[ecoop-info] June 1 Submission Deadline for 2019 Minerva Informatics Equality Award

Svetlana Tikhonenko svetlana.tikhonenko at informatics-europe.org
Mon May 6 13:15:11 CEST 2019

*Minerva Informatics Equality Award* 
*2019 Edition*
*'Developing the Careers of Female Faculty'*
*Presented by Informatics Europe*
*Sponsored by Google*
*Call for Submissions Still Open 

Informatics Europe *is still accepting submissions* for the fourth 
Minerva Informatics Equality Award devoted to initiatives seeking to 
encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and 
education. The fourth of this annual award will be presented in October 
2019 and is sponsored by Google.

The Informatics Europe Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognizes 
best practices in Departments or Faculties of European Universities or 
Research Institutes and Labs that have been demonstrated to have a 
positive impact for women. On a three-year cycle the award will focus 
each year on a different stage of the career pipeline:

* Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and 
* Supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers 
into faculty positions;
* Encouraging female students to enroll in Computer Science/Informatics 
programs and retaining them.

The *2019 Award* is devoted to *gender equality initiatives and policies 
to develop the careers of female faculty.*

*The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a 
measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such 
initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the 
community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other 
institutions. Submissions will need to demonstrate the impact that has 
been achieved.*

For 2019 examples of impact could include an improved success rate in 
recruiting, retaining and promoting female staff, increased satisfaction 
scores from objective surveys of staff experience, achievement of 
'beacon' status (i.e. being used as an exemplar within national or 
regional initiatives).

*The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000.*

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for 
further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, institutions 
must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of 
the Council of Europe <https://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/home>, or 
Israel. Institutions associated with members of the WIRE Working Group 
and of the Award panel are not eligible. The Award panel will review and 
evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between 
different applications. Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be 
included as exemplars of best practice in future Informatics Europe 

*Proposals should be submitted only at:*

*The proposal should include:*

* Contact information of the Head/Director of the applying Department or 
Faculty and the responsible for the application;
* A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be made public;
* Description of the initiative (max 2 pages);
* Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages);
* An optional reference list (which may include URLs of supporting 
* Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of support may 
come, for example, from female staff members who have benefited from the 
* An indication of whether the submission can be considered as a runner 
up (if it does not win the award) and be included as an exemplar of best 
practice in future Informatics Europe publications.


* Full submissions: June 1, 2019
* Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2019

The Award will be presented at the 15th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/home.html>, in Rome, October 
28-30, 2019, where a representative of the winning institution will be 
invited to give a talk on their achievements.

*Award Panel:*

* Dana Petcu, Universitatea de Vest din Timisoara, Romania (Chair)
* Josephina Antoniou, University of Central Lancashire, Cyprus
* Maria Carla Calzarossa, Università di Pavia, Italy
* Elisabetta Di Nitto, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
* M.J. Escalona, Universidad de Sevilla, Spain
* Maria Ganzha, Politechnika Warszawska, Poland
* Ilona Heldal, Bergen University College, Norway
* Aneta Karaivanova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
* Olaf Owe, University of Oslo, Norway
* Laura Ricci, Università di Pisa, Italy.

*Further inquiries:*
minerva-award at informatics-europe.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list