[ecoop-info] CfP: FM 2009 Doctoral Symposium (Deadline July 24)

ECMDA Organisers ecmda2009 at ewi.utwente.nl
Tue Jun 9 22:13:18 CEST 2009

Call for Papers
FM 2009 Doctoral Symposium

November 6, 2009.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands


For the third time in its history, Formal Methods Symposium will feature a
Doctoral Symposium. Students are invited to submit papers describing their work
(in progress).  The authors of the accepted papers will present their work at
the symposium in the presence of the members of the Examination Committee, who
will act as "friendly examiners", providing detailed feedback.  Students whose
submissions are accepted will be able to participate in the Doctoral Symposium
and the FM 2009 Symposium at the student registration rate and they will be
invited by the FME association to participate in the conference dinner free of
charge.  Moreover, the FME association has generously provided a few travel
grants to partially support those student authors whose institutes cannot fully
support their travel expenses.

The proceedings of the workshop will be published as a technical report of
Eindhoven University of Technology and will be distributed among the

Like the FM 2009 conference itself, the Doctoral Symposium welcomes submissions
on all aspects of formal methods research, both theoretical and practical.  The
broad topics of interest of the Doctoral Symposium include, but are not
restricted to:

 * Theoretical foundations
 * Specification and modeling
 * Refinement
 * Static analysis
 * Model-checking
 * Verification and testing
 * Algebraic and logical methods
 * Reusable domain theories
 * Experience with introducing formal methods in industry
 * Case studies
 * Formal methods in hardware and system design
 * Method integration
 * Development process
 * Tools and environments

Submission Guidelines

Extended abstracts reporting on the current status of doctoral theses should be
submitted by July 24, 2009, using the EasyChair submission system, available
via the following URL:


Submissions are limited to 6 pages and must follow the Springer's Lecture Notes
in Computer Science format, which can be found in
http://www.springeronline.com/lncs .

Submissions will be evaluated by the Program Committee according to their
originality, significance, soundness, quality of presentation, and relevance
with respect to the main topics of the symposium.  Since the major purpose of
the symposium is to provide feedback to doctoral students, possibly influencing
the direction of their research, work in progress _with some results_, but
still with some open issues, is in the ideal stage for submission.  We
encourage papers solely authored by students.

Best Defence Award

The best combination of paper and defence will be selected by the Examination
Committee during the symposium and will be announced and acknowledged on the
same day.  If its quality warrants it, the author(s) of the best paper will be
invited to submit a full version of the paper for inclusion in a special issue
of Formal Aspects of Computing Journal (FACJ).  The journal paper will undergo
additional review and the authors will receive extra feedback to bring the
paper into shape for journal publication.

Important Dates

* Submission Deadline: July 24, 2009
* Notification of Acceptance / Rejection: August 21, 2009
* Camera-Ready Version of Papers and Abstract: September 18, 2009
* Applications for Travel Grants: September 18, 2009
* Doctoral Symposium: November 6, 2009

Authors who wish to receive a travel grant should send an application letter
for the travel grant (of up to 500 euros) to the co-chairs of the symposium
along with a letter from their respective institute, in which the (lack of)
contribution from the institute is clearly stated.

Symposium Format

The Doctoral Symposium will take a full day, including around 8 presentations
of 45 minutes each (20-25 minutes for presentation and 20-25 for discussion and
feedback).  The participating students and committee members will stay together
during the entire day, including the presentations, discussions, coffee-breaks
and lunch, giving plenty of opportunity for informal interaction.

Program Committee

* S. Arun-Kumar (IIT, India)
* Paulo Borba (UFPE, Brazil)
* Michael Butler (Southampton, UK)
* Jin Song Dong (NUS, Singapore)
* Wan Fokkink (VU, The Netherlands)
* Ichiro Hasuo (Kyoto, Japan)
* Anna Ingolfsdottir (Reykjavik, Iceland)
* Joost-Pieter Katoen (RWTH, Germany)
* Ian Mackie (Sussex, UK)
* MohammadReza Mousavi (Eindhoven, The Netherlands, Co-Chair)
* Mila Dalla Preda (Verona, Italy)
* Emil Sekerinski (McMaster, Canada, Co-Chair)
* Sandeep Shukla (VT, USA)
* Bernd-Holger Schlingloff (Humboldt U. Berlin, Germany)
* Elena Troubitsyna (Abo Akademi, Finland)
* Tarmo Uustalu (Inst. of Cybernetics, Estonia)
* Frits Vaandrager (Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
* Husnu Yenigun (Sabanci, Turkey)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list