[ecoop-info] CfP: Formal Techniques for Java-like Programs (FTfJP 2018) @ ECOOP/ISSTA 2018 in Amsterdam

Summers Alexander John alexander.summers at inf.ethz.ch
Thu Feb 8 18:46:20 CET 2018

(Please distribute to interested PL parties - apologies for any cross postings)
Workshop website: https://conf.researchr.org/track/ecoop-issta-2018/FTfJP-2018-papers
Formal techniques can help analyze programs, precisely describe program behavior, and verify program properties. Languages such as Java, C#, and Scala are interesting targets for formal techniques due to their ubiquity and wide user base, stable and well-defined interfaces and platforms, and powerful (but also complex) libraries. New languages and applications in this space are continually arising, resulting in new PL research challenges.
Work on formal techniques and tools and on the formal underpinnings of programming languages themselves naturally complement each other. FTfJP is an established workshop which has run annually since 1999 alongside ECOOP, with the goal of bringing together people working in both fields. The workshop has a broad PL theme; the most important criterion is that submissions will generate interesting discussions within this community. Example topics of interest include:

  *   Language design and semantics
  *   Type systems
  *   Concurrency and new application domains
  *   Specification and verification of program properties
  *   Program analysis (static or dynamic)
  *   Security
  *   Pearls (programs or proofs)
FTfJP welcomes submissions on technical contributions, case studies, experience reports, challenge proposals, and position papers. Just as the number and the feature set of Java-like languages is expanding, the term "Java-like" should be interpreted broadly.


Contributions related to formal techniques for Java-like programs are sought in two categories:

Full Papers. In 6 two-column pages, the paper should present a technical contribution, case study, or detailed experience report. We welcome both complete and incomplete technical results; ongoing work is particularly welcome, provided it is substantial enough to stimulate interesting discussions.

Short Papers. In 2 two-column pages, the paper should advocate a promising research direction, or otherwise present a position likely to stimulate discussion at the workshop. We encourage e.g. established researchers to set out a personal vision, and beginning researchers to present a planned path to a PhD.

Both types of contributions will benefit from feedback received at the workshop. Submissions will be peer reviewed, and will be evaluated based on their clarity and based on their potential to generate interesting discussions. The format of the workshop encourages interaction. FTfJP is a forum in which a wide range of people share their expertise, from experienced researchers to beginning PhD students.

Accepted papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library by default, though authors will be able to opt out of this publication, if desired. The use of ACM's template for the SIGPLAN format<http://www.acm.org/publications/proceedings-template> is required. At least one author of an accepted paper must attend the workshop to present the work and participate in the discussions.

Important Dates:

  *   Wed 9th May AOE<https://www.timeanddate.com/time/zones/aoe>: submission deadline
  *   Thu 14th Jun: acceptance notifications
  *   Sun 17th Jun: early registration deadline (for both main conferences and workshops)

Paper submission website: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ftfjp2018

Program Committee

William J. Bowman (Northeastern University)
John Tang Boyland (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini (Università di Torino, Italy)
Erik Ernst (Google, Aarhus)
Juliana Franco (Imperial College London)
Timothy Jones (Montoux)
Laura Kovacs (Vienna University of Technology, Austria and Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Siddharth Krishna (New York University)
Oded Padon (Tel Aviv University)
Matthew Parkinson (Microsoft Research Cambridge)
Guido Salvaneschi (Technical University of Darmstadt)
Alexander J. Summers (ETH Zurich)
Elena Zucca (DIBRIS, University of Genova)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list