[ecoop-info] Ackermann Award 2019: Call for Nominations

Thomas Schwentick thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de
Sun Jan 6 17:57:56 CET 2019


Nominations are now invited for the 2019 Ackermann Award.
PhD dissertations in topics specified by the CSL and LICS
conferences, which were formally accepted as PhD theses at a
university or equivalent institution between 1.1.2017 and 31.12.2018
are eligible for nomination for the award. The deadline for submission
is 1 April 2019. Submission details follow below.

Nominations can be submitted from 1 January 2019 and should be sent
to the chair of the Jury, Thomas Schwentick, by e-mail: thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de

The Award

The 2019 Ackermann award will be presented to the recipient(s) at CSL
2020, the annual conference of the EACSL, 13-16 January 2020, in Barcelona.

The award consists of

    * a certificate,
    * an invitation to present the thesis at the CSL conference,
    * the publication of the laudatio in the CSL proceedings, and
    * financial support to attend the conference.

The jury is entitled to give the award to more (or less) than one
dissertation in a year.


The jury consists of:

  * Christel Baier (TU Dresden);
  * Michael Benedikt (Oxford University);
  * Mikolaj Bojanczyk (University of Warsaw);
  * Jean Goubault-Larrecq (ENS Paris-Saclay);
  * Dexter Kozen (Cornell University);
  * Dale Miller (INRIA and Ecole Polytechnique), ACM SigLog representative;
  * Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (University of Torino), the vice-president of EACSL;
  * Thomas Schwentick (TU Dortmund) , the president of EACSL.

How to submit

The candidate or his/her supervisor should submit

   1. the thesis (ps or pdf file);
   2. a detailed description (not longer than 20 pages) of the thesis
in ENGLISH (ps or pdf file);
   3. a supporting letter by the PhD advisor and two supporting letters
by other senior researchers (in English);
supporting letters can also be sent directly to Thomas Schwentick
(thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de);
   4. a short CV of the candidate;
   5. a copy of the document asserting that the thesis was accepted as
a PhD thesis at a recognized University (or equivalent institution) and
that the candidate has received his/her PhD within the specified period.

The submission should be sent by e-mail as attachments to the chairman
of the jury, Thomas Schwentick:
thomas.schwentick at tu-dortmund.de

With the following subject line and text:

    * Subject: Ackermann Award 2019 Submission
    * Text: Name of candidate, list of attachments

Submission can be sent via several e-mail messages. If this is the case,
please indicate it in the text.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list