[ecoop-info] June 1 Submission Deadline for 2018 Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award

Svetlana Tikhonenko svetlana.tikhonenko at informatics-europe.org
Mon May 7 11:48:33 CEST 2018

*Best Practices in Education Award* 
*2018 Edition
**"Transforming Informatics Education"*
*Presented by Informatics Europe
**Sponsored by Microsoft*
*Call for Submissions Still Open 
Informatics Europe is still accepting submissions for its 2018 Best 
Practices in Education Award devoted to *initiatives transforming 
Informatics education.*

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes 
outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of 
Informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can 
be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

The Award rewards a successful teaching effort in Europe that:

  * has made a measurable difference in Informatics education;
  * is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community;
  * has made a measurable impact in its original institution(s) and beyond.

Examples of impact include course results, traditional and online 
courses, learners’ projects, textbooks, professional development, and 
influence on the curriculum of other institutions/countries.

*The 2018 Award is devoted to* *European educational innovation that 
transforms Informatics teaching***in the classroom or beyond, at school 
or university level, or outside of institutions. Innovation may be 
technology-based (for example using instructional technologies, MOOCs, 
learning analytics, etc.) or pedagogical. The Award will honour original 
contributions that focus on innovative Informatics teaching practice.

Experiences and reports showing how to use software or hardware tools in 
order to improve learning in other disciplines than Informatics will not 
be considered.

*The Award is sponsored by Microsoft and carries a prize of EUR 5,000.**

Submissions: *
The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, 
participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int), or Israel. Members of 
the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible.
The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves 
the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals 
(individuals or teams).

Proposals should be submitted only at:*

The proposal should include:*

  * Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  * Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual
    or a group;
  * Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  * Evidence of availability of the outcomes of the initiative to the
    teaching community (max 2 pages);
  * Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  * A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  * One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for
    example from school or university management, associations, or
    colleagues in the same or another institution.


  * Proposal: June 1, 2018
  * Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2018

The Award will be presented at the 14th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/home.html>, in Gothenburg, 
Sweden, 8-10 October 2018, where the winner or winners (one 
representative in the case of an institution) will be invited to give a 
talk on their achievements.
Award Committee:*

  * Michael Kölling, King's College London, UK (Chair)
  * Michal Armoni, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  * Tim Bell, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  * Peter Hubwieser, Technische Universität München, Germany
  * Peter McOwen, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  * Arnold Pears, Uppsala Universitet, Sweden
  * Jan Vahrenhold, Universität Münster, Germany

*Further inquiries:
*education-award at informatics-europe.org 
<mailto:education-award at informatics-europe.org>

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list