[ecoop-info] ACM Workshop: SafeThings 2017 Call for Papers (Co-located with SenSys)

BHARATHAN BALAJI bbalaji at ucla.edu
Thu Jun 8 06:57:07 CEST 2017

— Our sincere apologies if you receive duplicates of the call —
Dear Colleagues,

Please see below the Call for Papers for ACM SafeThings 2017.
We enthusiastically look forward to your submissions on advancements in the
safety of the Internet of Things ecosystem.

1st ACM Workshop on the Internet of Safe Things (SafeThings 2017)
November 5, 2017 at TU Delft, The Netherlands
Co-located with ACM SenSys 2017

As the traditionally segregated systems are brought online for next
generation connected applications, we have an opportunity to significantly
improve the safety of legacy systems. For instance, insights from data
across systems can be exploited to reduce accidents, improve air quality
and support disaster events. Cyber-physical systems (CPS) also bring new
risks that arise due to the unexpected interaction between systems. These
safety risks arise because of information that distracts users while
driving, software errors in medical devices, corner cases in data-driven
control, compromised sensors in drones or conflicts in societal policies.

Accordingly, the Internet of Safe Things workshop (or SafeThings, for
brevity) seeks to bring researchers and practitioners that are actively
exploring system design, modeling, verification, authentication approaches
to provide safety guarantees in the Internet of Things (IoT). The workshop
welcomes contributions that integrate hardware and software systems
provided by disparate vendors, particularly those that have humans in the
loop. As safety is inherently linked with the security and privacy, we also
seek contributions in security and privacy that address safety concerns.
With the SafeThings workshop, we seek to develop a community that
systematically dissects the vulnerabilities and risks exposed by these
emerging CPSes, and create tools, algorithms, frameworks and systems that
help in the development of safe systems.

SafeThings workshop covers safety topics as it relates to an individual’s
health (physical, mental), the society (air pollution, toxicity, disaster
events), or the environment (species preservation, global warming, oil
spills). The workshop considers safety from a human perspective, and thus,
does not include topics such as thread safety or memory safety in its scope.

Our workshop will cover, but not limit itself to, the following subject
- Verification of safety in IoT platforms
- Privacy preserving data sharing and analysis
- Compliance with legal, health and environmental policies
- Integration of hardware and software systems
- Conflict resolution between IoT applications
- Safety in human-in-the-loop systems
- Support for IoT development - debugging tools, emulators, testbeds
- Usable security and privacy for IoT platforms
- Resiliency against attacks and faults
- Secure connectivity in IoT

Our workshop will cover, but not limit itself to, the following domains:
autonomous vehicles and transportation infrastructure; medical CPS and
public health; smart buildings, smart grid and smart cities.

Submission Types:
We solicit two types of original submissions:
  * Regular papers for oral presentation (6 pages)
  * Technical posters and demos (1 page)

Important Dates:
Abstract Submission Deadline: July 14, 2017 (11.59 PM AoE)
Paper Submission Deadline: July 21, 2017 (11.59 PM AoE)
Poster and demo submission deadline: July 21, 2017 (11.59 PM AoE)
Acceptance Notification: August 21, 2017
Camera-ready versions: September 10, 2017

Organizing Committee:

General Chairs:
Patrick Tague (Carnegie Mellon University)
Bharathan Balaji (University of California, Los Angeles)

Program Chairs:
Mani Srivastava (University of California, Los Angeles)
Yuan Tian (Carnegie Mellon University)

Poster and Demo Chair:
Houssam Abbas (University of Pennsylvania)

Publication Chair:
Rasit Eskicioglu (University of Manitoba)

SenSys Workshop Chair:
Xiaofan (Fred) Jiang (Columbia University, USA)

Technical Program Committee:
Blase Ur (University of Chicago)
Xiao Feng Wang (Indiana Bloomington)
Xinyu Xing (Penn State)
Paulo Tabuada (University of California, Los Angeles)
Supriyo Chakraborty (IBM Research)
Muhammad Naveed (University of Southern California)
Yasser Shoukry (University of California, Berkeley)
Yuvraj Agarwal (Carnegie Mellon University)
Rajesh Gupta (University of California, San Diego)
Brad Campbell (University of Virginia)
John Stankovic (University of Virginia)
Madhur Behl (University of Virginia)
Houssam Abbas (University of Pennsylvania)
Insup Lee (University of Pennsylvania)
João Vilela (University of Coimbra)
Eric Wustrow (Colorado Boulder)
Richard Han (Colorado Boulder)
Lu Feng (University of Virginia)
Earlence Fernandes (University of Michigan)
Falko Dressler (Paderborn University)
Jie Liu (Microsoft Research)
Kay Roemer (TU Graz)
Nic Lane (University College London)
Fang-Jing Wu (NEC Lab)
Jyotrimoy Deshmukh (Toyota)
Saman Zonouz (Rutgers University)
Haixin Duan (Tsinghua University)
Yutaka Arakawa (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)
Ingrid Verbauwhede (KU Leuven)
Stefano Zanero (Politecnico di Milano)
Thorsten Holz (Ruhr University Bochum)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list