[ecoop-info] CFP: 2nd International Conference on Safety and Security in Internet of Things

Scott Fowler scott_fowler at ymail.com
Sat Jul 18 14:13:35 CEST 2015

 *** Please accept our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this CFP ***


2nd International Conference on Safety and Security in Internet of Things (SaSeIoT 2015)


26-27 October, 2015 – Rome, Italy


The infrastructure of large cities is becoming increasingly vulnerable to natural and man-made disasters. 
Complex Information Communication Technology (ICT) infrastructures, critical dependencies and unforeseen 
cascading effects can worsen single hazard events to a threatening crisis of several entire infrastructures. 
With the dense population in urban areas along with the critical dependency on infrastructures, such crises become 
a serious threat to the safety and security of citizens and industries. When the "unforeseen" happens, public 
security comes to its limits Whether cyber, natural or industrial disasters - effective risk management 
must be a continuous process that recognizes new threats and opportunities, in particular in relation to 
new technological evolutions.

Internet of Things (IoT) will have an enormous impact on our future infrastructures. In the context of 
safety and security this is at the same time a challenge (How can we design secure 
and resilient IoT infrastructures?) and an opportunity (How can we use IoT for better safety and security?).
In particular in urban environments, the increasing deployments of IoT technologies and the rapid proliferation 
of sensored and automated cities are opening up new avenues of threats and opportunities toward 
public safety and security. Although we have seen various deployments of diverse IoT 
systems, our understanding of these systems and their implications in the context of safety 
and security has just scratched the surface. The Second International Conference on Safety and 
Security with IoT (SaSeIoT 2015) aims to explore these dynamics within the scope of IoT 
in the context of Safety and Security. The conference solicits original and inspiring research 
contributions from technology experts, researchers, designers, practitioners in academia, authorities 
and industry, and promises to offer a highly interactive forum to share knowledge, experiences, and best practices 
primarily in the following main application oriented themes:

•    Ensuring the resilience and security of IoT dependent infrastructures

The topics of interest in this theme include, but are not limited to:

- Models, methods and tools for testing IoT infrastructures
- Design of resilient IoT infrastructures
- Detection, prevention, response and mitigation of cyber threats to IoT
- Trust and identity management in IoT
- Security protocols in IoT
- Risk analysis and management for IoT infrastructures
- Threat modeling in IoT
•    Using IoT for crisis and emergency management

The topics of interest in this theme include, but are not limited to:

- IoT for threat and hazard detection
- IoT for situation-awareness
- IoT for crisis and emergency response
- IoT for command & control
- IoT for emergency forces

•    Privacy in IoT

•    Security and IoT Cloudification


Regular Papers should be up to 12 pages in length. Short papers up to 4 pages in length. 
Complete formatting and submission instructions can be found on the conference web site at: 

Papers will be judged on originality, correctness, clarity and relevance. 
Submitted papers must be original work and should not be under consideration for 
another conference or journal.Submission of the paper implies agreement of the author(s) 
to attend the conference and present the paper if accepted.


All accepted papers will be published by Springer. The proceedings will be available both in 
book form and via the SpringerLink digital library.


A special issue of ACM/Springer Mobile Networks and Applications 
will be organized after the conference containing selected best papers of the conference. 


Full Paper Submission deadline: July 31, 2015
Notification deadline: August 15, 2015
Camera-ready deadline: August, 31 2015


Steering Committee

Imrich Chlamtac (Chair), Create-Net, EAI, Italy
Hakima Chaouchi,EIT ICT Labs, Institut Mines Telecom-Telecom Sud Paris, France

General Chair

Hakima Chaouchi,EIT ICT Labs, Institut Mines Telecom-Telecom Sud Paris, France 

Technical Program Chair

Sherali Zeadally, University of Kentucky, USA

Publicity Co-Chairs

Scott Fowler, Linkoping University, Sweden
Wendong Xiao, University of Science and Technology Beijing, China
Mauro Fonseca, Federal Technological University of Paraná, Brazil 

Publication Chair

Mohamad Badra, Zayed University, UAE

Web Chair

Sandrine Bourger, Telecom Sud Paris, France

Workshop Co-Chairs

Anis Laouiti, Telecom Sud Paris, France
Thomas Bourgeau, UPMC, France

Technical Program Committee

Sergey Andreev, Tampere University, Finland
Cristina Alcaraz, University of Malaga, Spain
Ioannis Anagnostopoulos, University of Thessaly, Greece
Mohamad Badra, Zayed University, UAE
Zubair Baig, Edith Cowan University, Australia
Zorica Bogdanovic, University of Belgrade, Serbia
Thomas Bourgeau, Paris VI University, France
Patrick Capolsini, University of French Polynesia, Tahiti
Ashok Chandra, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India
Naveen Chilamkurti, La Trobe University, Australia
Ernesto Exposito, LAAS-CNRS, University of Toulouse, France
Scott Fowler, Linkoping University, Sweden
Alban Gabillon, University of French Polynesia, Tahiti
Zeynep Gurkas Aydin, Istanbul University, Turkey
Jassim Happa, Oxford University, United Kingdom
Debiao He, Wuhan University, China
Leila Ismail, United Arab Emirates University, UAE
Arshad Jhumka, Warwick University, United Kingdom
Muhammad Khan, King Saud University, Saudi Arabia
Dong-Seong Kim, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Anis Laouiti, Telcom Sud Paris, France
Albert Levi, Sabanci University, Turkey
Toktam Mahmoodi, King’s College, United Kingdom
Gregorio Martinez, University of Murcia, Spain
Hassnaa Moustafa, Intel Corporation, USA
Rajarajan Muttukrishnan, City University, United Kingdom
Farid Naït-Abdesselam, Paris Descartes University, France
Jalel Othman, University of Paris 13, France
Lotfi Othmane, Fraunhofer Institute for Secure Information Technology (SIT), Germany
Damith Ranasinghe, University of Adelaide, Australia
Sushmita Ruj, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Giovanni Russello, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Khaled Salah, Khalifa University, UAE
Nishanth Sastry, King’s College, United Kingdom
Faisal Shaikh, Mehran University of Engineering and Technology, Pakistan
Nicolas Sklavos, Technological Educational Institute of Western Greece, Greece
Aditya K Sood, Michigan State University, USA
Diego Touceda, University Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Wei Yu, Towson University, USA
David Yau, Singapore university of Technology and design, Sinagpore
Wendong Xiao, University of Science and Technology Beijing, China

Conference Coordinator

Kristina Lukacova, EAI Slovakia

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list