[ecoop-info] SPLASH 2011: Call for Contributions

Cristina Videira Lopes lopes at ics.uci.edu
Sat Mar 5 23:46:34 CET 2011

ACM Conference on Systems, Programming, Languages, and Applications:
                 Software for Humanity (SPLASH'11)
                        Portland, Oregon
                       October 22-27, 2011
                    Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN

Since 2010 SPLASH is the new umbrella conference for OOPSLA and
Onward!. This year, it features a third technical track, Wavefront,
designed to publish innovative work closely related to advanced
development and production software.

The overall theme of the conference is "The Internet as the world-wide
Virtual Machine."  This theme captures the change in the order of
magnitude of computing that happened over the past few years.

  *                 CALL FOR CONTRIBUTIONS                     *

SPLASH is now accepting submissions for a variety of tracks. We
invite high quality submissions describing original and unpublished

General technical tracks:

* OOPSLA -- High quality research work that uses established
   scientific methodologies, written using high standards of academic
   technical publications.
   DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
   See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/100

* Onward! -- Innovative ideas that challenge existing beliefs, or
   early work well written and well argued for; essays and ideas worth
   hearing about.
   DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
   See http://onward-conference.org/2011/dates.html

* Wavefront -- Work that has the potential for immediate impact in the
   practice of software, or descriptions of advanced development and
   production software, written using established guidelines for
   technical writing. Accepts full papers as well as extended abstracts.
   DEADLINE: April 8, 2011

Specialized tracks:

* Demonstrations -- Applications and systems that show specific
   technologies in action, live.
   DEADLINE: June 24, 2011
   See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/105

* Doctoral Symposium -- Doctoral proposals, both early- and mid-phase,
   to be reviewed and commented on by a panel of experts.
   DEADLINE: June 24, 2011
   See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/103

* Educators' and Trainers' Symposium -- Topics of interest for
   developing curricula related to software training and education.
   DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
   See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/106

* Experience Reports -- Work describing the use of specific software
   technologies and methodologies in real world settings.
   DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
   See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/102

* Posters -- Forum for authors to present their work in an informal
   and interactive setting.
   DEADLINE: June 24, 2011
   See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/108


SPLASH is now accepting proposals for innovative, well-focused
workshops on a broad spectrum of topics.
DEADLINE: April 8, 2011
See http://splashcon.org/2011/cfp/104

Co-located events:

* Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS'11)

* Generative Programming and Component Engineering (GPCE'11)

* Pattern Languages of Programming (PLoP'11)

* The Scheme Workshop 2011


SPLASH General Chair:      Cristina V. Lopes (UC Irvine)
OOPSLA Program Chair:      Kathleen Fisher (AT&T Labs)
Onward! General Chair:     Robert Hirschfeld (Hasso-Plattner Potsdam)
Onward! Program Chair:     Eelco Visser (Delft University of Tech.)
Onward! Essays Chair:      David West (New Mexico Highlands U.)
Wavefront Chair:           Allen Wirfs-Brock (Mozilla)
Demonstrations Chair:      Igor Peshansky (IBM Research)
Doctoral Symposium Chair:  Jonathan Aldrich (CMU)
Educators Symposium Chair: Eugene Wallingford (U. of Northern Iowa)
Experience Reports Chair:  Tim O'Connor (K12 Inc.)
Panels Chair:              Daniel Weinreb (ITA Software)
Posters Chairs:            Sushil Bajracharya (Black Duck Software)
                            Eli Tilevich (Virginia Tech)
Student Volunteers Chairs: Rochelle Elva (U. of Central Florida)
                            Joel Ossher (UC Irvine)
Tech Talks Chair:          Aino Corry (University of Aarhus)
Workshops Chairs:          Ademar Aguiar (University of Porto)
                            Ulrik Pagh Schultz (U. of Southern Denmark)
Social Media:              Michael Maximilien (IBM)
Treasurer:                 William Cook (UT Austin)
Proceedings:               Richard Gabriel (IBM Research)
PDX.local:                 Andrew Black (Portland State U.)
Content Management:        Harry Baragar (Instantiated Software)
Conference Management:     Debra Brodbeck (UC Irvine)

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list