[ecoop-info] Preliminary Call for Papers: ACSD 2010 (Application of Concurrency to System Design)

victor khomenko victor.khomenko at newcastle.ac.uk
Fri Jul 24 15:01:08 CEST 2009

 [Apologies for cross-posting]
 [Please forward to colleagues who might be interested]


ACSD 2010: 10th International Conference on Application of Concurrency to System Design
(co-located with Petri Nets 2010, http://petrinets2010.di.uminho.pt)

21-25 June 2010
Braga, Portugal
E-mail: acsd2010 at di.uminho.pt
Web: http://acsd2010.di.uminho.pt


Paper submission deadline: 10 January 2010
Notification of acceptance: 12 March 2010
Final version due: 11 April 2010
Conference: 21-25 June 2010

The International Conference on Application of Concurrency to System Design (ACSD) serves as a forum for disseminating theoretical results with application potential and advanced methods and tools for the design of complex concurrent systems. While there is already a large number of success stories in the field, there is still a strong need to bring theory and practice closer together. 

The conference aims at cross-fertilizing both theoretical and applied research on topics including, but not limited to, the following:

* Design methods, tools and techniques based on models of computation and concurrency (data-flow models, communicating automata, Petri nets, process algebras, state charts, MSCs, etc.), (performance) analysis, verification, testing and synthesis;

* Hardware / software co-design, platform-based design, component-based design, refinement techniques, hardware / software abstractions, co-simulation and verification;

* Synchronous and asynchronous design, asynchronous circuits, globally asynchronous locally synchronous (GALS) systems, interface design, multi-clock systems, functional and timing verification;

* Concurrency issues in Systems on Chips, massively parallel architectures, networks on chip, task and communication scheduling, resource, memory and power management, fault-tolerance and Quality of Service issues;

* (Industrial) case studies of general interest, gaming applications, consumer electronics and multimedia, automotive systems, (bio-)medical applications, internet and grid computing, etc.;

* Concurrency issues in ad-hoc, mobile and wireless networking, sensor networks, communication protocols, cross-layer optimization, concurrency-related security issues;

* Business process modelling, simulation and verification, (distributed) workflow execution, business process (de-)composition, inter-organisational and heterogeneous workflow systems, computer-supported collaborative work systems, web services;

* Synthesis and control of concurrent systems, (compositional) modelling and design, (modular) synthesis and analysis, distributed simulation and implementation, (distributed) controller synthesis, adaptive systems, supervisory control.

Organizing Committee Chair

João Miguel Fernandes (Universidade do Minho, Dept. Informática / CCTC)

Steering Committee

Alex Yakovlev (University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK), Chair
Benoit Caillaud (IRISA, France)
Jordi Cortadella (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)
Jörg Desel (Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Germany)
Alex Kondratyev (Cadence, USA)
Luciano Lavagno (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Antti Valmari (Tampere University of Technology, Finland)

Programme Committee Co-Chairs

Luis Gomes (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)
Victor Khomenko (Newcastle University, UK)

Programme Committee

Joao-Paulo Barros
Twan Basten 
Behzad Bordbarb 
Hanifa Boucheneb
Forrest Brewer [TBC] 
Manfred Broy 
Benoit Caillaud 
Josep Carmona 
Thomas Chatain
Gianfranco Ciardo
Erica Cota 
Zhenhua Duan 
Stephen Edwards [TBC] 
Eric Fabre 
Marc Geilen 
Connie Heitmeyer [TBC] 
Keijo Heljanko 
James Hoe [TBC] 
Petr Jancar 
Ryszard Janicki 
Mark Josephs 
Gabriel Juhas 
Erwin de Kock 
Fabrice Kordon 
Maciej Koutny 
Antonin Kucera 
Marta Kwiatkowska [TBC] 
Charles Lakos
Elizabeth Leonard 
Johan Lilius [TBC] 
Lin Liu
Robert Lorenz 
Marcello Soares Lubaszewski [TBC] 
Ricardo Machado [TBC] 
Agnes Madalinski [TBC] 
Roland Meyer 
MohammadReza Mousavi 
Rocco de Nicola 
Jens Palsberg [TBC] 
Doron Peled 
Elisabeth Pelz 
Laure Petrucci 
Dumitru Potop-Butucaru 
S. Ramesh
Jean-Francois Raskin 
Anders Ravn 
Sandeep Shukla 
Jean-Pierre Talpin 
Irek Ulidowski 
Antti Valmari 
Walter Vogler 
Karsten Wolf 
Tomohiro Yoneda 
Wenhui Zhang 
Wlodek Zuberek 

Paper submission

All papers should be in IEEE Computer Society Press 2-column format (ftp://pubftp.computer.org/Press/Outgoing/proceedings/instruct8.5x11.pdf, see also the Formatting section from Information for Authors of the webpage http://www.computer.org/cps/), and should be submitted via EasyChair: http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=acsd10

The separate cover page should include the corresponding author's physical and e-mail addresses, phone and FAX numbers (including the country code), the type of submission (regular, short or tool paper), and an abstract of at most 60 words.

The deadline for submission of papers is given at the top of this letter. The page limits are: 10 pages for regular papers, 6 pages for short papers, and 5 pages for tool papers.

Submitted papers should describe original work that has not been previously published and is not under review for publication elsewhere. Acceptance of a tool paper implies that a tool demonstration should be given at the conference. Further information can be obtained through the conference web-site (given at the top of this letter).


Proceedings containing accepted and invited papers are planned to be published by IEEE Computer Society Press.

Best Paper Award

A best paper award will be given to the author(s) of the best regular paper presented at ACSD 2010.

Special Issue

Best papers of ACSD will be considered for publication in extended and revised form in a special issue of a journal. We currently consider Fundamenta Informaticae and IET Computers & Digital Techniques.

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list