[ecoop-info] CFP: SBMF 2011 - 14th Brazilian Symposium on Formal Methods

SMBF 2011 sbmf2011 at gmail.com
Thu Mar 31 16:07:26 CEST 2011

*** Apologies for multiple copies due to cross-posting ***
*** Please forward to colleagues who might be interested ***

===SBMF 2011===

Sao Paulo, Brazil
September 26-30, 2011

*** News: Proceedings will published in LNCS/Springer ***

Paper Submission: May 30, 2011

SBMF 2011 is the fourteenth of a series of events devoted to the
development, dissemination and use of formal methods for the
construction of high-quality computational systems. It is now a
well-established event, with an international reputation.

Keynote speakers will be

*   Catuscia Palamidessi (INRIA Saclay, France)
*   John Harrison (Intel Corporation, USA)

The symposium will be part of a larger event,

*   CBSoft, the Brazilian Conference on Software:
*   Theory and Practice
*   http://www.each.usp.br/cbsoft2011,

including as well as SBMF three other symposia:

*   XXV Brazilian Symposium on Software Engineering (SBES)
*   XV Brazilian Symposium on Programming Languages (SBLP)
*   V Brazilian Symposium on Components, Software Architecture
   and Software Reuse (SBCARS).

CBSoft will be held in Sao Paulo, an important city in research and
development in both academic and industrial areas. Sao Paulo offers
great possibilities for cultural, artistic and gastronomic tourism.
Moreover it is a major hub, providing easy access to all other parts
of Brazil and South America.

The aim of SBMF is to provide a venue for the presentation
and discussion of high-quality papers, from researchers
with a broad range of interests in formal methods,
on recent developments in this field. The topics include,
but are not limited to, the following:

-  Well-founded specification and design languages;
-  Formal aspects of popular languages and methodologies;
-  Logics and semantics of programming- and specification languages;
-  Reusable domain theories;
-  Type systems and category theory in computer science;
-  Computational complexity of methods and models;
-  Computational models;
-  Rewriting systems;
-  Formal methods integration;
-  Formal methods for software/hardware development;
-  Formal methods applied to model-driven engineering;
-  Code generation;
-  Formal design methods;
-  Specification and modeling;
-  Abstraction, modularization and refinement techniques;
-  Program and test synthesis;
-  Techniques for correctness by construction;
-  Formal methods and models for objects, aspects
  and component systems;
-  Formal methods and models for real-time, hybrid and
  critical systems;
-  Formal methods and models for service-oriented systems;
-  Models of concurrency, security and mobility;
-  Model checking;
-  Theorem proving;
-  Static analysis;
-  Formal techniques for software testing;
-  Software certification;
-  Formal techniques for software inspection.
-  Teaching of, for and with formal methods;
-  Experience reports on the use of formal methods;
-  Industrial case studies;
-  Tools supporting the formal development of computational systems;
-  Development methodologies with formal foundations;
-  Software evolution based on formal methods.

Papers with a strong emphasis on Formal Methods, whether practical or
theoretical, are invited for submission. They should present
unpublished and original work that has a clear contribution to the
state of the art on the theory and practice of formal methods.
They should not be simultaneously submitted elsewhere.

Papers will be judged on the basis of originality, relevance,
technical soundness and presentation quality. They should be written
in English. There are two types of submissions:

*   Full papers: (max. 16 pages in LNCS format) should contain
   theory- or application-oriented results which must be original,
   significant, and sound; they will undergo a full reviewing
   process. Papers from industry should emphasize practical application of
   formal methods and/or report open challenges. The proceedings
   will be published in LNCS/Springer.

*   Short papers: (max. 6 pages in LNCS format) should describe
   recent research activities, practical experience, and
   preliminary results that are worth discussing. If accepted,
   they will be published as a Technical Report of University of
   Sao Paulo (www.usp.br) with an ISBN number available online.

Every accepted paper MUST have at least one author registered to the
symposium by the time the camera-ready copy is submitted; the
author is also expected to attend the symposium and present the

Papers can be submitted via the following link:


30/05/2011: Full Paper Submission Deadline
25/07/2011: Full Paper Acceptance Notification
06/08/2011: Full Paper Camera-ready Version

01/08/2011: Short Paper Submission Deadline
21/08/2011: Short Paper Acceptance Notification
28/08/2011: Short Paper Camera-ready Version

--- Program Committee Chairs
Adenilso Simao      ICMC-USP, Brasil
Carroll Morgan      UNSW, Australia

--- Steering Committee
Adenilso Simao      ICMC-USP
Carroll Morgan      UNSW, Australia
David Naumann       Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Jim Davies          University of Oxford, UK (Co-chair)
Jim Woodcock        University of York, UK
Leila Silva         UFS
Marcel Oliveira     UFRN (Co-chair)
Patricia Machado    UFCG
Rohit Gheyi         UFCG

--- Program Committee
Aline Andrade (UFBA, Brazil)
David Aspinall (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Luis Barbosa (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Michael Butler (University of Southampton, UK)
Andrew Butterfield (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
Ana Cavalcanti (University of York, UK)
Marcio Cornelio (UFPE, Brazil)
Andrea Corradini (Universita' di Pisa, Italy)
Jim Davies (University of Oxford, UK)
David Deharbe (UFRN, Brazil)
Ewen Denney (RIACS/NASA, USA)
Clare Dixon (University of Liverpool, UK)
Jorge Figueiredo (UFCG, Brazil)
Rohit Gheyi (UFCG, Brazil)
Rolf Hennicker (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen, Germany)
Juliano Iyoda (UFPE, Brazil)
Gerald Luettgen (University of Bamberg, Germany)
Patricia Machado (UFCG, Brazil)
Ana Melo (USP, Brazil)
Stephan Merz (INRIA Lorraine, France)
Anamaria Moreira (UFRN, Brazil)
Alvaro Moreira (UFRGS, Brazil)
Arnaldo Moura (UNICAMP, Brazil)
Alexandre Mota (UFPE, Brazil)
David Naumann (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)
Daltro Nunes (UFRGS, Brazil)
Jose Oliveira (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Marcel Oliveira (UFRN, Brazil)
Alberto Pardo (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay)
Alexandre Petrenko (CRIM, Canada)
Leila Ribeiro (UFRGS, Brazil)
Augusto Sampaio (UFPE, Brazil)
Leila Silva (UFS, Brazil)
Heike Wehrheim (University of Paderborn, Germany)
Jim Woodcock (University of York, UK)
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://web.satd.uma.es/pipermail/ecoop-info/attachments/20110331/e6303f52/attachment-0001.html 

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list