[ecoop-info] CMCS 2010: First call for papers

A.M.Silva at cwi.nl A.M.Silva at cwi.nl
Fri Nov 20 10:42:11 CET 2009

                    CMCS 2010 First call for papers

The Tenth International Workshop on Coalgebraic Methods in Computer Science
               26-28 March 2010, Paphos, Cyprus
                 (co-located with ETAPS 2010)

Aims and scope

The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers with a common
interest in the theory of coalgebras and its applications.  Over the
last two decades, coalgebra has developed into a field of its own,
presenting a mathematical foundation for various kinds of dynamical
systems, infinite data structures, and logics.  Coalgebra has an ever
growing range of applications in and interactions with other fields
such as reactive and interactive system theory, object oriented and
concurrent programming, formal system specification, modal logic,
dynamical systems, control systems, category theory, algebra,
analysis, etc.

The topics of the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  * the theory of coalgebras (including set theoretic and categorical
  * coalgebras as computational and semantical models (for programming
    languages, dynamical systems, etc.);
  * coalgebras in (functional, object-oriented, concurrent) programming;
  * coalgebras and data types;
  * (coinductive) definition and proof principles for coalgebras (with
    bisimulations or invariants);
  * coalgebras and algebras;
  * coalgebraic specification and verification;
  * coalgebras and (modal) logic;
  * coalgebra and control theory (notably of discrete event and hybrid

An anniversary: the 10th CMCS

CMCS took place for the first time when ETAPS started, in 1998.  Since
then, it has always been collocated with ETAPS, becoming bi-annual
since the start of CALCO (Conference on Algebra and Coalgebra) in

In 2010, we will celebrate the 10th edition of CMCS,
by inviting a number of specialists in the field to present overviews
of both obtained results and future challenges.

Invited Speakers

At this tenth meeting the following invited speakers will present
overviews of important subareas.

  * Venanzio Capretta: Coalgebra in functional programming and type theory
  * Bartek Klin: Operational semantics coalgebraically
  * Dirk Pattinson: Logic and coalgebra
  * Ana Sokolova: Probabilistic systems coalgebraically


There are two types of submissions possible:

(a) Papers to be evaluated by the PC for publication in the proceedings:

 They must have a length no greater than 20 pages.  They must contain
 original contributions, be clearly written, and include appropriate
 reference to and comparison with related work.  Accepted papers will
 appear in ENTCS (style files can be found in http://www.entcs.org/).
 The web-based system EasyChair will be used for submission

 After the event, a special journal issue of selected papers will be

(b) Short contributions:

 These will not be published in the proceedings but will be bundled in
 a CWI technical report.

 They should be no more than two pages and may describe work in
 progress, summarise work submitted to a conference or workshop
 elsewhere, or in some other way appeal to the CMCS audience.  For
 short submissions, the style file easychair.cls should be used
 (http://www.easychair.org/coolnews.cgi).  The submission (pdf file)
 is via email: cmcs10 at cwi.nl.

Important dates
*  8 January 2010: strict submission deadline regular papers
* 13 February 2010: notification regular papers
* 15 February 2010: deadline early registration
* 20 February 2010: final version
* 27 February 2010: strict submission deadline short contributions
* 6 March 2010: notification short contributions
* 26-28 March 2010: the workshop

Programme Committee
Jiri Adamek (Braunschweig)
Alexandru Baltag (Oxford)
Luis Barbosa (Braga)
Marcello Bonsangue (Leiden)
Corina Cirstea (Southampton)
Robin Cockett (Calgary)
Andrea Corradini (Pisa)
Neil Ghani (Glasgow)
Peter Gumm (Marburg)
Furio Honsell (Udine)
Bart Jacobs (Nijmegen, co-chair)
Bartek Klin (Cambridge)
Clemens Kupke (London)
Alexander Kurz (Leicester)
Marina Lenisa (Udine)
Stefan Milius (Braunschweig)
Ugo Montanari (Pisa)
Larry Moss (Bloomington)
Milad Niqui (Amsterdam)
Dirk Pattinson (London)
Dusko Pavlovic (Oxford)
John Power (Edinburgh)
Horst Reichel (Dresden)
Grigore Rosu (Urbana)
Jan Rutten (Amsterdam, co-chair)
Davide Sangiorgi (Bologna)
Lutz Schroeder (Bremen)
Alexandra Silva (Amsterdam)
Hendrik Tews (Nijmegen)
Tarmo Uustalu (Tallinn)
Yde Venema (Amsterdam)
Hiroshi Watanabe (Osaka)
James Worrell (Oxford)

Organising Committee

Bart Jacobs,
Milad Niqui (co-chair, CWI),
Jan Rutten,
Alexandra Silva (co-chair, CWI).

cmcs10 at cwi.nl

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list