[ecoop-info] EAPLS PhD Award 2018: Call for Nominations

Andreas Wortmann wortmann at se-rwth.de
Mon Jul 15 12:30:55 CEST 2019

EAPLS PhD Award 2018: Call for Nominations

URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS)
has established a Best Dissertation Award in the international
research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go
to the Ph.D. student who in the previous period has made the most
original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the
award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of
the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD
* at an academic institution in Europe
* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
* in the period from 1 January 2018 – 31 December 2018


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor.
Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the nomination to
https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ep18. The nomination must
consist of a single PDF file containing
* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be
considered for the award;
* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of
the thesis at its defense; and
* the thesis itself.
The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence,
relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.

Questions can be directed to the Ph.D. award chairs, at ep18 at easychair.org.


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international
committee of experts. The procedure to be followed is analogous to the
review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and
the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The
final decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation
of the expert committee.

Members of the expert committee and the EAPLS board are barred from
nominating their own Ph.D. students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have
received the EAPLS Ph.D. award 2018 and the supervisor will receive a
copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed
out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be
published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding,
and will not be subject to discussion.

Important Dates

30 August 2019:       Deadline for nominations
1 December 2019:    Announcement of the award winner

Expert Committee

The expert committee includes:

* Eerke Boiten, De Montfort University, UK
* Luis Caires, FCT / Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
* Marco Carbone, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
* Paolo Ciancarini, Dipartimento di Scienze dell'Informazione,
Università di Bologna, Italy
* Stefano Crespi Reghizzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
* Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
* Mariangiola Dezani, Universitá di Torino, Italy
* JosuKa Díaz Labrador, Universidad de Deusto, Spain
* Maribel Fernández, King's College London, UK
* Maurizio Gabbrielli, University of Bologna, Italy
* Sabine Glesner, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
* Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa
* Jens Knoop, TU Vienna, Austria
* Ralf Lämmel, University of Koblenz, Germany
* Tiziana Margaria, University of Limerick, Ireland
* Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University, UK
* Alan Mycroft, University of Cambridge, UK
* Ricardo Peña, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
* Matteo Pradella, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
* Gunter Saake, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Germany
* Ana Sokolova, Universität Salzburg, Austria
* Bernhard Steffen, Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany
* Mark Van Den Brand, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
* Marko Van Eekelen, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
* Peter Van Roy, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
* Andreas Wortmann, RWTH Aachen University, Germany (chair)

Dr. Andreas Wortmann                              | Software Engineering
Ahornstr. 55, 52074 Aachen, Germany     | RWTH Aachen University
Phone +49 (241) 80-21346 / Fax -22218     | http://www.se-rwth.de

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list