[ecoop-info] Ackermann Award 2018

European Association of Computer Science Logic eacsl at kahle.ch
Wed Mar 21 18:30:27 CET 2018



Nominations are now invited for the 2018 Ackermann Award.
PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS
conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a
university or equivalent institution between 1.1.2016 and 31.12.2017
are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission
is 4 April 2018.
Submission details follow below.
Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2018 and should be sent
to the chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail: 
thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de

The Award
The 2018 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at the
annual conference of the EACSL, 4-7 September 2018, in Birmingham

The award consists of

     * a certificate,
     * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
     * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings, and
     * travel support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.

The jury consists of:

     * Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
     * Mikolaj Bojanczyk (University of Warsaw);
     * Anuj Dawar (University of Cambridge);
     * Dexter Kozen (Cornell University);
     * Dale Miller (INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique), ACM SigLog 
     * Luke Ong (University of Oxford);
     * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the 
vice-president of EACSL;
     * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund), the president of EACSL.

How to submit
The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

    1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
    2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
    3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick
(thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de);
    4. a short CV of the candidate;
    5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman
of the jury, Thomas Schwentick:
thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de

With the following subject line and text:

     * Subject: Ackermann Award 2018 Submission
     * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list