[ecoop-info] June 1 Submission Deadline for 2019 Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award

Svetlana Tikhonenko svetlana.tikhonenko at informatics-europe.org
Tue May 7 13:13:37 CEST 2019

*Best Practices in Education Award* 
*2019 Edition*
*'Inclusive Education'*
Presented by Informatics Europe
Sponsored by Microsoft
*Call for Submissions Still Open 

Informatics Europe is still accepting submissions for its 2019 Best 
Practices in Education Award devoted to *initiatives targeting Inclusive 
Education* of different student groups such as the elderly, immigrants 
or people with functional diversity.

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes 
outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of 
Informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can 
be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

The Award rewards a successful teaching effort in Europe that:
* has made a measurable difference in Informatics education;
* is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community;
* has made a measurable impact in its original institution and beyond.

Examples of impact include course results, e-accessibility frameworks 
and techniques, such as guidelines or frameworks based on robotics; 
traditional and online courses, learners' projects, textbooks, 
professional development, and influence on the curriculum of other 
institutions/countries. The initiatives are not limited to programming 
but include design and use of technology.

The 2019 Award is devoted to outstanding European educational 
innovations that address *Inclusion in Informatics teaching* in the 
classroom or beyond, at school or university level, or outside of 
institutions. Innovation maybe technology-based (for example using 
instructional technologies, MOOCs, learning analytics, etc.) or 
pedagogical. The Award honors original contributions that focus on 
innovative Informatics teaching practice toward Inclusion.

Experiences and reports showing how to use software or hardware tools in 
order to improve learning in other disciplines than Informatics will not 
be considered.

*The Award is sponsored by Microsoft and carries a prize of EUR 5,000.*


The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, 
participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int 
<https://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/home>), or Israel. Members of the 
Informatics Europe Education Working Group 
and of the Award Committee are not eligible. The Award Committee will 
review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the 
prize between at most two different proposals (individuals or teams).

*Proposals should be submitted only at:


*The proposal should include:*

* Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
* Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual or 
a group;
* Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
* Evidence of availability of the outcomes of the initiative to the 
teaching community (max 2 pages);
* Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
* A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
* One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for 
example from school or university management, associations, or 
colleagues in the same or another institution.


* Proposal: June 1, 2019
* Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2019

The Award will be presented at the 15th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/home.html>, in Rome, October 
28-30, 2019, where a representative of the winning institution will be 
invited to give a talk on their achievements.

*Award Committee:*

* Letizia Jaccheri, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, 
Norway (Chair)
* Michal Armoni, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
* Tone Bratteteig, University of Oslo, Norway
* Sharon Lynn Chu, University of Florida, US
* Michael Kölling, King's College London, UK
* Monica Landoni, Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland
* Gabriela Marcu, University of Michigan, US
* Jan Vahrenhold, University of Münster, Germany

*Further inquiries:*

education-award at informatics-europe.org 
<mailto:education-award at informatics-europe.org>

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list