[ecoop-info] [Call for Nominations] Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education

bastian.tenbergen at oswego.edu bastian.tenbergen at oswego.edu
Tue Sep 17 15:11:40 CEST 2019

Call for Nominations

Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education



The CSEE&T Steering committee is seeking  nominations for the

2020 Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education.


Please nominate someone you know who has made important contributions to

software engineering education or training. See the terms of reference

and the list of previous winners below.


Each nomination should include a sketch of the accomplishments (in SE

education) of the candidate, including a few paragraphs in narrative form

and a list of relevant items from their CV. The name of the person

submitting the nomination must also be present. Please limit nominations

to three single-spaced pages. Remember to focus on education, training

and professionalism accomplishments, rather than pure software engineering



Compose your nomination in a file (.pdf preferred, .docx accepted)

and submit it using the following URL:



As has been agreed practice, the selection committee consists of the past

winners plus the CSEE&T steering committee, plus Nancy Mead herself.


Deadline for nominations: October 20, 2019.


The award will be presented at CSEE&T in July 2020



Returning officers for the 2020 award will be


Bastian Tenbergen, State University of New York at Oswego


Timothy Lethbridge, University of Ottawa, Canada






The Nancy Mead Award For Excellence in Software Engineering Education.


The award will be presented to an individual who has demonstrated

outstanding contributions to software engineering education and

training, as well as to the related area of software engineering

professionalism. Contributions may include, but are not limited to:

service to the community, papers, reports, books, tools, techniques and

media for software engineering education, and outstanding practice of

teaching that has been witnessed by the community at large.

Contributions should have had an influence over an extended period of

time at the international level. Contributions to software engineering

itself (peer-reviewed research or practice) should be mentioned in a

separate section of any nomination, but having made such contributions

is not necessary in order to receive this award.


The award is named in honor of Nancy Mead, the founding Steering

Committee Chair of the Conference on Software Engineering Education and



For the initial years, the award will be selected by the Steering Committee

CSEE&T and previous winners. Steering Committee members are not eligible. 

Nominations received in any given year that are not selected as the winner

year may be kept for further consideration in subsequent years. If a

is to be considered in a subsequent year, the nominator will be offered the 

opportunity to update the nomination.


The recipient will be given the opportunity to deliver a keynote at




Past Winners


2019: (no award)

2018: (no conference)

2017: David Garlan

2016: Dick Fairley

2015: Barry Boehm

2014: Don Bagert

2013: Dennis J Frailey

2012: (no award)

2011: Tom Hilburn

2010: Mary Shaw




Dr. Bastian Tenbergen
Asst. Professor for Software Engineering

Department of Computer Science
427 Shineman Center
State University of New York at Oswego
7060 State Route 104
Oswego, NY, 13126, USA
T +1 (315) 312-6605
E   <mailto:bastian.tenbergen at oswego.edu> bastian.tenbergen at oswego.edu
 <http://www.tenbergen.org/> www.tenbergen.org




More information about the ecoop-info mailing list