[ecoop-info] Ackermann Award 2017

European Association of Computer Science Logic eacsl at kahle.ch
Mon Jan 9 12:04:28 CET 2017


Nominations are now invited for the 2017 Ackermann Award.
PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS
conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a
university or equivalent institution between 1.1.2015 and 31.12.2016
are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission
is 1 April 2017.
Submission details follow below.
Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2017 and should be sent
to the chair of the Jury, Anuj Dawar, by e-mail:anuj.dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk

The Award
The 2017 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the
annual conference of the EACSL, 20-24 August 2017, in Stockholm
The award consists of

      * a certificate,
      * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL/LICS conference,
      * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL/LICS proceedings, and
      * travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.

The jury consists of:

      * Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge), the president of EACSL;
      * Dale Miller (INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique), ACM SigLog
      * Orna Kupferman (Hebrew University of Jerusalem);
      * Daniel Leivant (Indiana University, Bloomington);
      * Luke Ong (University of Oxford);
      * Jean-Eric Pin (CNRS and University of Paris 7);
      * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the
vice-president of EACSL;
      * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund).

How to submit
The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

     1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
     2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
     3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Anuj Dawar
(anuj.dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk);
     4. a short CV of the candidate;
     5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman
of the jury, Anuj Dawar:
anuj.dawar at cl.cam.ac.uk
With the following subject line and text:

      * Subject: Ackermann Award Submission
      * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text. Letters of support and documents can
also be faxed to:
Anuj Dawar
Ackermann Award
+44 1223 334678

The Jury has the right to declare submissions to be out of scope or not
to meet the requirements.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list