[ecoop-info] AVoCS 2015: Second Call for Papers

Announcements of FME events events at fmeurope.org
Fri Mar 27 12:42:57 CET 2015

                      SECOND CALL FOR PAPERS

              The 15th International Workshop on 
          Automated Verification of Critical Systems 
                        AVoCS 2015

             1-4 September 2015, Edinburgh, UK

                avocs2015 at easychair.org

  Submission of abstract for full papers: 5th June 2015
  Submission of full papers: 12th June 2015
  Notification (full papers): 14th July 2015
  Submission of research idea papers: 7th August 2015
  Notification (research idea): 14th August 2015
  Early registration: 18th August 2015
  Submissions of final versions: 21st August 2015 

  Colin O'Halloran (D-RisQ & the University of Oxford)
  Don Sannella (Contemplate & the University of Edinburgh)

  Formal Methods Europe (FME)
  The Scottish Informatics & Computer Science Alliance (SICSA)

  The aim of Automated Verification of Critical Systems (AVoCS) 2015 
  is to contribute to the interaction and exchange of ideas among members 
  of the international research community on tools and techniques for the 
  verification of critical systems. 

  The subject is to be interpreted broadly and inclusively. It covers 
  all aspects of automated verification, including model checking, 
  theorem proving, SAT/SMT constraint solving, abstract interpretation, 
  and refinement pertaining to various types of critical systems which 
  need to meet stringent dependability requirements (safety-critical, 
  business-critical, performance-critical, etc.). Contributions that 
  describe different techniques, or industrial case studies are encouraged. 

  The technical programme will consist of invited and contributed talks 
  and also allow for short presentations of research ideas. The workshop 
  will be relatively informal, with an emphasis on discussion where special 
  discussion sessions will be organised around the research ideas presentations. 
  Topics include (but are not limited to):
    - Model Checking
    - Automatic and Interactive Theorem Proving
    - SAT, SMT or Constraint Solving for Verification
    - Abstract Interpretation
    - Specification and Refinement
    - Requirements Capture and Analysis
    - Verification of Software and Hardware
    - Specification and Verification of Fault Tolerance and Resilience
    - Probabilistic and Real-Time Systems
    - Dependable Systems
    - Verified System Development
    - Industrial Applications

  AI4FM 2015: 1 September 2015 -- www.ai4fm.org/ai4fm-2015/

  The event will be held in the International Centre for Mathematical Sciences 
  (ICMS) in the centre of the historic old town of Edinburgh - an UNESCO world
  heritage site. 

  Thanks to sponsorships from FME and SICSA we can offer financial support for a 
  limited number of students registering for AVoCS in the form of a registration 
  fee waiver (full or partial). As this is limited, we ask the students that 
  would like to take the advantage of this support to submit a short application. 
  The details on how to apply will be available in due course from the AVoCS 

   Submissions of full papers to the workshop must not have been published 
   or be concurrently considered for publication elsewhere. All submissions 
   will be peer-reviewed and judged on the basis of originality, contribution 
   to the field, technical and presentation quality, and relevance to the 
   workshop. Submissions are handled via Easychair: 


   The papers must be written in English and not exceed 15 pages and should 
   use the dedicated AVoCS 2015 EASST template available rom the the 
   following link (for LaTeX and Word):


   AVoCS also encourages the submissions of research ideas in order to stimulate 
   discussions at the workshop. Reports on ongoing work or surveys on work 
   published elsewhere are welcome. The Programme Committee will select 
   research ideas on the basis of submitted abstracts according to significance 
   and general interest. Research ideas must be written in English and not exceed 
   2 pages using the EASST template. The presentation of these ideas will be organised 
   around discussions, where the presenter should also prepare a set of question in 
   which the audience will discuss.

  At the workshop, pre-proceedings will be available in the form of a Heriot-Watt 
  University Technical Report; this report will also include the research ideas.
  After the workshop, the authors of accepted full papers will have about one 
  month in order to revise their papers for publication in the workshop post-
  proceedings which will appear in the Electronic Communications of the EASST 
  Open Access Journal. Research ideas will not be part of the proceedings in the 
  Open Access Journal.

  Authors of a selection of the best papers presented at the workshop will be 
  invited to submit extended versions of their work for publication in a 
  special issue of Elsevier's journal Science of Computer Programming.

  Ernie Cohen, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  Ewen Denney, NASA Ames, USA
  Jean-Christophe Filliatre, CNRS, France
  Michael Goldsmith, University of Oxford, UK
  Gudmund Grov, Heriot-Watt University, UK (co-chair)
  Keijo Heljanko, Aalto University, Finland
  Mike Hinchey, University of Limerick, Ireland
  Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, Netherlands
  Andrew Ireland, Heriot-Watt University, UK (co-chair)
  Gerwin Klein, NICTA/UNSW, Australia
  Thierry Lecomte, ClearSy, France
  Peter Gorm Larsen, Aarhus University, Denmark 
  Panagiotis (Pete) Manolios, Northeastern University, USA
  Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy & LORIA, France
  Jaco van de Pol, University of Twente, Netherlands
  Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, UK
  Marco Roveri, FBK, Italy
  Thomas Santen, Microsoft Research, Germany
  Bernard Steffen, Technical University Dortmund, Germany
  Jan Strejček, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
  Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
  Tayssir Touili, LIAFA, CNRS & University Paris Diderot, France
  Helen Treharne, University of Surrey, UK
  Laurent Voisin, Systerel, France
  Angela Wallenburg, Altran, UK
  John Wickerson, Imperial College London, UK
  Peter Ölveczky, University of Oslo, Norway

  Gudmund Grov, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  Andrew Ireland, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  Yuhui Lin, Heriot-Watt University, UK (Local arrangements and publicity chair)

  Michael Goldsmith, University of Oxford, UK
  Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy & LORIA, France
  Markus Roggenbach, Swansea University, UK

We invite research leaders and ambitious early career researchers to 
join us in leading and driving research in key inter-disciplinary themes. 
Please see www.hw.ac.uk/researchleaders for further information and how
to apply.

Heriot-Watt University is a Scottish charity
registered under charity number SC000278.

events mailing list
events at fmeurope.org

More information about the ecoop-info mailing list