each year on a 
different stage of the career pipeline:

  * Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and
  * Supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers
    into faculty positions;
  * Encouraging female students to enroll in Computer
    Science/Informatics programmes and retaining them.

**The 2017 Award is devoted to initiatives supporting the transition of 
female PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions.**

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a 
measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such 
initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the 
community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other 
institutions. Nominations will need to demonstrate the impact that has 
been achieved.

*For 2017 examples of impact could include an improved career 
development and better agreements on career planning for female PhD 
students and postdocs as recorded in objective surveys of staff 
experience, and increasing numbers of female faculty.*

*The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000*

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for 
further work on supporting the transition of female PhD or post-docs to 
faculty positions. To be eligible, nominated institutions must be 
located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the 
Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated with members of 
the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award panel are not eligible.

The Award panel will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the 
right to split the prize between at most two different proposals. 
Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be included as exemplars of 
best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.

*Proposals should be submitted only at:*


*The proposal should include:*

  * Contact information for the Head of the nominated Department or
    Faculty and the nominator (who can be the same);
  * A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be
    made public.
  * Description of the initiative (max 2 pages);
  * Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages);
  * An optional reference list (which may include URLs of
    supporting material);
  * Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of
    support may come, for example, from female staff members who have
    benefited from the scheme.


  * Full nominations: June 1, 2017
  * Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2017

The Award will be presented at the 13th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/home.html>, in Lisbon, October 
23-25, 2017, where a representative of the winning institution(s) will 
be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

*Award Panel:*

  * Christine Choppy, Professor of Informatics, University Paris 13
    (SPC), France (Chair)
  * Serge Abiteboul, Senior Researcher, Inria, France (co-chair Comité
  * Tibor Bosse, Associate Professor of Informatics, VU University
    Amsterdam, Netherlands (Gender Equality Officer)
  * Gyöngyi Bujdosó, Professor of Informatics, University Debrecen, Hungary
  * Monica Divitini, Professor in Cooperation Technologies, IDI-NTNU, Norway
  * Anna Ingólfsdóttir, Professor of Informatics, University Reykjavik,
  * Mema Roussopoulos, Associate Professor of Computer Science,
    University of Athens, Greece
  * Letizia Tanca, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering,
    Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy

*Further inquiries:*

minerva-award at informatics-europe.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list