[ecoop-info] MEMOCODE-2017 (Deadline Extension)

Klaus.Schneider at informatik.uni-kl.de Klaus.Schneider at informatik.uni-kl.de
Thu May 11 14:52:39 CEST 2017

                          -- Final Call for Papers --
                            -- Deadline Extension --

                                 15th ACM/IEEE
                            International Conference
                  Formal Methods and Models for System Design

                September 29 - October 2, 2017, Vienna, Austria

                                co-located with

                            International Conference
                     Formal Methods in Computer-Aided Design

    Submission deadline (abstract): May 19, 2017 (no further extension possible)
    Submission deadline (paper): May 26, 2017 (no further extension possible)
    Notification of acceptance: July 10, 2017
    Final version of papers: July 28, 2017

    * Thomas A. Henzinger, http://pub.ist.ac.at/~tah
    * Alessandro Abate, https://www.cs.ox.ac.uk/people/alessandro.abate
    * Franz-Josef Grosch, Research Campus, Robert Bosch GmbH

TUTORIAL DAY (shared with FMCAD)
    October 2, 2017

MEMOCODE’s objective is to bring together researchers and practitioners
interested in formal methods and models for system design and development to
exchange ideas, research results, and lessons learned. System design covers the
development of hardware, firmware, middleware, and application software for
systems ranging from single embedded devices to highly networked CPS and systems
in the IoT. In particular, MEMOCODE 2017 seeks research contributions on formal
foundations, engineering methods, tools, and experimental case studies. Research
areas of interest include, but are not limited to the following:

 * Modeling Languages, Methods and Tools:
    Programming languages and models; software and system modeling languages;
    architecture and high-level hardware description languages; timing models;
    model and program synthesis methods; model transformation methods

 * Formal Methods and Tools:
    Correct-by-construction methods; contract-based design and verification;
    static, dynamic, and type theoretic analysis; verification; validation;
    probabilistic model checking; test generation; refinement-based and
    compositional approaches to design and verification

 * Models and Methods for Developing Critical Systems:
    Fault-tolerant systems; security-critical and safety-critical systems;
    cyber-physical systems; hybrid systems; autonomous systems;
    self-adapting systems

 * Quantitative/Qualitative Reasoning:
    Power/performance/cost/latency estimation methods;
    system models for quantitative design space exploration

 * Formal Methods/Models in Practice:
    Design case studies; empirical case studies


MEMOCODE 2017 calls for three kinds of submissions: regular papers, work in
progress papers, and tool presentations. All papers must be written in English
and formatted according to the following IEEE Computer Society guidelines.
Submission of papers is handled via Easychair

  * Regular papers must be no longer than 10 pages and must describe original
    work that does not overlap with another publication or a submission under
    review or accepted for publication by any other conference or journal.
    Reviewers will check regular papers for the novelty of the proposed
    solution and the proofs given for the claims made. One of the authors has
    to present the paper at the conference.

  * Work-in-progress (WIP) papers must be no longer than 4 pages and must
    describe ongoing work. Reviewers will judge the novelty of the idea, but do
    not yet expect proofs for the envisioned results. WIP papers will be
    presented by one of the authors during a poster presentation at the

  * Tool papers must be no longer than 8 pages and should describe an existing
    and publicly available tool that implements relevant methods. The methods
    might have been published before, but the tool should not have been
    described in a tool paper previously. In addition to reviewing the paper,
    reviewers will assess the tool itself using inputs and a user's manual
    provided by the authors on the tool's web page. One of the authors has to
    present the paper at the conference.

For questions regarding technical submissions, feel free to contact one of the
Program Committee co-chairs:
    * Patricia Derler (patricia.derler at ni.com)
    * Klaus Schneider (klaus.schneider at cs.uni-kl.de).

All accepted papers (regular paper, WIP papers, and tool papers) will be
published as IEEE conference proceedings in IEEE Xplore. For all three paper
categories, publication is contingent on one author registering for and
presenting the paper at the conference. Selected papers will be invited for
publication in a special issue of ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems.

    Patricia Derler, National Instruments Corporation
    Klaus Schneider, University of Kaiserslautern

    Jean-Pierre Talpin, IRISA

    Yi Deng, Virginia Tech

    Paul Attie, American University of Beirut
    Marco Bekooij, University of Twente
    Jani Boutellier, Tampere University of Technology
    Jens Brandt, Hochschule Niederrhein
    Sudipta Chattopadhyay, Singapore University of Technology and Design
    Silviu Craciunas, TTTech Computertechnik AG
    Jyotirmoy Deshmukh, Toyota Technical Center
    Stephen Edwards, Columbia University
    Mamoun Filali-Amine, IRIT
    Martin Fraenzle, Carl von Ossietzky Universitaet Oldenburg
    Franco Fummi, University of Verona
    Abdoulaye Gamatie, CNRS
    Marc Geilen, Eindhoven University of Technology
    Leonard Gerard, ENS
    Gregor Goessler, INRIA
    Tuba Kahveci, University of Florida
    Rick Kuhn, Natl Institute of Standards & Technology
    Sudipta Kundu, Synopsis
    Luciano Lavagno, Politecnico di Torino
    Axel Legay, IRISA/INRIA, Rennes
    Elizabeth Leonard, Naval Research Laboratory
    Thanhvu Nguyen, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
    Pierluigi Nuzzo, University of Southern California
    John O'Leary, Intel Corporation
    Roberto Passerone, University of Trento
    Maxime Pelcat, IETR/INSA
    Doron Peled, Bar Ilan University
    Andre Platzer, Carnegie Mellon University
    Murali Rangarajan, The Boeing Company
    Sanjai Rayadurgam, University of Minnesota
    Elvinia Riccobene, University of Milan
    Partha Roop, University of Auckland
    Neda Saeedloei, University of Texas at Dallas
    Aviral Shrivastava, Arizona State University
    Sandeep Shukla, IIT Kanpur
    Marjan Sirjani, Reykjavik University
    Juergen Teich, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
    Stavros Tripakis, University of California, Berkeley
    Muralidaran Vijayaraghavan, MIT
    Reinhard von Hanxleden, Christian-Albrechts-Universitaet zu Kiel
    Qi Zhu, UC Riverside
    Damian Zufferey, MPI Software Systems

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list