[ecoop-info] Call for Submissions - 2021 Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award

Franziska Hauffe franziska.hauffe at informatics-europe.org
Thu Mar 4 11:14:29 CET 2021

*Best Practices in Education Award* 
*2021 Edition*

*Presented by Informatics Europe*
*Sponsored by Microsoft*

*Call for Submissions Now Open* 

Informatics Europe proudly announces its 2021 Best Practices in 
Education Award devoted to educational initiatives in the domain of 
cybersecurity, understood in a broad sense, including related questions 
such as user empowerment and control of personal data, and digital legal 

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes 
outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of 
Informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can 
be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

The Award rewards a successful teaching effort in Europe that:

* has made a measurable difference in informatics education;
* is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community;
* has made a measurable impact in its original institution and beyond.

Examples of impact include course results, traditional and online 
courses, learners’ projects, textbooks, professional development, and 
influence on the curriculum of other institutions/countries.

*The 2021 Education Award Theme is Cybersecurity*. The winner will be an 
outstanding European Informatics educational initiative in the domain of 
cybersecurity, understood in a broad sense, including related questions 
such as user empowerment and control of personal data, digital legal 
education (right to be forgotten, freedom of speech, anonymity versus 
trust and security, crowdsourcing versus legacy manufacturing, etc.). 
This concerns not only students, but also teachers, industry and service 
providers, citizens of all ages. Experiences in this area, as well as 
new educational approaches with some evidence of their effectiveness, 
are welcomed.

*The Award is sponsored by Microsoft and carries a prize of EUR 5,000.*


The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, 
participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member 
countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int 
<https://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/home>), or Israel. Members of the 
Informatics Europe Education Working Group 
and of the Award Committee are not eligible.
The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves 
the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals 
(individuals or teams). Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be 
included as exemplars of best practice in future Informatics Europe 

*Proposals should be submitted only at*


*The proposal should include*

* Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
* Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual or 
a group;
* Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
* Evidence of availability of the outcomes of the initiative to the 
teaching community (max 2 pages);
* Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
* A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
* One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for 
example from school or university management, associations, or 
colleagues in the same or another institution.


* Proposal: 1 June 2021
* Notification of winner(s): 1 August 2021

The Award will be presented at the 17th European Computer Science Summit 
<http://www.informatics-europe.org/ecss/home.html>, which will be held 
25-27 October 2021 in Madrid (if the COVID-19 situation allows), where a 
representative of the winning institution(s) will be invited to give a 
talk on their achievements.

*Award Committee*

* Jean-Marc Jézéquel, IRISA / University of Rennes, France (Chair)
* Ismael García-Varea, Universidad Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
* Gabriela Marcu, University of Michigan, US
* Elisabetta Di Nitto, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
* Alexander Pretschner, TU Munich, Germany
* Lili Nemec Zlatolas, University of Maribor, Slovenia

*Further inquiries*

education-award at informatics-europe.org 
<mailto:education-award at informatics-europe.org>

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list