[ecoop-info] CFP LA-WASP 2010: Latin-American Workshop on Aspect-Oriented Software Development

Eduardo Figueiredo figueiredo at dcc.ufmg.br
Tue Jun 15 19:35:50 CEST 2010

Call for Papers

4th Latin-American Workshop on Aspect-Oriented Software Development
27-28 September 2010, Salvador, BA - Brazil

co-located with the 1st Brazilian Conference on Software: Theory and
Practice (CBSoft)

Important Dates
Submission deadline:         28 June 2010
Notification of acceptance:  27 July 2010
Camera-ready copy due:       3 August 2010 (strict deadline)
Workshop:                    27-28 September 2010

Aspect-Oriented Software Development (AOSD) is an increasingly important
paradigm in software development whereby novel notions of modularity and
composition mechanisms are discussed with the goal of taming concerns that
crosscut traditional abstraction boundaries.

The importance of AOSD in the software engineering community has become
evident with the realization of several workshops, tutorials and nine
editions of the AOSD international conference. Over the last years, the
software industry has also given more attention to AOSD techniques. Many
available software products, such the JBoss application server and the
Spring integration framework, have adopted the use of aspect-oriented
techniques to address crosscutting concerns (persistence, security,
dynamic adaptation) encountered in the development of server-side

The Fourth Latin-American Workshop on Aspect-Oriented Software Development
(LA-WASP.10) aims at bringing together the Latin-American and
international research communities interested in topics related to AOSD to
share and discuss ideas, strengthen research group collaborations and
identify new research opportunities.

The LA-WASP.10 workshop follows from the three successful editions of the
Brazilian Workshop on AOSD (WASP.04, WASP.05 and WASP.06) and the first
three editions of the Latin American Workshop on AOSD (LA-WASP.07,
LA-WASP.08 and LA-WASP.09).

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Requirements Engineering (Early Aspects)
- Software Architectures, Product Lines and Frameworks
- Design of Aspect-Oriented Languages
- UML and Model-Driven Architecture
- General-Purpose and Domain Specific Aspect Languages
- Software Processes
- Metrics and Assessment
- Reuse, Maintenance and Adaptability
- Software Verification, Validation and Testing
- Software Re-engineering and Refactoring
- Contracts, Components and Aspects
- Interference and Composition of Aspects
- Dynamic Configuration
- Computational Reflection and Metaprogramming
- Aspect-Oriented Middleware
- Formal Methods
- Development Methods
- Development Environments and Tools
- Industrial Applications of AOSD
- Practical studies involving AOSD
- Comparative Studies Between AOSD and other Development Paradigms
- AOSD in Education

Wokshop Format
LA-WASP.10 is a two-day workshop and will be strongly focused on
discussion. The workshop program will include technical paper
presentations, poster exhibitions, structured group discussions, and a

Invited Speakers
Prof. Éric Tanter, University of Chile (Chile)
Prof. Sérgio Soares, Federal University of Pernambuco (UFPE)

Submission Guidelines

The workshop will accept both technical papers (up to 6 A4 pages) and
posters (up to 2 A4 pages). Submissions in English are strongly
encouraged, although papers/posters can also be written in Portuguese or
Spanish. Submitted papers must be unpublished and should not be under
review elsewhere. The acceptance of a paper implies that at least one of
its authors will register for the workshop to present it. All submissions
must be in PDF format, and must follow the IEEE conference proceedings

All papers must be submitted using the JEMS conference system

The workshop proceedings will be published in the CBSoft'10 CD-ROM.

Workshop Co-Chairs

Fernando Castor (UFPE, Brazil)
Roberta Coelho (UFRN, Brazil)

Organizing Committee
Eduardo Figueiredo (UFMG, Brazil)
Fabiano Ferrari (ICMC-USP, Brazil)
Nelio Cacho (UFRN, Brazil)

Program Committee

Alessandro Garcia (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
Arndt von Staa (PUC-Rio, Brazil)
Carla Silva (UFPB, Brazil)
Christina Chavez (UFBA, Brazil)
Claudio Sant'Anna (UFBA, Brazil)
Eduardo Figueiredo (UFMG, Brazil)
Fabiano Ferrari (ICMC-USP, Brazil)
Fernando Castor (UFPE, Brazil)
Joao Araujo (UNL, Portugal)
Johan Fabry (University of Chile, Chile)
Jon Whittle (Lancaster University, UK)
Lyrene Fernandes (UFRN, Brazil)
Marcelo Maia (UFU, Brazil)
Marco Tulio Valente (UFMG, Brazil)
Mariza Bigonha (UFMG, Brazil)
Nabor Mendonca (UNIFOR, Brazil)
Nelio Cacho (UFRN, Brasil)
Paulo Borba (UFPE, Brazil)
Paulo Cesar Masiero (ICMC-USP, Brazil)
Ricardo Choren (IME-RJ, Brazil)
Roberta Coelho (UFRN, Brazil)
Roberto Bigonha (UFMG, Brazil)
Rosangela Penteado (UFSCar, Brazil)
Sergio Soares (UFPE, Brazil)
Stefan Hanenberg (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Thais Vasconcelos Batista (UFRN, Brazil)
Uira Kulesza (UFRN, Brazil)
Valter Camargo (UFSCAR, Brazil)
Vander Alves (UNB, Brazil)

Eduardo Figueiredo (PhD) - Lecturer
Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list