[ecoop-info] ETAPS Doctoral Dissertation Award - Call for Nominations

Caterina Urban caterina.urban at ens.fr
Thu Oct 1 12:11:42 CEST 2020

ETAPS Doctoral Dissertation Award

The European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software Association has established a Doctoral Dissertation Award to promote and recognize outstanding dissertations in the research areas covered by the four main ETAPS conferences (ESOP, FASE, FoSSaCS, and TACAS).

Doctoral dissertations are evaluated with respect to originality, relevance, and impact to the field, as well as the quality of writing. The award winner will receive a monetary prize and will be recognized at the ETAPS Banquet.


Eligible for the award is any PhD student whose doctoral dissertation is in the scope of the ETAPS conferences and who completed their doctoral degree at a European academic institution in the period from January 1st, 2020 to December 31st, 2020. 


Award candidates should be nominated by their supervisor. Members of the Award Committee are not allowed to nominate their own PhD students for the award.

Nominations consist of a single PDF file (extension .pdf) containing:
* name and email address of the candidate
* a short curriculum vitae of the candidate
* name and email address of the supervisor
* an endorsement letter from the supervisor
* the final version of the doctoral dissertation
* institution and department that has awarded the doctorate
* a document certifying that the doctoral degree was successfully completed within the eligibility period 
* a report from at least one examiner of the dissertation who is not affiliated with the candidate's institution

All documents must be written in English. Nominations are welcome regardless of whether results that are part of the dissertation have been published at ETAPS.

Nominations should be submitted via EasyChair:


The deadline for nominations is January 17th, 2021.

Award Committee

Caterina Urban (chair)
Luis Caires (representing ESOP)
Perdita Stevens (representing FASE)
Andrew Pitts (representing FoSSaCS)
Dirk Beyer (representing TACAS)
Marieke Huisman
Oded Padon


All questions about submissions should be emailed to the chair of the award committee, Caterina Urban <caterina.urban at inria.fr>.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list